We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Place”

New World Home Cooking
Reserve with OpenTable
New World Home Cooking is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 76 Restaurants in Saugerties
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $30
Cuisines: American, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: New World has been owned and operated by Chef Ric Orlando and his wife and partner Liz Corrado since 1993. New World is established as a Hudson Valley favorite with 20 years of operation as a beloved café and caterer. We offer a unique concept---Global-Local-Sustainable Cuisine that combines upscale casual service with fun, vibrant but seriously executed "Clean Food" from around the world. New World Home Cooking has won Hudson Valley Magazine's People Choice awards in 2014, 2015 and 2016 for BEST ULSTER COUNTY RESTAURANT... also BEST GLUTEN FREE dining and BEST VEGETARIAN...and Ric won BEST CHEF 2014,2015. And, if you didn't already know, Ric Orlando has won Chopped twice and appeared in the first Chopped Champions ... and ... he also challenged and BEAT BOBBY FLAY in 2015!
New York City, NY
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Excellent Place”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We have spent several happy evenings at New World. Very nice food, well prepared and nicely presented. the emphasis was on healthy ingredients.

The characterization as being Home Cooking seems a bit of an exaggeration. The restaurant is large and has the feel of an NYC dining room. Nonetheless, it feels comfortable, relaxed and pleasant. The noise level, at least in the back areas, is quite acceptable.

Parking is not a problem.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    66
    32
    12
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Truly excellent food, something for anyone.”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

This is a unique restaurant. All of the dishes are from known, local sources, includes many organic dishes and meats from humanely raised livestock. To say that Rick is a creative chef is inadequate, he is a master at pleasing the pallet.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank organic13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesville, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Pathetic”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Very unimpressive food. Service was mediocre and the atmosphere was unappealing. Hardly deserves the term Home Cooking!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Antknee001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“SPY REPORT”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

SPY REPORT: Had the Mudbugs(10) and Thai Italian Bolognese.

Service: Was spot on. Paige was my server and she was attentive and wonderful. Paige had great rapport with the other patrons as well. Any request was taken care of immediately. Rest of staff was great as well and weren't afraid to answer any questions I had.

Mudbugs were: Amazing, I regretted not ordering the gumbo after eating the mudbugs. I wish I had a 2nd stomach, because I suspect the gumbo was interstellar. If work sends me up to Albany soon I'll be back to order the Gumbo before its gone.

The Thai Italian Bolognese: Awesome. Very hot and spiced, but I haven't had heat and spice in a while like that, so I would take a break for a couple seconds, clear my palate and be amazed all over again. Wonderfully intense - I put lemon on it to cut it a little and the acid hit the spot. I would tell myself "ok enough" and then find myself eating it again. Dangerously good (and I think I can see in the dark now.)

Long drive home but worth the drive up as always. Let's hope for a car that runs on water soon so I can become a regular again. You can't go wrong here.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Ross C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

The food here was original and amazing. Each dish was so unique. The banana crisp dessert with red pepper flakes was so original and delicious

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank bwnyc1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New World Home Cooking also viewed

Saugerties, Catskill Region
Saugerties, Catskill Region
 
Saugerties, Catskill Region
Saugerties, Catskill Region
 
Saugerties, Catskill Region
Saugerties, Catskill Region
 

Been to New World Home Cooking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing