We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine Mexican Food”
Review of El Rancho

El Rancho
Ranked #30 of 76 Restaurants in Saugerties
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fine Mexican Food”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

I have eaten here many times as it is a favorite of my Mother in Law. Every time the food is excellent. You will love the home made salsa. In fact take some home. I have tried a variety of meals here, from the tacos (good) to the steak, (excellent) to more American fare. Never been disappointed. Service is usually good, but during busy times it can be slow.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Babsrubarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    13
    11
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woodstock, New Hampshire
1 review
“it's ok”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

a little pricey...but ok. main thing, put a menu up online!! we live down the road and we like it because it is so close. We have brought some people from out of town occasionally the service is slow, really depends on the server. the food is not really "authentic"

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Magicatfarms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, New York
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Excellent Mexican U Wont Find Better”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We have been going here for years and you wont find better Mexican food, Sangria or Salsa (all Homemade.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vrqqqm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Had better...”
Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

So I have to admit the food was "ok" and if you are in the mood for mex, it will satisfy your craving.. But that's about it. We were in on a fairly slow Sunday evening, and the service was so slow that my hubby ordered two drinks at once because they took so long to come! The salsa was great, as were the chips. those reviewers that say its the best ever, must not have eaten at any "real" Mexican restaurants, because this menu was mediocre at best. If you have a craving for mex it's worth a stop, but there is definitely some better options out there!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jessandjohnforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

The food is always great the staff Excellent and the Owners are always Out on the floor greeting and talking to the customers the are just very nice people

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sike3501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Rancho also viewed

Saugerties, Catskill Region
 
Saugerties, Catskill Region
Saugerties, Catskill Region
 

Been to El Rancho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing