We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A long wait for what should have been a quick meal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Saratoga Springs
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in Saratoga Springs
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
tokyo, japan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A long wait for what should have been a quick meal”
Reviewed August 8, 2007

I stayed here for one night while on a college visit with my daughter. At check in the front desk could not have been more accommodating and friendly. We were tired from our travels and decided to have a quick dinner at the restaurant on sight--BIG MISTAKE (we typically avoid hotel restaurants)! We waited 1 hour for our food--2 hamburgers. There was another table of four who had the same experience. To be fair, I am not sure if the kitchen was suddenly hit with a large volume of room service orders as our waitress, who served as the bartender as well, was unable to give us an explanation. I wasn't expecting a 5 star meal, but I felt waiting 1 hour was unacceptable. I was not charged for our dinner.
As for the room they were clean, beds were comfortable and bathroom was small. A little overpriced, but it was their high season.

  • Liked — Front desk at check in
  • Disliked — The food
  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tokyo6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    191
    97
    34
    21
See reviews for
160
186
33
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
new haven, connecticut
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2007

I assume the cost of this hotel was due to race season at Saratoga. The room was clean and accommodated 1 adult and pre-teen boys, however, there was a hole in the bathroom ceiling and the shower curtain was torn. The hotel supplied a roll-away bed that was very comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful, the pool was clean but small, and the breakfast was varied but should have been provided complementary to guests. Although located on the main road and with many guests, the hotel was quiet. There was plenty of parking, and two newspapers were delivered in the morning. A hair-dryer and coffee/tea maker are provided.

  • Liked — helpful staff
  • Disliked — cost of breakfast
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CoClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2007

What a disappointing weekend at this hotel! Tired rooms, unkempt carpets, towels with stains, not what we would have expected for 429/night. We had stayed here 2 years ago for a visit to Skidmore and were quite pleased at the the time. Returning this year for the Saratoga races, i thought this would be a good choice. The hotel raises rates (429 for a room that should be 150) since the area is so busy at this time. Seeing that other hotels had comparable rates, I chose the Hilton. What a mistake -- I was told this morning at check out that there will be a full renovation this fall. We had brought another couple with us and frankly, I was embarassed that they were spending so much for such a sub-par hotel. Race fans beware and try to stay somewhere else!

  • Liked — close to saratoga track
  • Disliked — condition of hotel
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Webster37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2007

We stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn in Saratoga Springs over Memorial Day weekend. We wanted a place close to Lake George that would be a lot cheaper and better value for the money than the places we've stayed in the past in Lake George - and this place certainly fit the bill. The room was clean and spacious. There was a breakfast buffet but it seemed on the expensive side, and we found a great diner, the Saratoga Diner, down the road for breakfast.

  • Liked — Price and cleanliness
  • Disliked — expensive breakfast
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NY1mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithtown, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2007

First visit to this Saratoga hotel. More upscale & pricey; a nice treat. Room & bath well-appointed, quiet. Staff outstanding, room immaculate. Bathroom spacious but fan didn't work too well.Some nice packages avail. Centrally located between State Park and town.

  • Liked — Ambience
  • Disliked — leaving it!
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank irisheyes7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, PA
1 review
Reviewed December 28, 2006

After checking on the web for a moderately priced hotel over Christmas, we chose the Hilton Garden Inn Saratoga for the price and location. It was only after booking that I thought to read the reviews and the negative ones could not have been more wrong, as far as our experience went. Everything about the hotel was fine - the staff was hard working and gracious, the room was clean and very nicely decorated and high-tech, our accomodations were as we requested, with an adjoining room for our son and the complimentary breakfast on Christmas morning was more than adequate. Evidently other people felt the same way about staying at this hotel, because there were a lot of cars in the lot and a lot of people at breakfast Christmas morning. We would recommend this placed highly - at least in the low season.

A family of three from Bethlehem, PA

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — It is not a completely non-smoking hotel.
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niagara falls
1 review
Reviewed October 5, 2006

This property has the best staff, a great location and a clean friendly atmosphere. Located in the heart of downtown saratoga. we were just steps to great italian restaurants and where all the action takes place. This hotel also has a great one price breakfast. They also offer dinner, roomservice and a great new bar/lounge area. I am a frequent traveler and have stayed at many locations in this city and the Hilton is top of the line when it comes to everything that one would need on a short term or even a long term stay.

  • Liked — THE STAFF!
  • Disliked — I loved our entire stay
  • Tips/Secrets — try the restaurant "the great american grill" has awsome food
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank schreder22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saratoga Springs hotels
0.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratoga Springs
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratog...
#2 of 33 in Saratoga Springs
764 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Saratoga Hilton
The Saratoga Hilton
#14 of 33 in Saratoga Springs
1,217 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Gideon Putnam
The Gideon Putnam
#6 of 33 in Saratoga Springs
1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Saratoga Springs
Holiday Inn Saratoga Springs
#11 of 33 in Saratoga Springs
515 reviews
1.1 mi away
Saratoga Arms
Saratoga Arms
#1 of 33 in Saratoga Springs
575 reviews
1.5 mi away
Courtyard Saratoga Springs
Courtyard Saratoga Springs
#10 of 33 in Saratoga Springs
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Saratoga Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Saratoga Springs

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Saratoga Springs
Address: 125 South Broadway, Saratoga Springs, NY 12866-4532
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Saratoga Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#6 Business Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#7 Romantic Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#8 Family Hotel in Saratoga Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Saratoga Springs 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly-renovated Hilton Garden Inn Saratoga Springs hotel in the beautiful historic town of Saratoga Springs, New York. This Saratoga Springs hotel is ideally located one mile from Downtown Saratoga Springs, Saratoga Race Course, Saratoga Gaming & Raceway and Saratoga Spa State Park, home to Saratoga Performing Arts Center (SPAC). Business travelers to upstate New York will also appreciate the close proximity to GlobalFoundries and many other Fortune 500 companies as well as the quick 30-minute drive to Albany International Airport. The brand-new lobby is highlighted by modern décor, cozy lounge seating with a fireplace, and the Great American Grill Restaurant where you will be able to enjoy a delicious menu for breakfast and dinner. The spacious guest rooms feature 32” flat-screen TVs with premium cable, free WiFi, and an in-room mini-fridge and microwave. Guest love to maintain their active lifestyle at the 24-hour fitness center, or they can take a relaxing swim in the heated indoor pool. The Hilton Garden Inn Saratoga Springs offers modern amenities and an ideal location to make it one of the best Saratoga Springs hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Saratoga Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Saratoga Springs Hotel Saratoga Springs
Hilton Saratoga Springs
Saratoga Springs Hilton Garden Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing