We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Rustic charm, sweet reception” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saugerties Lighthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saugerties
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Saugerties Lighthouse
Save
You added Saugerties Lighthouse to your Saves list
Ranked #6 of 15 Saugerties B&B and Inns
Brooklyn, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Rustic charm, sweet reception”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

A perfect getaway from the city! I almost hesitate to review this place because I don't want to share it. It's that lovely. I can't say enough about the thrill of getting to sleep in the middle of the river in a perfectly restored historical lighthouse. Wow! We felt like we were back in time a little. Rooms are cozy and quaint ... comfortable and spotless. The innkeepers Anna and Patrick are so genuinely nice and they make a breakfast that is to die for. They were really patient with all of our questions about the area's history and gave us great advice for a little hike on our way back. Cute village nearby with some good antique shops, too. Hoping to make an annual tradition of it!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank henrileroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    9
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicopee
Level Contributor
313 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

The location was perfect; the room was cozy, and the bed fine (great night sleep). We used the grill to cook our dinner and in the morning the inn-keeper, who was very nice, cooked us breakfast with eggs, sausage, pancakes, juice and coffee/tea. Before we left the lighthouse we booked for next year.

Room Tip: Only two rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank ChicopeeJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
106 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

This is a great spot to get away and recharge the batteries. We stayed one night and really enjoyed the views and just being right on the river. We stayed in the East room which had great water views and a comfortable bed. We liked the coal burning stove in the common room downstairs. It was great sitting outside and watching boats go by and later the sunset. As other reviews mention, make sure to wear boots on the trail and pay attention to the tide chart. Sasha did a great job making us feel at home. We plan on visiting here again next year.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Gimper90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stony Point, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

My fiance and I spent January 2, 2002 at the lighthouse and were overwhelmed with the charm and natural beauty of the lighthouse and surroundings. Patrick the lighthouse keeper is a gentle quiet soul who enjoys his work and make a first-class organically oriented breakfast using the best ingredients. Saugerties has several wonderful restaurants to choose from and a great wine shop. We re-booked immediately and spent a night in August 2010 there, getting married in our bedroom on the second floor by Patrick, an ordained officiator. He did the service for free and was perfect for the occasion. Once again, everything was romantic, memorable and designed to please. We drank champaign on the 'Boat" deck, swam in the warm river (sandy bottom) and enjoyed a stunning sunset over the Catskills. If you want a five star hotel and a European style concierge, then this is not your ticket. But if you desire a unique, heart-warming getaway that'll bring a smile to your soul, this is the place for you. We're booked again for a stay next year.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank travelstilts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2009

Concerning location, aesthetics, serentity, romanticism, eccentricity, etc., the other reviews seem very accurate to me. We found the inn-keeper pleasant enough - even if a bit absent and taciturn - and a very good breakfast chef. I don't believe I ever tasted more delicious blueberry pancakes made from scratch. Two oddities, however. First, since the lighthouse is part of a public reserve, visitors will come to and into the house, and this means that even while relaxing on the spacious deck that extends into the river you will not be alone. Second, despite the charm of the lighthouse, which I realize the historical foundation must preserve, the absence of some way to control the insect problem in the even seem unacceptable given the cost; gnats, mosquitos, spiders so numerous we joked that we were on an evening nature tour in Belize. But coupled with the lumpy matress, it wasn't too funny and I was very sleepy in the morning. Still, the breakfast made us happy again and we rested while floating around in the Hudson. Overall, the place offers more to praise than to criticize

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
24 Thank dromos01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2009

Yes, it's a beautiful place. And yes, it's a remarkable view and a stunning walk and thrilling to be out in the lighthouse, all alone. But that doesn't really excuse finding another guest's dried blood on my sheets. The lighthouse keeper, an affable guy, seemed more into his girlfriend than his job -- when we called him at about 10pm to ask where we could find replacement sheets -- he was out partying with the girlfriend and could not bother to pick up his cell phone. She stumbled out of his quarters the next morning while he made breakfast. Kind of tacky, really.

Bloody sheets and absentee lighthouse keeper aside, it was a lovely night -- but really, it's just a bit too expensive and a bit too ridiculous (reservations a year in advance!) for bloody sheets.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
31 Thank RusticTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarrytown, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2008

I won't duplicate what others have said. This is a beautiful place on a beautiful site and a great experience. We went in August and had great weather. There is no air conditioning; we didn't need it. Very charming, wonderful to step back in time with the kitchen and the museum room. Breakfast was great.
The beds are small (I am over 6 feet). Otherwise the room is good. However, my teenage daughter was appalled by the spiders. They are harmless of course and not exceptional; still if you've got a teenager be prepared to kill quite a few.
It is a bit inconvenient to have the only bathroom on the first floor.

  • Liked — location, charm, history
  • Disliked — no internet
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank henry024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saugerties
0.5 mi away
Diamond Mills Hotel
Diamond Mills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Saugerties
4.0 of 5 stars 136 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 stars 727 reviews
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Saugerties
Comfort Inn Saugerties
#3 of 6 in Saugerties
3.0 of 5 stars 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
1.9 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Saugerties
7.4 mi away
Courtyard Kingston
Courtyard Kingston
#3 of 10 in Kingston
4.0 of 5 stars 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saugerties Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saugerties Lighthouse

Property: Saugerties Lighthouse
Address: Lighthouse Drive, Saugerties, NY
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Saugerties
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Saugerties
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Saugerties Lighthouse Hotel Saugerties
Lighthouse Hotel Saugerties

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing