We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice and clean. Great for kids.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rip Van Winkle Campgrounds
Rincon, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very nice and clean. Great for kids.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay and camp with the kids. They had several playgrounds to choose. Highly recommended for all ages. They are very close to Woodstock as well. Go to Saugerties for the day and check out Krause chocolate factory.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Billy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    18
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
43
22
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We recently held a college reunion amongst friends in our late 20's/early 30's, equal mix guys and girls. We would recommend requesting the larger campsites, A-E. We were in C, away from most other sites and secluded enough that our noise wouldn't affect our neighboring campers. The other numbered sites looked extremely close to each other, something to be aware of if you intend to stay awake past 10:00 when quiet hours begin. Facilities and the bathrooms were well upkept. Buy the wood four packs at a time as there is a discount. The lettered campsites also have canopies over the four picnic tables, a huge help as it down poured the first night we arrived. This allowed us to still relax for a few hours before going to sleep. The fun zones do not look great and the pond is very small. I'd recommended the site if you intent to entertain yourselves while in need of good facilities within a close proximity to NYC and Boston.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Joshua F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

From the minute we pulled in to this campground for the first time, we fell in love! The drive from the thruway is fast, easy to find, and the family was so accommodating ! They lead us to our site, helped us get in and settled. The unique rc racetrack is a one of a kind! This is a great place to go with the family to get away. so many things to do around the area. We went back 2 weeks later, and will be booking for this weekend as well! We love this place!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blueeyes22803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

What a great stay!!! The people were so nice, the site was beautiful and bathrooms were VERY CLEAN!! We tent camped and had such a wonderful stay. The fishing pond was fully stocked. It was all around a beautiful place.
Must say.....at night when you look up at the sky, it will take your breath away, the sky was a blanket of stars :)

We would recommend this campground to everyone, in fact we can't wait for next camping season to go back!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LITA704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellmore, New York, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

The campground is perfect. It's wooded, clean, the pool is heated and great, the campground is kept up on a daily basis and I go back every chance I can. The owners are knowledgeable in every aspect of camping and couldn't be more helpful to the newbie camper. My first camping trip with a 30 foot TT and they had me backing in like a pro in no time.
Family oriented, friendly staff and guests. I couldn't say more.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 468SteveS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keyport, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

My family camped here for 4 nights and we were impressed with how clean the facilities were. The bathrooms are newly updated and spotless at all hours. The showers are clean and the laundry area has all new machines. The pool is heated and the staff was very accomodating with scheduling bad weather events for the families in the recreation room and communication with the guests coming to see us at each site to make sure we had the most updated information to be safe and entertained. The stream and swimming hole are awesome and we spent most of our time there. Camping streamside was spacious and very wooded and secluded. I was very impressed with all the place had to offer and even with some rainy weather, we managed to have a great time using all of the facilities. I have never met nicer staff and we have stayed in some pretty awful campgrounds in the past. I am going back for many years to come.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisHud1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

Stayed for two romantic nights with my husband overlooking the creek. Really beautiful place simple, natural and clean. Play areas are dispersed throughout the grounds. No real open main area. Very woodsy and dark at night feels like a true campout. Bathrooms and showers very clean and free coffee at the camp store. The staff were pleasant and I will go back. I think my kids would like this place too. Small pool but nice and not crowded. The town if Woodstock is 10 minutes away, be sure to try Joshua's Restaraunt for wholesome delicious food and great coctails. Be careful if you climb down into the creek, rocks are slippery. I fell even being careful, but at leasr my husband did have a giggle about it.

Room Tip: Definitely stay on the creek if you can. Pretty to wake up to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristaAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saugerties
6.1 mi away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
7.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kingston-Ulster
4.0 mi away
Diamond Mills Hotel
Diamond Mills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Saugerties
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Saugerties
Comfort Inn Saugerties
#3 of 6 in Saugerties
3.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
8.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
2.6 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Saugerties
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rip Van Winkle Campgrounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rip Van Winkle Campgrounds

Property: Rip Van Winkle Campgrounds
Address: 149 Blue Mountain Rd, Saugerties, NY 12477-3549
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Saugerties
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Saugerties
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 175
Also Known As:
Rip Van Winkle Campgrounds Hotel Saugerties

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing