We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Diamond Mills Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Saugerties
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Lovely setting- all rooms have a waterfall view. Was there in the cold days of February so no chance to sit on the balcony. Tastefully decorated although it was a little like staying in a Restoration Hardware catalog - not a particularly bad thing given the decorating themes in some hotels. While they advertise heated floors in the bathrooms, I wish they had directed their resources on making it more spacious. The whole configuration of the rooms could have been more thoughtful. Comfy beds and linens.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
Thank CherylNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (174)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 174 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2014

I have been visiting friends in Saugerties for the past 10 years. I have wanted to try the Diamond Mills since it opened, but only ever ate in the restaurant. I attended a wedding there this past weekend. I can only describe my experience as "Over The Top!"

First, the rooms: Nothing short of Four Season's hotel rooms. Nicely stocked mini bar, beds are super comfy, view of the falls is gorgeous. The soft muted tones of the walls and furnishings is super soothing. It was about 6 degrees outside, so the shoft robes and heated bathroom floor was amazing. There is no bathtub for soaking, but the shower is great.

Second, the service: I was a little concerned about all of the hotel policies and having to pay the first night in advance. I thought "hmmm...is this place going to be snoby or difficult." Absolutely not! Service was first class. Tony, who was at the front desk both nights was very helpful and very polite.

Third, the food: Food in the restaurant and in catering was amazing. The continental breakfast was perfect. You can take a try to your room and have breakfast in bed. They serve Harvey & Sons teas, which is high quality. They have comp Keureg in the rooms with bottled water.

Fourth, the wedding venue: WOW, WOW, WOW! The cocktail hour was more than what most people serve on a wedding buffet. There was a dim sum station, a pasta station (veal ravioli in sage/butter sauce), carving station, anti pasti station, cheese station (aged Gouda to die for). Then there was a sit down dinner. Granted, my friends chose the food and I am certain they chose the top shelf in everything, but if you are having your wedding here, you are going to wow your guests. The venue is gorgeous and magestic.

All in all, if you are going to a wedding or just need a place to explore the Hudson River Valley, look no further. I wish I was back at the Diamond Mills!

PS: The Krauses Chocolate shop next to the hotel has amazing chocolates...all locally sourced products.

Room Tip: There are only 30 rooms. They all have a view of the falls. They offer some apartments, so ask if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KhunChai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

What a delight! Beautiful views in a quaint hotel in the center of Saugerties. Priced as anticipated at $200 per night. All rooms are new and winter amenities are appreciated, such as heated floor in bathroom. Romantic yet sophisticated. Quiet for a great escape. Highly recommend.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank jeffreyl1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Perfectly located in the mid-Hudson Valley - far enough to be a getaway from NYC, but not so far to spend too much of your time driving. You can use this spot as a destination or a base to explore all of the things available to you in Saugerties, Hudson, and Poughkeepsie - among other towns.

The hotel was clean and comfortable and accommodating. It was a snowy weekend, so once we got there we settled in, enjoyed the room and the Tavern next door while we watched the snow come down.

Room Tip: All of the rooms, I believe, face the falls - so I think they are all good rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We were recently here for a wedding. What am amazing little place. Rooms were upscale and had a really cool view of the waterfall and bridge. Wedding reception was right on the property so it was a quick walk. Even the hotel bar was great. Employees were very friendly and it was a 2 minute drive to local shops. Awesome place.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TomMcKennaNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

What a great pre-Christmas getaway! We needed a break where we could rest and spend time together while the grandparents watched the kids.

We got a great rate the night before we left and had an easy trip up to Saugerties. We arrived at the Diamond Mill to gorgeous views. We had a very personal welcome and were shown around our lovely room. Gorgeous view of the Esopus Creek waterfall, turndown service with chocolate, radiant heat bathroom floor, shopping coupons.

We called ahead to ask about the restaurant and we were given the fireplace table. We drank amazing hot buttered rum and had a delicious dinner.

The next morning we enjoyed the Kuerig in the room with fresh cream in the fridge. We enjoyed the complementary continental breakfast then went to a local beginners yoga class. In the afternoon we enjoyed some shopping at Krause's amazing chocolates and lunch at Miss Lucy's. Since it was reality snowing, we got complementary desserts at Miss Lucy's. We spent the afternoon napping and enjoying the snowy view of the waterfall.

Despite significant snow, the Tavern was hopping and we had great service.

The front hotel staff was incredibly accommodating giving us snow updates and continually asking if they could get us anything.

After a second night of great sleep- great blankets, lots of types of pillows, we got up and went to the hotel gym. When we were checking out, we had a wonderful surprise-the hotel staff had dug out car out if the snow!

Thank you Diamond Mill for a great weekend and a great stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EILEEN F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a night for the first time last weekend on a long weekend trip to the area. The previous 2 nights, we stayed elsewhere, at a basic motel and decided to treat ourselves for the last (Sun.) night. I have to say, the main criticism is due to the high prices, which brings with it greater expectations. Contrary to others, we had no problem with the staff at all. The rooms are impeccably furnished and decorated and the bed was extremely comfortable.
At the rate of $275/night, however, a Jacuzzi tub would have been in order. Instead, there is not even a bathtub, only a shower. So much for taking a soaking. And there is no spa to go to.
Also, my wife and I both thought that the food at the tavern was just OK, nothing to rave about. And for some reason, there was cold air blowing out of vents even though the dining room was icy cold!

There was a noisy ice making machine outside of our room and when we went down for the included bkfst. in the morning, it was jammed and there was no place to sit.

In spite of these minor irritations, we would still recommend this hotel. Just know that it is not perfect and not a bargain.

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms near the ice machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marcel175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saugerties
21.2 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#2 of 7 in Windham
303 reviews
7 mi away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
150 reviews
21.6 mi away
Albergo Allegria
Albergo Allegria
#1 of 7 in Windham
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Hotel Dylan
Hotel Dylan
#3 of 3 in Woodstock
57 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
934 reviews
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Saugerties
Comfort Inn Saugerties
#4 of 6 in Saugerties
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamond Mills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond Mills Hotel

Address: 25 S Partition St, Saugerties, NY 12477-1826
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Saugerties
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Saugerties
Price Range: $186 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Diamond Mills Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awake to the sounds of falling waters in each of our 30 well-appointed guest rooms, offering private balconies overlooking the Esopus Falls. Plush overstuffed duvets, fine Egyptian cotton linens and a rustic European design all ensure a restful and relaxing stay for you and your guests. Be it a romantic country getaway or family fun vacation, Diamond Mills offers elegant accommodations unlike anywhere in the Hudson Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Diamond Mills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing