We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saugerties
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rip Van Winkle Campgrounds
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Nice place”
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Went tent camping. Sites are nice and wooded. Stream is a lot of fun for the kids. Pool is just ok. Bass pond with paddle boats is just ok. General store was limited but prices were very reasonable. Free coffee was nice. Employees very nice. Overall would go back again

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    18
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
45
23
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mineola, New York
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We visited rvw last summer.We have 2 children 10 and 5..The RVW campsite is very nice..It is clean and well attended..The staff and owners are very friendly..My wife lied to me and said no big dogs allowed..( we have a rotti)..So Rocky stayed home...To my suprise, they were very animal friendly..owners had a rotti on sight...So Rocky comes next trip..
We have been to most campgrounds in the catskills, Jellystone was also very nice..but RVW was great...Ive heard they fine for taking wood from the woods,we spend alot of time hunting for firewood and the kids love it..So if thats a real rule,,,ammend it...Pool was warm clean and alot of fun....playgrounds were very boring,,jellystone got that one beat..but stream on site,right behind our cabin was awsome..makes up for lack of playground..Lots of room ..Make sure you visit kaaterskill falls right on 23a..It is a short hike upmountain..The falls were the highlight of our trip...We went twice...Views were phinominal...

Room Tip: we had a cabin...clean..new a few ants...but river flows behind it making for awsome backdrop.visit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barettalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saugerties, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

Great family run campground. Sites are nestled into the trees very nicely. Lots of privacy. Nice clean restrooms and showers. Very nice camp store with good selection of everything from rv parts to swim paraphernalia for children plus candy and snacks. Owners couldn't be nicer and grounds are maintained very well. Conveniently located close to many historical sites such as Franklin D Roosevelt's retreat in Hyde Park. Definitely recommend staying at this campground.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lawgirl40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foxboro, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights in late April. This is a great campground with a variety of sites that can handle the largest motor homes to the smallest pop-ups. We travel in a large motor home with car-in-tow. Location is fairly close to the new york state thruway, route-32, and Route-9w. W-E-S is conveniently located for easy hook-ups. Plenty of playgrounds and equipment, plus things to do for kids. Extremely kid friendly campground. I would recommend this location for families, travelers, etc. We will stay here again anytime while traveling through this area. Highly recommend this campground.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We travel in a 38 ft fifth wheel, not full timers but we go often. I called this campsite about 2 hours out and Brian helped me with the reservation. Not thinking we'd make it in before closing he left our info for us to pick up and when I asked about pets he said "absolutely". This alone had a hint of a positive nature. As expected, we drove in after dark, as I walked alone from truck I found a well lit office area and even music playing, the song "play me some mountain music" was going and it made me smile. I office in Atlanta but was raised on a farm, so my soul craves a simpler life and simple touches. Our information was easily located and our site was an easy pull thru, much appreciated. The next morning we took the pups and went exploring the campground. ***Please note it's roomy. We are coming into this area definately off season in addition of thru the week so there weren't activities which was perfect really. This camp site is great for a really nice long walk to exercise dogs if you do leave yours to go into town.

We also dealt with Brian's wife. Who will try to find any answer for you about the area if she doesn't already have it. Nice, nice welcoming nature to her. Love those gate cards to get in and out. You can show them thru the window and they work well. We drove into Woodstock for a organic breakfast at a veggie market on the far end of the main drag then off to drive & explore. Go see Mohonk, our sunset there provided the hottest pink it looked like volcanic lava, and I've watched sunsets in many, many places but this one was over-whelming.

**Great, roomy, woodsy campground with a sweet family heritage..rare and a pleasure to find!

Room Tip: This is not a RV park. It's woodsy, roomy and tons of room to take a walk. Brain & his wif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BBelenchia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latham, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I wish I could give MORE than 4 stars because they truly deserve it. We stayed there October 4-5, 2013. We has some trouble with opening our slides on the RV. I walked up to the Office to see if someone in Service could help us out. 3 of the Workers walked back with me INSTANTLY to see if they could help. Then a few more showed up and then the Owner Brian showed (and I believe another owner too). I was on the Phone with Motor Home Company and Brian actually took the phone and spoke with the Technician. It was amazing that they spent so much time with us and actually fixed the problem. They went above and beyond and would not take a dime even when they went to the store and brought back a part that we needed. We have camped for many many years but this Facility went way past what we ever encountered at any other. PLUS the sites were huge and clean. The bathrooms were spotless and the Employees went beyond. See you in the Spring. Thank you AGAIN !!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southern maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

My husband and I stopped to stay a couple night and ended up staying almost a week. We love it! What was the best part of my stay happened as we were checking out to leave. We had had a problem with electrical in our new trailer. I was telling my husband that the dealer told me it problem wasn't anything to worry about and just to keep an eye on it. The owners heard our conversation and asked if he could look at it. Come to find out, the problem would have caused a fire and they probably save our rv and butts! They had a busy day and took the time for strangers. I'm impressed with that and grateful. The camp sites are very large, wooded and easy to get into. Lots of shade complete this amazing campground. They are great people and I can recommend this campground highly. I will go out of my way to stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ohcomeontoomuchstuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saugerties
5.2 mi away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
146 reviews
8.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
861 reviews
4.0 mi away
Diamond Mills Hotel
Diamond Mills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Saugerties
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Kingston Hotel & Conference Center
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Saugerties
Comfort Inn Saugerties
#3 of 6 in Saugerties
162 reviews
11.0 mi away
Pollace's Family Vacation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rip Van Winkle Campgrounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rip Van Winkle Campgrounds

Property: Rip Van Winkle Campgrounds
Address: 149 Blue Mountain Rd, Saugerties, NY 12477-3549
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Saugerties
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Saugerties
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 175
Also Known As:
Rip Van Winkle Campgrounds Hotel Saugerties

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing