We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place on the Hudson River”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saugerties
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Saugerties Lighthouse
Ranked #7 of 16 Saugerties B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 23, 2011

The location was perfect; the room was cozy, and the bed fine (great night sleep). We used the grill to cook our dinner and in the morning the inn-keeper, who was very nice, cooked us breakfast with eggs, sausage, pancakes, juice and coffee/tea. Before we left the lighthouse we booked for next year.

Room Tip: Only two rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank ChicopeeJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 42 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2010

This is a great spot to get away and recharge the batteries. We stayed one night and really enjoyed the views and just being right on the river. We stayed in the East room which had great water views and a comfortable bed. We liked the coal burning stove in the common room downstairs. It was great sitting outside and watching boats go by and later the sunset. As other reviews mention, make sure to wear boots on the trail and pay attention to the tide chart. Sasha did a great job making us feel at home. We plan on visiting here again next year.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Gimper90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2010

My fiance and I spent January 2, 2002 at the lighthouse and were overwhelmed with the charm and natural beauty of the lighthouse and surroundings. Patrick the lighthouse keeper is a gentle quiet soul who enjoys his work and make a first-class organically oriented breakfast using the best ingredients. Saugerties has several wonderful restaurants to choose from and a great wine shop. We re-booked immediately and spent a night in August 2010 there, getting married in our bedroom on the second floor by Patrick, an ordained officiator. He did the service for free and was perfect for the occasion. Once again, everything was romantic, memorable and designed to please. We drank champaign on the 'Boat" deck, swam in the warm river (sandy bottom) and enjoyed a stunning sunset over the Catskills. If you want a five star hotel and a European style concierge, then this is not your ticket. But if you desire a unique, heart-warming getaway that'll bring a smile to your soul, this is the place for you. We're booked again for a stay next year.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank travelstilts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2009

Concerning location, aesthetics, serentity, romanticism, eccentricity, etc., the other reviews seem very accurate to me. We found the inn-keeper pleasant enough - even if a bit absent and taciturn - and a very good breakfast chef. I don't believe I ever tasted more delicious blueberry pancakes made from scratch. Two oddities, however. First, since the lighthouse is part of a public reserve, visitors will come to and into the house, and this means that even while relaxing on the spacious deck that extends into the river you will not be alone. Second, despite the charm of the lighthouse, which I realize the historical foundation must preserve, the absence of some way to control the insect problem in the even seem unacceptable given the cost; gnats, mosquitos, spiders so numerous we joked that we were on an evening nature tour in Belize. But coupled with the lumpy matress, it wasn't too funny and I was very sleepy in the morning. Still, the breakfast made us happy again and we rested while floating around in the Hudson. Overall, the place offers more to praise than to criticize

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
24  Thank dromos01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2009

Yes, it's a beautiful place. And yes, it's a remarkable view and a stunning walk and thrilling to be out in the lighthouse, all alone. But that doesn't really excuse finding another guest's dried blood on my sheets. The lighthouse keeper, an affable guy, seemed more into his girlfriend than his job -- when we called him at about 10pm to ask where we could find replacement sheets -- he was out partying with the girlfriend and could not bother to pick up his cell phone. She stumbled out of his quarters the next morning while he made breakfast. Kind of tacky, really.

Bloody sheets and absentee lighthouse keeper aside, it was a lovely night -- but really, it's just a bit too expensive and a bit too ridiculous (reservations a year in advance!) for bloody sheets.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
31  Thank RusticTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2008

I won't duplicate what others have said. This is a beautiful place on a beautiful site and a great experience. We went in August and had great weather. There is no air conditioning; we didn't need it. Very charming, wonderful to step back in time with the kitchen and the museum room. Breakfast was great.
The beds are small (I am over 6 feet). Otherwise the room is good. However, my teenage daughter was appalled by the spiders. They are harmless of course and not exceptional; still if you've got a teenager be prepared to kill quite a few.
It is a bit inconvenient to have the only bathroom on the first floor.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank henry024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2008

Stayed here for one night on a very beautiful spring day. The walk to the lighthouse was an easy one over wooden and dirt paths. The keeper was personable and informative regarding the reconstruction and history of the lighthouse. The breakfast was wonderful and prepared with local eggs, maple syrup, etc... The bedrooms are charming. There are two bedrooms on the second floor with access to the light up a steep flight of steps and a ladder. The beds are doubles so are a bit cozy for a couple. We brought our two kids (16 and 12) so we took both rooms. I would recommend you go with friends as you can hear everything that goes on in the house and all share the one downstairs bathroom. Our 12 year old slept on the army style cot which was okay for a kid, but not very comfortable. The lighthouse grounds are small and was crowded the day we were there. We had brought our own food to grill but waited until after dusk to cook when all the people left as the trail closed at sunset. There is no tv or internet so you spend the evening playing board games which was an enjoyable change. It is very peaceful in the morning before the masses begin to arrive. It seems to be quite a popular spot with the locals who seem to make it part of their daily routines. All in all an enjoyable respite for one night.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank steidl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saugerties
1.0 mi away
Diamond Mills Hotel
Diamond Mills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Saugerties
171 reviews
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Saugerties
Comfort Inn Saugerties
#3 of 6 in Saugerties
166 reviews
2.5 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Saugerties
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
901 reviews
7.7 mi away
Courtyard Kingston
Courtyard Kingston
#4 of 10 in Kingston
323 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bohemian Inn
Bohemian Inn
#5 of 16 in Saugerties
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saugerties Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saugerties Lighthouse

Address: Lighthouse Drive, Saugerties, NY
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Saugerties
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Saugerties
Price Range: $225 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Saugerties Lighthouse Hotel Saugerties
Lighthouse Hotel Saugerties

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing