We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Pub!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dutch Ale House

Dutch Ale House
Ranked #5 of 73 Restaurants in Saugerties
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
138 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Pub!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

Came in this week, had a great lunch, really nice pub, great decor, awesome beer.

Well worth a visit!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Luke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    51
    8
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Saugerties, New York, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best beer selection in a great pub setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

The Dutch Tavern is our favorite restaurant for a good quick meal in Saugerties. They have a great draft beer selection and so this is where we go whenever I'm craving a beer. Good salads, paninis, and very good burgers. The old original barroom oozes the atmosphere of an old pub. The new dining room, not so much.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Friendly Brewpub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

The Dutch Ale House is one of my favorite places to eat in Saugerties. I have never had a meal there that I didn't enjoy. My favorites are the BLT and The Pilgrim sandwiches, served with awesome sweet potato fries. The wait staff is very friendly. We never feel rushed, even when we are there for hours just hanging out.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“warm and wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

The best fries. And they're served with a aioli and balsamic dipping sauce that is gorgeous. Pub food, but everything is more delicious than you'd expect. Real comfort food. And the staff is all so nice and friendly. We drink wine, which is quite good, but the real draw is all those beers. Our friends who drink beer are delighted at the choices. Just a great bar. If you're in the area, it's worth a visit.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Monica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saugerties
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Joint!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

This place is definitely a place to try. There sweet fries are awesome we always get them . They are served with a great horseradish dipping sauce. My family loves the burgers and I love there salads especially there goat cheese one . I add chicken with mine! They even have a kids menu.
This place is very basic no thrills , though great place to have lunch .

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cynphin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dutch Ale House also viewed

Saugerties, Catskill Region
Saugerties, Catskill Region
 
Saugerties, Catskill Region
Saugerties, Catskill Region
 

Been to Dutch Ale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing