We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Met our needs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Saugerties
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Saugerties
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We were in the HV for a family celebration and needed a place that was close to all three venues. This location met that requirement. Several maintenance issues were presented to the Desk at checkout. There were some undusted areas and the bathroom obviously needs some repairs (leaky toilet, cracked caulk in the tub area. Overall, it was a good place for a night's sleep. Bedding was acceptable and very nice pillows. Amazingly, it was VERY quiet! Between two heavy travelled roads there was NO nightime noice or vibration at all. There was NO Continental breakfast and the desk lamp needs a new bulb and did not work.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank MARGARET W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (565)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

464 - 470 of 565 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank NICHOLAS H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

When we arrived at the Howard Johnson Inn in Saugerties late on a Saturday evening, I thought at first that my eyes were deceiving me. Inside and out, the small lobby is festooned with imposing statues of horses. Not exactly the decor one would expect at a roadside motel--but the upbeat clerk at the reception desk explained that this was intended as a tribute to the local horse-training and show community.

Somehow, I suspect that most of them are not staying at the Howard Johnson's.

Well, it wasn't our first choice either, but due to a spate of wedding celebrations, and perhaps the influx of fall "leaf peepers" from the City, every other hotel for a radius of at least 20 miles was booked. On the whole, however, I would have to say that our overnight visit was satisfactory. Staying at a Howard Johnson's is like traveling back to the 1960's (sadly, minus the fried clams). The rooms are basic, the amenities are basic, the service is basic, and yet everything functions essentially as it should. I give kudos for the ample electrical outlets in the room and free internet service (which, in reality, every hotel should provide these days).

The bed was comfortable, and my wife appreciated the free coffee in the lobby. I do wish, however, that they would replace the fluorescent lighting in the bathroom, which made both of us look like cadavers.

In candor, on our next trip to the area, we would probably try for one of our old favorites, like the Beekman Arms/Delamater in Rhinebeck. But if we were unable to find higher-level lodging, at least I would feel comfortable that the Howard Johnson's has the basics covered.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank ERIC H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank EDWARD P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Violet S, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Saugerties, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank betseys2017
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Violet S, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Saugerties, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Booked two rooms. Got to motel and saw that it was facing NY Thruway...told hubs if our room was facing the thruway we were changing with other room. Our room was facing the thruway, but the other room right across the hall smelled of mildew....We went with the noise to avoid the smell. If this place was truly revamped in the last 3 years as noted I shudder to think what it was like before. Neither room was made up after the first night. Was absolutely starving and ran into the diner connected to motel....could barely eat because I was dodging gnats (or fruitflies). We stayed there based on recommendation of wedding invitation. The spinning shower head was interesting. Could not wait to escape!

Room Tip: Stay on the thruway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rethlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Violet S, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Saugerties, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Thank you for the feedback, sorry to hear that you had an unpleasant stay. Our staff will be resolving the issues you encountered and we hope to have the chance to better serve you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saugerties
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Saugerties
Comfort Inn Saugerties
#4 of 6 in Saugerties
170 reviews
5.6 mi away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
149 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Kingston Hotel & Conference Center
7.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kingston-Ulster
19.6 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#2 of 7 in Windham
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Saugerties? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Saugerties

Address: 2764 Route 32, I-87 Exit 20, Saugerties, NY 12477-5108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Saugerties
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Saugerties
Price Range: $70 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Saugerties 2*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Energy Star Certified and a Proud Member of the Green Business BureauHoward Johnson Inn - Saugerties hotel is conveniently located off Interstate 87. Our newly updated hotel near the Catskill Mountains offers all you need for an exciting trip to upstate New York. Take advantage of the handy perks we offer, like free Wi-Fi Internet, in-room microwaves and refrigerators, guest laundry, heated indoor pool, restaurant and large-vehicle parking. Enjoy free coffee, cappuccino and hot chocolate, available 24 hours a day in our lobby. Handicapped-accessible and non-smoking rooms are available, and kids 17 and under stay free with an adult. Book online today.LOCAL ATTRACTIONSCatch a kid-friendly live show at the Arm-of-the-Sea Theater or a movie at the Orpheum Theater. To learn something new, discover Opus 40 and the Quarryman’s Museum, historic Kiersted House, or the American Legion Museum. Spend time in the scenic Catskill Mountains, Cantine Dam Falls, Seamon Park or Esopus Bend Nature Preserve.Head to Kiwanis Ice Arena to watch a hockey game or enjoy public skating. Stroll along Saugerties Village Beach in the summer or hit the slopes in the winter at Windham and Hunter mountains. Get a bargain at nearby Hudson Valley Mall. No matter when you visit, do not forget to check out the variety of annual events like horse shows, music festivals and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Saugerties reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Hotel Saugerties
Howard Johnson Saugerties
Saugerties Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing