We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is What it Is”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Saugerties
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Saugerties
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Hotel was fine. However, the review needs to be 100 characters, so now I am typing nonsense. And it was still not long enough, so now I am typing more nonsense, Last chance.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank JOSHUA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth F, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Saugerties, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

I would like to thank you for your response!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (570)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

476 - 482 of 570 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2012

We are moved to post our first TA report as this was the worst place we have ever stayed in while touring in the US (which we do a couple of times a year from the UK).
Grubby, tatty, dated, dingy, dismal - and all at very high cost.
The ONLY good thing is that it is close to the thruway so quick to get away.
Really should be a truck stop at half the cost.
We should read the previous TA reviews more carefully - will do so in future!
We cancelled our other HoJo reservation because we couldn't risk the same again!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WelshToGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth F, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Saugerties, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

I was sorry to read that your stay was anything but pleasant and that your were not happy with our accommodations. Elizabeth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We just loved the hotel - from the swimming pool to the cleanliness of the room. what a nice surprise and so convenient.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank jrockgoldman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth F, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Saugerties, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Thank you for your positive feedback! We hope we have the pleasure of having you as our guest again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

A few years ago, I discovered that Saugerties was exactly halfway to my sister's house. After driving for six hours, it's great to stay overnight there. It's pleasant and clean and right on the NY thruway. Having the restaurant right next door is wonderful. I get a good nights sleep, a nice breakfast and am very refreshed for the next six hours of the trip.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank JANET M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth F, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Saugerties, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Thank you for your positive feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

This is the second time we have stayed at this motel. Great restaurant attached to hotel sweetens this deal. Good parking for trucks/trailers as well.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank carshowjunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth F, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Saugerties, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to reply. We appreciate your feedback. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

no problems breakfast not included in price price was high considering location of hotel i do not appreciate that i have to write l00 characters

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Robert Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth F, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Saugerties, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Thank you for your reply, it is much appreciated! Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We enjoyed everything about our short stay. We have family in the area so the location was great. Services during our stay were great. The food at the Rest. was very good. All in all over-all evaluation, outstanding.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth F, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Saugerties, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Thank you for your reply/input...hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saugerties
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Saugerties
Comfort Inn Saugerties
#4 of 6 in Saugerties
173 reviews
5.6 mi away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
150 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#2 of 7 in Windham
303 reviews
7.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kingston-Ulster
8.2 mi away
Courtyard Kingston
Courtyard Kingston
#4 of 10 in Kingston
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Saugerties? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Saugerties

Address: 2764 Route 32, I-87 Exit 20, Saugerties, NY 12477-5108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Saugerties
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Saugerties
Price Range: $96 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Saugerties 2*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Energy Star Certified and a Proud Member of the Green Business BureauHoward Johnson Inn - Saugerties hotel is conveniently located off Interstate 87. Our newly updated hotel near the Catskill Mountains offers all you need for an exciting trip to upstate New York. Take advantage of the handy perks we offer, like free Wi-Fi Internet, in-room microwaves and refrigerators, guest laundry, heated indoor pool, restaurant and large-vehicle parking. Enjoy free coffee, cappuccino and hot chocolate, available 24 hours a day in our lobby. Handicapped-accessible and non-smoking rooms are available, and kids 17 and under stay free with an adult. Book online today.LOCAL ATTRACTIONSCatch a kid-friendly live show at the Arm-of-the-Sea Theater or a movie at the Orpheum Theater. To learn something new, discover Opus 40 and the Quarryman’s Museum, historic Kiersted House, or the American Legion Museum. Spend time in the scenic Catskill Mountains, Cantine Dam Falls, Seamon Park or Esopus Bend Nature Preserve.Head to Kiwanis Ice Arena to watch a hockey game or enjoy public skating. Stroll along Saugerties Village Beach in the summer or hit the slopes in the winter at Windham and Hunter mountains. Get a bargain at nearby Hudson Valley Mall. No matter when you visit, do not forget to check out the variety of annual events like horse shows, music festivals and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Saugerties reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Hotel Saugerties
Howard Johnson Saugerties
Saugerties Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing