We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A step back in time”
Review of The Gideon Putnam

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Gideon Putnam
Ranked #6 of 33 Hotels in Saratoga Springs
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Amawalk, NY
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A step back in time”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

My wife and I were visiting the area and I wanted to find a place with character. This definitely fit the bill. I arrived in Saratoga Springs first and decided to visit the hotel prior to making a reservation. I was greeted by a woman that was tending to the gift shop and she was outstanding, providing some history of the hotel and relating very positive experiences from past guests. She suggested that I view a room. The front desk staff was equally friendly and accommodating. The room was very nice and clean, I was sold! My wife arrived shortly after and was very happy with the choice. I visited the lounge, again the staff was friendly and prompt. We also had the Sunday breakfast and found the prices reasonable and the food excellent. I would definitely stay at this property when in the area again and next time will treat my wife to the spa! Note, advance reservations are recommended for the spa.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markj508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding the great service you received from our staff. I am thrilled to hear that curiosity about our beautiful, historic hotel led to a wonderful stay, and it sounds like we will definitely see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    500
    351
    147
    90
    67
See reviews for
210
469
37
237
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dover Plains, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

What a beautiful, lovely hotel. Old world charm and class. Upon entering the lobby, you are greeted with friendly and helpful staff, & a beautiful sitting area with overstuffed chairs and 2 fireplaces. We stayed in a king deluxe room. Our bed was comfortable, the room was immaculately clean and well appointed with in-room amenities. We had breakfast each morning in the on-premise restaurant. It was delicious and the service, again, was impeccable. We love this place! We were treated so well, we cannot wait to go back. Incidentally, there is so much to do in the area that two days was not enough.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tess1114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others. We are so glad to hear we left a positive and lasting impression. It is so true, there really is so much to do in Saratoga, and right here in the Saratoga Spa State Park. Hopefully we will see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
289 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Overall, nice stay - clean and comfortable room, two fireplaces in the lobby, restaurant on site. A couple of major issues that are not clear/easy for first time guests:

1. When making online reservation and spa services are selected, know that those are not guaranteed, must be booked directly with spa, and pricing is for 1 person even though multiple people on reservation. Don't worry about the day selected, it means nothing - call the spa directly. It's very confusing, and we almost missed out on spa services, which was the point of the trip.

2. The hotel is dog friendly, but when I called to confirm that we could bring a dog I was told we were in a dog-friendly room, but a request had to be noted, and was not guaranteed. Not wanting to risk it, we put our dog in a kennel and when we checked in the woman was surprised we didn't have our dog. She was very apologetic, but this was a major error by person confirming reservation and providing info (Linda, you REALLY screwed that up).

Hope these tips make it easier for new guests to plan and enjoy their stay.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woozel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for your honest feedback. I am glad that overall you had a pleasant stay, but surely, it would have been better if your dog was with you. I'm so sorry. Delaware North Companies has properties all over the country, and so we use a central reservations center - I have shared your review with the reservations team so this mis-communication does not happen again. For Spa treatments, we do ask that you call the Spa to book a time, choose a male or female therapist, and to share any special needs or requests. Please accept our apologies for causing so much confusion. Should your future plans lead you back to Saratoga, we hope to have another opportunity to better serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston, ma
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Having gone to Saratoga Springs for an even we chose the Gideon Putnam. It sits on or around a state park. Pulling in it looked very nice, very common for it's age. We were very happy with the staff and the bed comfort. The linen and furnitures were very nice. The carpet was just a bit worn, my bigger issues were the peeling glaze off the bathroom wall and shower tiles as well as the bath tub, it's just unsightly and looks dirty although it wasn't. The room was very clean but the bathroom was a big disappointment. Although not so much a problem at this time a year, you could hear a lot of noise from up above or in the hallways. The hotel wasn't at capacity but I'd worry about peak seasons. All in all it was a nice stay, I'd go back just for the comfort and staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris1gill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
We are thrilled to hear you had a comfortable stay, and that our staff treated you well. However, please accept our apologies regarding your bathroom. We are a National Historic Landmark Hotel, and so it is important that certain features and fixtures remain. We have had the tubs refinished twice in as many years, and now we are looking at a second company to fix what the first company was unable to do. Thank you for your patience - care for a property such is this is eternal. Please come see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

My husband and I stayed overnight after an afternoon of visiting relatives who live nearby. The grounds were beautiful. Our room was clean and quiet, and the food was good. We did not take advantage of any of the other services, so I can't comment. I would like to return in warmer weather when the grounds weren't ice-covered.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilltowngal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Even though your visit was short, we are glad to hear we left a positive and lasting impression. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others. Spring is only a few days away... hopefully that means we will see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

I can't say enough complimentary things about the staff at the Gideon Putnam...they were all genuinely friendly and so accommodating! The staff is the reason I gave this review 5 stars, they were wonderful. The shuttle service was like having a private taxi at your beck and call.
The rooms were ok but I don't feel like the furnishings were on par with how beautiful the lobby area and buffet area were. The beds were hard. We had adjourning rooms and the set up was very cool- like being suitemates back in college! Privacy but the ability to be together- was awesome for 4 of us!
The spa definitely needs some improvements. The employees were all very nice but the services lacked "polish". The building was so beautiful and historic but it has been "updated" in a way that is not keeping with the elegance and refinement of the 1930's. The Relaxation Room was so obviously incongruous that it was annoying to me (Zen-like Japanese? really??). Having said all that, the mineral baths were something that should not be missed on a trip to Saratoga Springs! I would absolutely return to the Gideon Putnam!

Green Features: I love that the Gideon Putnam is environmentally friendly!
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Our staff really is wonderful, and we take pride in providing great customer service - thank you for taking the time to say so!. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Stayed with my husband and two teenage sons in a suite and it was the perfect setup. The rooms were clean and roomy. For a historic property it was well maintained but still had all the charm of a historic hotel. It had very much of a boutique hotel feel.

Winter in the park offers much to do. Wish I had brought appropriate shoes so I could have snow shoed in the park. The hotel provides the snow shoes. Next visit we will stay longer and plan to take part in Sunday brunch. It smelled delicious

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Kerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you for sharing your positive feedback and outlook! There really is so much to do in the Park year-round, even in the Winter, as long as you enjoy being outdoors. We hope you come see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saratoga Springs hotels
2.0 mi away
Saratoga Arms
Saratoga Arms
#1 of 33 in Saratoga Springs
575 reviews
1.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratoga Springs
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratog...
#2 of 33 in Saratoga Springs
764 reviews
1.9 mi away
Pavilion Grand Hotel
Pavilion Grand Hotel
#4 of 33 in Saratoga Springs
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Inn at Saratoga
The Inn at Saratoga
#7 of 33 in Saratoga Springs
399 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Saratoga Hilton
The Saratoga Hilton
#14 of 33 in Saratoga Springs
1,217 reviews
1.2 mi away
Saratoga Casino Hotel
Saratoga Casino Hotel
#13 of 33 in Saratoga Springs
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gideon Putnam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gideon Putnam

Property: The Gideon Putnam
Address: 24 Gideon Putnam Rd, Saratoga Spa State Park, Saratoga Springs, NY 12866-6218 (Formerly Gideon Putnam Hotel and Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Saratoga Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#3 Spa Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#6 Romantic Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#7 Business Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#11 Family Hotel in Saratoga Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gideon Putnam 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Some places are just different. You feel it. You sense it. And when you're there it welcomes you. It encourages you, and it leaves you in a better place than when you arrived. A place that is legendary for making people feel better. It's not just a hotel. It's the cure for what ails you. The Gideon Putnm is a classic boutique hotel located in resort-like setting of Saratoga Spa State Park, minutes from downtown Saratoga Springs and the Adirondack Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Gideon Putnam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gideon Putnam Saratoga Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing