We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A decent place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Saugerties

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Inn Saugerties
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Saugerties
Loudon, Tennessee
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A decent place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We often use this Comfort Inn while visiting grand children in Saugerties.. Rooms have always been clean and well maintained. This trip was no exception. (Jan 19th,2013) The breakfast dining room is a bit small if there is a 'run on it' for breakfast. This trip , we grabbed our eats and headed for our room . At least there was a place to sit . Staff are courteous. The breakfast is a standard .Make your own waffles, scrambled eggs are provided with asst bagels, fruit, danishes, juices, coffee & tea, etc. More than ample to get you on the road. A coffee /Tea setup is available 24 hrs for guests and it wasn't bad either. There is a small but ample refridge that actually works. No micro wave. TV is OK, but since we're hardly in the room , we didn't use it.. This was January but the room was warm, so we turned the A/C on and both features both worked very well and was pretty quiet. This is a PET FRIENDLY motel. That fee was waived by the young friendly clerk on duty. The bathrooms were clean & maintained and everything worked including plenty of hot water.. Beds were comfortable. Ample parking front & back.
There is a Howard Johnson next door to this place. We used it once when the Comfort Inn was full. We left with a case of bed bug bites. Never again.
The Comfort Inn has been around a while, but all in all it's pretty decent for our needs.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Den C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiphaz7, General Manager at Comfort Inn Saugerties, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
It was a pleasure to read your review. I am so happy that you return to our hotel each time you visit Saugerties. Thank you and looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    34
    39
    15
    23
See reviews for
46
28
11
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Some friends and I stayed a couple nights here while skiing at Windham Mountain.

The rooms aren't fancy, but they're big, and our double Queen bed room had a desk, couch and coffee table too.

The bathroom was fine for four people. We had a fridge in our room as well. Plenty of places to plug stuff in/charge our electronics.

The location is good, right off the highway, close to a diner, close to gas and other essentials -- pizza, Stewarts, CVS, etc.

I'd stay there again.

Room Tip: Like I said, the double Queen bed room was nice and big, with extra furniture too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiphaz7, General Manager at Comfort Inn Saugerties, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
I am glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Please stay with us again when you return to the area. Saugerties is a year round destination with many events taking place.
Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I was at the end of a three day whirlwind trip from Virginia to New Hampshire with a stop on the way up in NYC. I was on the go visiting, touring, driving in snow, etc. and I was TIRED! It was 6:00 and I knew I'd want to quit by the time I reached expensive Westchester area hotels so I stopped early at this hotel to get triple points on my loyalty plan. The elderly gentleman referred to in an earlier review was there. He was kind and helpful and gave me a small discount on his originally quoted price. He recommended a diner around the corner (obviously not the one next door at the Howard Johnon's) that was worth the visit. Since I was alone on this part of the trip, he suggested the king size bed room that was comfortable. The room was a little close to the entrance, but that was ok. The bed was a little hard for my taste, but not uncomfortable. I got the rest I needed.
The TV did only have a few channels, but that is no problem since I use Netflix on my tablet anyway. What really gives this an average rating is the breakfast. It had limited choices and some of the apples were bruised. My breakfast was filling and I went on my way. Not a memorable stay, but that's not what I wanted. I got the rest I needed, ate at a fantastic diner, and made it back to Virginia later than I wanted, but properly rested.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VaBeachMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiphaz7, General Manager at Comfort Inn Saugerties, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
I am glad you got the rest you needed and got home safe. Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed at the Comfort Inn for a weekend, and our stay was very nice. The room was clean, and we enjoyed having the refrigerator in the room too. The morning breakfast was great - lots of choices! We will stay here again when we come to the area. The only bad thing was that I had to call the hotel after we got home, because I thought they overcharged me. The man at the front desk who answered the phone got upset enough with me that he hung up on me; I had to call back. We got it straightened out, but it was still unnecessary to hang up on a customer!

Room Tip: Closer to the lobby and the breakfast is good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiphaz7, General Manager at Comfort Inn Saugerties, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am sorry there was some confusion about your bill.
I hope you stay with us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Traveler beware! Where do I begin... The lobby is dark and red with the smell of dog. The front desk is staffed with frail older gentlemen that need a refresher in customer service. The room is a typical low-end comfort inn without a microwave and only five channels (not HD) on the TV. My experience with the continental breakfast was stale bread and warm orange juice. I wish I had a positive experience to share with you but I just...oh wait, there were plenty of open parking spaces available.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Connoisseur72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiphaz7, General Manager at Comfort Inn Saugerties, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
I am a little confused by your comments.
No where in the building are the walls or furniture
the color red.We do have more than four or five channels
on cable tv and our breakfast is put out fresh daily.
I hope you didn't confuse us with some other hotel
you stayed at.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Saugerties hotels

Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Geeat location just off the highway. We stopped here on our way back to New York. The room was clean, the staff very friendly, gave out treats to our dog as we were getting our coffee and breakfast. Lots of breakfast options, comfortable beds. Good value for a night's sleep.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kavegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiphaz7, General Manager at Comfort Inn Saugerties, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
It was apleasure to read your review.
I hope we see you and you pets in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

my family & i have stayed here twice, once in the summer, when our stay was ok, and once this fall, when our stay was pretty bad. both times, we were surprised to find that the hotel lobby reeks of smoke whenever a particular employee is behind the front desk (not a guest as the manager has previously claimed). it is so bad that if your room is near the lobby, simply turning on your bathroom fan is enough to draw the smoke into your room. that would be our only complaint concerning our first stay, but our second stay was a bit worse. our room was dirty, worst of all one of the bedspreads. it had 3 large fresh stains on it...disgusting! i called the front desk & was told that they didn't have any extra clean ones, that they had already had to replace 4 dirty ones that day & we would just have to remove it! yuck! a few of the towels were also stained. there was a cigarette burn (hole) in the curtain of our non smoking room, and even the phone was dirty. on the positive side, the employees were all courteous & kind, most especially the breakfast lady, whose name i believe was judy. the waffles are the best part of breakfast, and the laundry machines are very handy. the location is super convenient. this could be a much better place with a much stricter emphasis on cleanliness and of course without the smoke wafting out from behind the desk.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank mamator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiphaz7, General Manager at Comfort Inn Saugerties, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
I am so sorry that you did not have a good stay. Your comments will be addressed
and changes will be made. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saugerties
0.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Saugerties
8.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 stars 701 reviews
1.6 mi away
Diamond Mills Hotel
Diamond Mills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Saugerties
4.0 of 5 stars 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
4.0 of 5 stars 138 reviews
10.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Kingston Hotel and Conference Center
8.3 mi away
Courtyard Kingston
Courtyard Kingston
#3 of 10 in Kingston
4.0 of 5 stars 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Saugerties? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Saugerties

Property: Comfort Inn Saugerties
Address: 2790 Route 32, Saugerties, NY 12477-5108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Saugerties
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Saugerties
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Saugerties 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Otel, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Comfort Inn Saugerties reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Saugerties Hotel Saugerties
Saugerties Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing