We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Saugerties
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (211)
Filter reviews
211 results
Traveler rating
125
49
11
6
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
125
49
11
6
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews waterfall view lit up at night balcony overlooking coffee and pastries rooms overlook beautiful hotel hudson valley beautiful room the entire staff fresh flowers visiting the area relaxing weekend bed was very comfortable tavern falls balconies turndown
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 211 reviews
Reviewed June 20, 2017

We stayed at the hotel. Beautiful property inside and out. Impeccably clean. Gorgeous view of the falls. The only downside was there was no room service available on the night we stayed, but there were plenty of great restaurants within quick walking distance. We were tired and a bit cranky when we arrived, but a very charismatic overnight woman we encountered was the antidote for that with a very calm, controlled and soothing demeanor, enlightening conversation the next morning during which she spoke fluent arabic with my husband and I believe spanish to a staff member, then back to English with me. Suddenly I see what the song "suddenly I see" was about! Highly recommend Diamond Mills. Saugerties itself is also a very quaint, yet up and coming town with plenty of recreational options for families or couples. Highly recommend.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melansp1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diamond_Mills_Hotel, General Manager at Diamond Mills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2017

Thank you for your great review. We thank you for choosing to visit us, and we look forward to hosting you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2017

A lovely, first-rate "special occasion" (expensive) destination. The town of Saugerties is struggling to be a stand-alone tourist destination and reportedly survives primarily because of the equestrian business flowing into the major "HITS" equestrian center which features jumping and dressage competitions throughout the summer months. If you have to be there, Diamond Mills is the place to be. The property is located on a very spectacular waterfall, and most of the rooms, and the dining room, all have views and terraces, The beds are quite comfortable and the service is excellent. The fitness room is fairly spartan - two treadmills, one stationary bike and a few free weights - and a very nice spa is located just up the street.

Date of stay: June 2017
1  Thank 212nyjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2017

The hotel was nice. The view of the falls and outside balcony were lovely. Went there on a girl trip with my daughter. The staff were very attentive and helpful. The only downside would be the double doors to the balcony were difficult to close and you needed to sign a waiver for not leaving the doors open. The entire town is walkable and seems to be in a hipster vs local transition, cool place to visit.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diamond_Mills_Hotel, General Manager at Diamond Mills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2017

Hi Sarah, Thanks for your kind review. Those French Doors are beautiful, but can be tricky to close properly. Thank you for bringing that to our attention. So glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you will stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2017

We went to hang out for a weekend in Saugerties and this hotel called out to us. There are many fabulous reasons to stay here. Yet, there were also some shortcomings (some of which have already been written about here) that made it short of amazing.

The pros:
1. The view of the waterfall is fabulous -- they pretty much own the entire view and it is beautiful.
2.The balcony. Simply lovely to sit out on your private balcony to have your morning coffee or evening wine. During our stay, the building blocked the wind, so we were able to spend a fair amount of time out there -- even on rainy May days. We went for the King Supreme -- the other King has a smaller balcony. I wish we went for the smaller balcony -- not really worth the extra money for the larger one.
3. The bed and pillows are amazingly comfortable.
4. The card from the manager wishing us happy birthday with some lovely chocolates.
5. Turn-down service. Each night turn-down, chocolate and a fresh flower. What's not to love?
6. Beautifully appointed, nice-sized room.
7. Beautiful and comfortable common areas to relax -- and in the lobby cold water with lemons and fruit all day.
8. Very friendly staff (except for the guy at the front desk who had us sign some sort of waivers while we were checking in -- more on that below).
9. Centrally located. We were able to walk to restaurants, bars, book stores, antiques stores, etc.
10. Heated floors in the bathroom.
11. Very clean.
12. Keurig coffee with fresh cream daily.

The cons:
1. Saugerties is a very laid-back village and this hotel has an uptight vibe to it. It started with the guy who came over when we checked in. He told us all the things we couldn't do and had me sign waivers or something while I was giving the check-in woman my credit card and ID. It was disconcerting and not a good start (I have to sign to say that I agree to close the balcony door????).
2. The vanity in the bathroom is far too small. I saw an earlier post about having to take turns when getting ready. I couldn't even fit all my cosmetics on the vanity!
3. Showerhead was very disappointing. For this kind of hotel, I fully expected rainfall showerheads or something comparable. This was standard with an optional handheld. Not my cup of tea when paying to stay in this type of hotel.
4. Toiletries were not refreshed.
5. WiFi was not very good at all and we could only get 3G. Not good for our phone batteries. Please note, they are looking to remedy this shortcoming.
6. No convenient outlet access. While we could charge a phone from the dock, we could only do one at a time. Not too convenient if you have more than one device -- especially with the battery drain from the internet issues.
7. Our room was rather dark -- even with all the lights on. Perhaps they could try higher wattage bulbs?
8. Minibar prices are comparable to those in NYC. This is Saugerties NY. A convenience charge is one thing -- this so far exceeds that I found it offensive (and I will admit to paying such prices in NYC, London and the like).
9. So much stuff in the mini-bar fridge, it was hard to fit our dinner left-overs.

Overall, the pros significantly outweigh the cons and I will definitely consider staying at this property again. It's beautiful and, for the most part, relaxing (unless you're worrying about that balcony door!).

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank kmunkwitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2017

BEWARE! If you care about customer service, do not go here. This hotel charged us for an entire stay that we were unable to make due to a blizzard shutting down all area airports (we could get out of our city but not into theirs) and refused to refund us. Sidenote... our non refundable car reservations and non refundable airline tickets were both refunded due to the extenuating circumstances. We were presented the option to move our stay to a later date and pay a rate that was inflated by $50/night (25% inflation-a HUGE courtesy as they explained it)... which was then charged to our credit card months in advance without warning or permission even though I specifically asked "Can you please advise what the unpaid balance for the reservation will be? Can you confirm that the unpaid amount will again be withdrawn the morning of our check in? Also may I confirm the last four digits of the credit card you have on file?" (no response) The days before we were due to arrive I looked at the online booking and saw that they were offering rooms $30/night less then what they were charging us. I called to see if they would match the price and were told because we had to move the reservation due to the blizzard our reservation was unchangeable. Found out at that time we were charged for an extra day as well. It was near impossible to speak with the hotel manager. It took several attempts to reach her, she was always "out of the office"... never could get a call back from her. When I finally did talk with her she was unimaginably rude, raising her voice and talking over me. Followed up our conversation with email stating my concerns and never got any response back addressing the issues. Simply stated the extra day was a "miscommunication" and backhandedly blamed me for booking it. She never even met with us when we arrived for our stay. I could see her ducking around the corner when we would come to the lobby. This entire experience was unacceptable customer service to any standard. I have never been treated so poorly after spending so much money with a facility.

I will say though that everything about the restaurant "The Tavern" was phenomenal. The food, staff and manager were wonderful. I would highly recommend visiting the Tavern. Unfortunately though we will NEVER stay here again based on the way we were treated by the hotel management.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank robinjcastaneda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews