We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK but getting out dated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Saugerties
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Saugerties
Shamong, New Jersey
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“OK but getting out dated”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We have stayed at this HoJo several times over the years for ski trips and overall have had good experiences. The place is generally clean and we always like having the fridge and microwave in the room. The heater is loud and can be annoying.

What I noticed most on this trip was things were a little run down. Bed spread had holes, carpet is getting worn and walls could use some fresh paint. Granted rates are lower than most in the area so you get what you pay for. But with a little freshening up this HoJo would be a lot better.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gdr3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth F, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Saugerties, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
We appreciate your feedback! Everyday we are looking for ways to improve our hotel and make your next stay even better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    135
    155
    79
    63
See reviews for
212
120
33
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melville, New York
Level Contributor
93 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed one night on our way to ski. The hotel was clean and the staff was super friendly. There was a diner attached so that made breakfast super easy. The hotel was a little out dated, but again, was very clean.
The heaters were super noisy, but didnt seem to bother us or our kids.
Pool was a nice treat for the kids, it looked like it needed some TLC and having towels down there would have been nice also.
Overall, it was a decent place and the price and location were right.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hdogiakis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth F, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Saugerties, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coram
1 review
Reviewed January 1, 2013

The room was clean and comfortable, the hotel's mix of modern and old-timely touches was fun, the restaurant affordable/food fine, service was good. However, the room's heater was so noisy it made sleeping almost impossible. It went on/off all night long (set it as low as we could to try to make it stop but couldn't turn it off as it was December) and was so loud it took hours to fall asleep, only to wake up repeatedly. We would have called the front desk but figured what could they do anyway? We didn't want to dress, pack and move to another room that probably had the same problem (we were only staying one night). Too bad for an otherwise nice place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank CoramBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth F, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Saugerties, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saugerties
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Saugerties
Comfort Inn Saugerties
#3 of 6 in Saugerties
3.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
1.5 mi away
Diamond Mills Hotel
Diamond Mills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Saugerties
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
7.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kingston-Ulster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
5.6 mi away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Saugerties? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Saugerties

Property: Howard Johnson Inn Saugerties
Address: 2764 Route 32, I-87 Exit 20, Saugerties, NY 12477-5108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Saugerties
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Saugerties
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Saugerties 2*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Energy Star Certified and a Proud Member of the Green Business BureauHoward Johnson Inn - Saugerties hotel is conveniently located off Interstate 87. Our newly updated hotel near the Catskill Mountains offers all you need for an exciting trip to upstate New York. Take advantage of the handy perks we offer, like free Wi-Fi Internet, in-room microwaves and refrigerators, guest laundry, heated indoor pool, restaurant and large-vehicle parking. Enjoy free coffee, cappuccino and hot chocolate, available 24 hours a day in our lobby. Handicapped-accessible and non-smoking rooms are available, and kids 17 and under stay free with an adult. Book online today.LOCAL ATTRACTIONSCatch a kid-friendly live show at the Arm-of-the-Sea Theater or a movie at the Orpheum Theater. To learn something new, discover Opus 40 and the Quarryman’s Museum, historic Kiersted House, or the American Legion Museum. Spend time in the scenic Catskill Mountains, Cantine Dam Falls, Seamon Park or Esopus Bend Nature Preserve.Head to Kiwanis Ice Arena to watch a hockey game or enjoy public skating. Stroll along Saugerties Village Beach in the summer or hit the slopes in the winter at Windham and Hunter mountains. Get a bargain at nearby Hudson Valley Mall. No matter when you visit, do not forget to check out the variety of annual events like horse shows, music festivals and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Saugerties reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Hotel Saugerties
Howard Johnson Saugerties
Saugerties Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing