We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All around great”
Review of Dutch Ale House

Dutch Ale House
Ranked #4 of 76 Restaurants in Saugerties
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Berkeley, California
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“All around great”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

I always try to visit a new place on an off day where maybe the best chef or servers are not working to get a "real" feel for how the place is ran. I went to the Dutch Ale house on a Tuesday afternoon and was not disappointed.

The atmoshere is two tonered. The main bar is very warm and cozy with dark wood and tons of character. The ajoining room is more public house with local artwork, dart board, pool table, and open seating. Great ambiance.

My server was super friendly, attentive, and made great suggestions. A++

I had the soup of the day, Crab and clam chowder manhattan style, and the mushroom and black bean quesodilla. They were both awesome.

Great local spot; I will definately return. Great job!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    52
    10
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Juicy burgers and a robust beer selection”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

After a long stop-and-go drive out of NYC, we were famished, exhausted, and in the mood for something low-key. Dutch Ale House was the perfect choice to wind-down from the week: juicy hamburgers with a great beer selection within walking distance from our hotel. Highly recommend

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank oenophile0109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate, New York
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Awesome parm/garlic wings !!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Saugerties celebrated 1st Friday & after a truley delightful 2 hrs visiting the wonderful stores & samplying some really yummy snacks went to Dutch Ale. They are really involved with the welfare of this special town & are very involved. The best part was eating those delicious
parm/garlic wings. Nice juicy wings with a slight crisp coating.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank smiling4unow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishkill, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“deliciousness! and very cozy/charming too!”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

everything was absolutely delicious!!!! The truffle french fries are outstanding!!! I cannot say enough about them! everything was so good AND flavorful. All of the food seemed to be made with care, and seasoning was perfect with everything. shrimp won-tons were great, pulled pork on brioche-excellent. The crab cakes were a bit mediocre, but everything else just ROCKED!! great atmosphere, really cute decor. (love the dutch clogs on the wall, as well as the whimsical mural) We will definitely be back- so far our favorite place to eat in Saugerties. We went to NWHC in Saugerties last night, and it SUCKED!!! This place more than made up for our terrible culinary experience at NWHC.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank athinalev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlebury, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A Good Experience”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Stopped in here for dinner on a Thursday evening (solo) and was able to find a seat at the bar. Definitely a local crowd where everyone knew each other. I had the Truffle, Garlic & Parmesan wings and couldn't have been happier (I'm not sure how my new bar friends thought about the garlic though). I also had their pale ale (brewed on the premises) and it was pretty good. Their menu was unique, and it took me a while to decide, so they probably have something for everyone. A real laid back vibe in this place. Well worth a visit if you're passing through Saugerties.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dr0823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dutch Ale House also viewed

Saugerties, Catskill Region
Saugerties, Catskill Region
 
Saugerties, Catskill Region
Saugerties, Catskill Region
 
Saugerties, Catskill Region
Saugerties, Catskill Region
 

Been to Dutch Ale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing