We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little restaurant”

Miss Lucy's Kitchen
Ranked #1 of 76 Restaurants in Saugerties
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Savannah, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great little restaurant”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Recommended by our innkeeper after we arrived in the late evening. What a pleasant surprise to find such a wonderful spot in the Village of Saugerties! Many interesting dishes on the menu but we settled on small plates as we were eating late. My husband had the pork tacos and I had the flatbread with fresh mozzarello and tomatoes. Both of our choices were delicious. Nice atmosphere!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    87
    23
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“Great fresh food!!”
Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

We were traveling south on i87 in NY and wanted to have a good meal on the road. We do not eat fast food and read ta reviews and its close enough from the exit.
We had such a great meal. Baby back ribs were delicious as well as the pork belly dish. It was all fantastic!!! The restaurant is in a cute town and very casual.
We highly recommend.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank viajeelmundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A local gem”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Miss Lucy's is an unassuming restaurant in the unassuming town of Saugerties. Its atmosphere is not elegant but has a certain feel of having come to the right place. The staff are lovely, the drinks ample. The food, however, is the reason to dine here. Fresh, tasty, perfectly prepared and nicely presented. The food is a cut way above local comfort food (which I love) but not pretentious. I recommend it highly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TigerDiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, New York
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Not great for lunch but still excellent for dinner.”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

The last few lunches and brunches have been a disappointment. Bread on sandwiches has been too chewy due to staleness or not heating properly (microwave?). The Vietnamese sandwich was disgusting, more like a slab of spam and the above-mentioned bread. Omelettes have been better in the past. I hope this good restaurant will improve its brunch/lunch menu and cooks on hand at that time, because I won't be back for those meals anytime soon. Now, dinner is a different story. Food preparation is on-target and inventive. As always, the wine selections are very good for either lunch or dinner. Please improve lunches.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 61Highway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brattleboro, Vermont
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Went back twice after our first visit!”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

The food is eclectic, American cuisine, with fresh local ingredients and interesting taste combinations. My favorite item on the current menu: Grilled shrimp with an avocado, pistachio and pickled onion salad, served over watermelon. This is an appetizer but since you get six shrimp it is really quite enough for a small dinner. I also had their steak which was very tasty, served with smashed red bliss potatoes and steamed veggies. The sauce was a bacon demi-glace. Very satisfying, and the meat was cooked perfectly to order. Other tasty treats include a grilled peach salad and the grilled chicken. Then you come to the desserts, and you must leave room for them! First night, we had strawberry shortcake, with local fresh strawberries, not sweetened at all. Second night, a Basque pound cake that was the best pound cake I have ever eaten: light, fluffy, crumbly perfection, served with a strawberry balsamic compote and strawberry buttermilk ice cream. Then tonight we had the milk chocolate peanut brittle parfait: chocolate mousse on the bottom, peanut brittle ice cream above that, with whipped cream and caramel drizzled over the top, and two pieces of homemade peanut brittle as decoration. So, all in all, definitely one of the best restaurants I've been to in a long time. The service was excellent and the ambience was homey and shabby chic, with aprons strung in the windows like curtains and wood floors and rustic tables and chairs.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sphinxvictorian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miss Lucy's Kitchen also viewed

Saugerties, Catskill Region
Saugerties, Catskill Region
 
Saugerties, Catskill Region
Saugerties, Catskill Region
 

Been to Miss Lucy's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing