We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good diner food”
Review of Village Diner

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Village Diner
Ranked #12 of 76 Restaurants in Saugerties
Cuisines: Diner
Restaurant details
Saugerties, New York
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“good diner food”
Reviewed August 11, 2014

the food is good and plentiful. the prices are good the owner is nice and friendly. the place is clean

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank natties1mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    14
    4
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Germantown, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very good food and personable waitress...”
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Stopped here for a late lunch. The waitress was very helpful and welcoming. We ordered a Monte Cristo sandwich to share along with chicken rice soup. The sandwich was huge and very good. The soup was tasty and homemade. Prices were very reasonable. We highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katztailz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethany Beach, Delaware
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best Dinner IN TOWN”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

I have eaten here perhaps 50 times in the past few years. Abraham and his family work very hard to make this dinner work. Senior specials @ $8.95 include salad/main course/dessert/drink. Wednesday pasta night @ $7.95 is big enough for two. Food is dinner food but very good and not bland. Service is usually excellent and everyone chips in to get her done. Avoid steaks and fancy food as you would in any dinner but you can not beat good old dinner soul food.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ed j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olive, New York
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Amazing value in a very clean diner”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This diner is in a small town where people can walk to it. It's very clean! The owner is very friendly and he has worked hard to make this a popular spot. It has the typical diner fare, but beyond that is this amazing menu if you are over 55. Most dinners are $8.95, doesn't matter what time or day you arrive. You get soup, which is homemade and very good, an entrée, vegetable, a beverage and dessert! I've had most of the choices and they're all good with the exception of the sirloin steak. It's a little tough. The Italian choices are excellent. Chicken parm, eggplant parm, baked ziti. I've had the roast beef and mashed potatoes, turkey, pot roast. The dessert choices are huge! And they'll even put ice cream on the pie for no extra charge. These senior dinners are not small! Most people would bring home leftovers. They are so nice, they'll even pack your dessert to go home if you don't have room for it. They can't be making any money on those dinners. The rest of the menu is also fairly priced, but I usually go for the senior specials! LOL!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 967Jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“I can't believe this...”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

My girlfriend and i are locals in saugerties, so we go to the diner occasionally. We've noticed a decline in this place every time we come, but this time was just too much.
So we sat ourselves and waited roughly 10 minutes for someone to take our drink order, while we watched a waitress take the food order of her friends before aknowledging us. Our waiter came with no personality, asking us our food order before our drinks. Our food came out, my steak was grossly overcooked, no seasoning. The Mac salad extremely sour, and when we asked the waiter about it, he basically admitted it was canned. Her meal was also undercooked and no seasoning. Miserable all around experience, and sorry to say we won't be coming back anytime soon.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tonydanza419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Village Diner also viewed

Saugerties, Catskill Region
Saugerties, Catskill Region
 
Saugerties, Catskill Region
Saugerties, Catskill Region
 
Saugerties, Catskill Region
Saugerties, Catskill Region
 

Been to Village Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing