We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chateau and Tudor Rooms, Saugerties Bed and Breakfast
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Diamond Mills Hotel(Saugerties)(Great Value!)
$550
$475
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wenton Motel(Saugerties)
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
$110
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$185
$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Residence Inn Kingston(Kingston)(Great Value!)
$129
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard Kingston(Kingston)(Great Value!)
$129
$119
Courtyard
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Total Tennis(Saugerties)
Reviews (26)
Filter reviews
26 results
Traveler rating
23
2
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
23
2
1
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 26 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed here for a long weekend while attending the HITS horse show. This fascinating place is hidden from the road and I cannot believe I have driven right past for so many years. There were 4 of us in the tudor room and it is lovely, like an old English hunt club type atmosphere. Our room was a part of a larger, castle like complex.We had our own private patio, with views of the Shawanagunk mountains that were breathtaking, along with the lovely Esopus creek meandering along the fields below. There are various sculptures adorning the grounds. There is a nice lap pool to take a dip in after a long, hot day, and the Chateaux is just minutes from town. We also had a great breakfast one morning with a delicious fritata and home made struedel. The only drawback was our airconditioner. It was a portable device and unbeknownst to us had to be emptied of water frquently or it would cease to function. Being that it was hot, I wound up emptying the container all night at about 2 hour intervals, needless to say I didn't sleep well. However the ambiance and graciousness of the hostess Josepha, more than made up for this short coming.

Room Tip: I would recommend the Chateax room as opposed to the Tudor if it is summer as the aircondition in the Tudor is not sufficient and needs vigilence
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funonourfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in the "chateaux room" which is very comfortable with a queen sized bed. The innkeeper was very involved with making sure we were comfortable and had everything we needed, even brought us champagne upon arrival at 10 PM! The grounds are beautiful, it is tranquil and private and breakfast was delicious with home made yogurt, fruit, eggs, potatoes, coffee, and home baked streudel for $12pp. I would return...

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank foodgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We were planning to once again go to Levon Helm's Ramble in Woodstock ( please support this venue even without Levon Helm as a tribute to his memory, His daughter and Larry Campbell's band are great) and could not find a place to stay. Lucky for us we found the Saugerties Bed and Breakfast. We recently stayed in the Chateau room at this beautifully kept, charming, and exceptionally clean bed and breakfast in Saugerties NY. From the moment you enter this wonderful place, you will feel you are overseas, in England or for us in the Chateau room, France, without ever having to board a plane! The Chateau Room is everything it says, and the grounds have a rustic, natural quality, with Benno, one of the owners, amazing large scultures on view. His wife, Josepha, a writer, greeted us and was very attentive to our every need, including asking if we had any dietary restrictions. They are most accomodating. The temperatures were quite high, very very hot, and our room was so cool we had to turn the a/c down, something that rarely happens in a b and b. The two highlights of the stay were the beautiful breakfasts ( extra but very reasonable) brought by Josepha on lovely china, and placed on a table just outside our french doors, overlooking the property. The second highlight is the graciousness and kindness of Josepha and Benno. We have both travelled quite a bit, and this is a little gem to stay in while visiting the Woodstock/Saugerties/Rhinebeck area. We will definitely return!

Room Tip: We preferred the Chateau room - very french, light and airy. There are two rooms, the tudor very english style and the Chateau. They are far from each other, and it is very quiet, with private entrances.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJakeNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Had such an amazing stay here! Looked all around for a place that seemed right, my boyfriend and I had an incredible time. Swimming in the pool, walking the grounds, relaxing on the porches, basking in the view....quiet and sweet. Breakfast made by Josepha was so delicious!!
Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmilySunnyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

If you are looking for a Hilton, then stay at a Hilton. The nearest one is in Kingston. If you are looking for an incredibly beautiful and unique place, then stay here. There is something special about this place. Our family stayed here to attend a family wedding nearby. We loved being able to sit on the back porch and breathe in the gorgeous view. The tension of the wedding just melted away. We felt like we were being pampered. Josepha, the owner, is a gem. She was kind and gracious with her time. We loved sitting out on the patio, listening to her tell us about the history of the place. We had many conversations about the charm of the property. I must have taken 300 pictures of the place. I gave Josepha copies of the pictures for her to put on her website. So you can see what I saw. Everywhere you look, there was something special to see. The real world doesn't seem to exist while you are there. We deeply regret not having time to walk the whole property due to the duties required from the wedding, We would have loved to see it all. Now, to be honest, if you are going to compare this place to the average hotel, then, you will probably not like the hard mattresses, the insects, birds and animals roaming the property, the draftiness of the rooms, the door that sticks and squeaks, or the portable airconditioner/heater that worked as well as it could, but wasn't quite enough. There was an old TV in the room, but no cable and no DVD player. If you want internet, that is difficult to get too. Can you imagine, no TV or Internet??????? However, you will notice that my rating for this property is EXCELLENT. Why???? Because the Chateau and Tudor rooms are perfect in every way. Those minor inconveniences pale in comparision to the magnificance of the place. We didn't miss the TV or internet, we just spent the time talking together as a family. Amazing, isn't it? We spent hours just talking. We don't often get to see eachother, so spending the time just being together was truly a blessing, one that I will always treasure. We went into the town of Saugherties a few times, but always came back early, because we wanted to go back "home". But it wasn't just what you see that makes it wonderful, it's the way this place makes you feel....I don't know how to describe it. I just felt....special...Iike I belonged there. Staying there helped to bring our family closer together. When we got home, we didn't talk about the fancy wedding we attended. We talked about this place and how many incredible experiences we had there. If you want the experience of a lifetime, throw away your need for material comforts, and fall in love with the Chateau and Tudor Rooms. We certainly did. Go there, I promise you won't regret it.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank E3030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews