We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome parm/garlic wings !!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dutch Ale House

Dutch Ale House
Ranked #5 of 73 Restaurants in Saugerties
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Upstate, New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Awesome parm/garlic wings !!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Saugerties celebrated 1st Friday & after a truley delightful 2 hrs visiting the wonderful stores & samplying some really yummy snacks went to Dutch Ale. They are really involved with the welfare of this special town & are very involved. The best part was eating those delicious
parm/garlic wings. Nice juicy wings with a slight crisp coating.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank smiling4unow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    51
    8
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fishkill, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“deliciousness! and very cozy/charming too!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

everything was absolutely delicious!!!! The truffle french fries are outstanding!!! I cannot say enough about them! everything was so good AND flavorful. All of the food seemed to be made with care, and seasoning was perfect with everything. shrimp won-tons were great, pulled pork on brioche-excellent. The crab cakes were a bit mediocre, but everything else just ROCKED!! great atmosphere, really cute decor. (love the dutch clogs on the wall, as well as the whimsical mural) We will definitely be back- so far our favorite place to eat in Saugerties. We went to NWHC in Saugerties last night, and it SUCKED!!! This place more than made up for our terrible culinary experience at NWHC.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank athinalev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlebury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
199 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A Good Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Stopped in here for dinner on a Thursday evening (solo) and was able to find a seat at the bar. Definitely a local crowd where everyone knew each other. I had the Truffle, Garlic & Parmesan wings and couldn't have been happier (I'm not sure how my new bar friends thought about the garlic though). I also had their pale ale (brewed on the premises) and it was pretty good. Their menu was unique, and it took me a while to decide, so they probably have something for everyone. A real laid back vibe in this place. Well worth a visit if you're passing through Saugerties.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dr0823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, New York
Level Contributor
101 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A bit of waiting couldn't even ruin it - love!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

We arrived on Sunday night and waited by the entrance. There wasn't a lot of space so we had to stand right next to a full table. Eventually we were told we could seat ourselves. Surprisingly busy, but we found a window table and had to wait awhile for menus. But besides a little lag in service time, the menu was full of delicious options. I'd been told by a friend to try the burger and I wasn't disappointed. The food was wonderful! The place is comfortable, the staff seemed a little busy but were still friendly. Glad this is nearby so I can go again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TDD00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Must Try”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

There is something for everyone on the menu. From a plain hamburger to many unique and complex dishes. Like the winter salad with about a dozen ingredients that made every bite a delightful surprise. I don't usually order dessert but had to try the bread pudding. It was airy and subtle, delicious. For the price I don't think you can go wrong.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank my3barones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dutch Ale House also viewed

Saugerties, Catskill Region
Saugerties, Catskill Region
 
Saugerties, Catskill Region
Saugerties, Catskill Region
 

Been to Dutch Ale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing