We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We give it 4.75 stars!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Saratoga Springs
Ranked #12 of 34 Hotels in Saratoga Springs
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 13, 2014

My family of four stayed for 3 nights at the Holiday Inn Saratoga Springs in early August and we had a wonderful time. The public areas were nice and well maintained. The fire pit on the patio was a great feature and we enjoyed it every night. My children used both the indoor and the outdoor pool as well. The room was just average for a Holiday Inn – in fact, the bathroom was smaller than I thought it would be and nothing special. The beds were extremely comfortable. We had a room on the first floor and I was told that these rooms have recently been updated. The décor was stylish and everything was immaculately clean. Please keep in mind that this is a pet friendly hotel, but being dog lovers, this wasn’t an issue for us. We loved the fact that the hotel offered complimentary use of bicycles to their guests. The breakfast buffet in the restaurant was tasty, inexpensive, and a pleasant way to start our day. We appreciated the morning coffee available in the lobby and the trays of cookies and pastries in the evenings. The best thing about this hotel is the location. It was close to everything we wanted to see in Saratoga. The hotel is on the main street, but a few blocks away from being in the heart of the hustle and bustle. The hotel is directly next to Congress Park with ponds, ducks, springs, a museum, walking paths, and a carousel. The famed Saratoga Race Course is down the road, but the complimentary shuttle whisked us there in a few short minutes, and picked us up afterwards as well. We also took advantage of the shuttle service to venture to Saratoga Spa State Park which is a short distance away. Overall, out stay at the Saratoga Holiday Inn was pleasurable. The only minor problem that we encountered was that our room was not cleaned at all on one of the days of our stay. We were out all day and when we returned to the room at 4:45 pm, we were surprised and disappointed to see that housekeeping hadn’t been there yet. It was nearly 5 pm when they came knocking. Rather than vacate the room so that they could make the beds and empty the trash, we opted to take some clean towels and live in our room As Is. The only other downside to our stay was the cost of the rooms. In my opinion, the rate charged was very high for the room we got. I understand that a guest is paying for the convenient location just as much as for the hotel accommodation, but for the rate charged, we were expecting something a little more than a standard hotel room. But overall, our stay here was great and we had a fun time.

Room Tip: I was told that the rooms on the first floor were recently updated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy F, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Saratoga Springs, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2014

Thank you for the great review of our hotel. It looks like you were able to experience much of the Saratoga experience while you were visiting. I apologize for the room service issue and will bring it up with our housekeeper. Thanks again, and hope to see you next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (533)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

270 - 276 of 533 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

For the best value, during racing season, try the Holiday Inn breakfast buffet. We were looking for a place close to the track but away from the early traffic jams. We saw the sign outside and came in. We were not disappointed. The service was excellent and the good was good. A good pitstop on the was to one-of-a-kind Saratoga racing!

Stayed: August 2014
2  Thank JDRolle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy F, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Saratoga Springs, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Thanks for your great comments. Our breakfast buffet is available everyday during racing season and is a big success.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2014

I have to say that we stay here just about every year during race season. Yes - it could use a bit of updating, however, overall, no complaints. Everything works, staff is wonderful and it is convenient to everything. In my opinion, it is the best place in town to stay. Recommend again and again.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank CatConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy F, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Saratoga Springs, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Thank you for your comments. I will Share your great feedback with our staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Great location - walking distance to everywhere in town and free shuttle to the track! Art the shuttle driver was very accommodating.

Rooms are outdated but we did not spend a lot of time there.

Only other negative -pool area was unsupervised and a group of drunk guys with loud music and dropping the F bomb every other word drove families and older guests away.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy F, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Saratoga Springs, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I apologize that you had an issue with part of your stay. We will address these issues at our staff meeting. Thanks again, for choosing us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2014

Rooms outdated, dirty, small, in need of upgrade. Small bathroom. No Jacuzzi, indoor and outdoor pools were good but no waitress service around the outdoor pool. We didn't get maid service the first day.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank N C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy F, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Saratoga Springs, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Thank you for taking time to provide feedback on your experience at our hotel. I truly apologize that your stay wasn't satisfactory. I would like the opportunity to discuss your concerns in person. Please feel free to contact me at 518-584-4550 Ext. 281

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014

I was a bit skeptical about visiting this hotel, after reading reviews and just in general, I didn't expect much from a "Holiday Inn." Boy was I surprised at how wrong I was! This hotel is, by far, one of the quaintest and most surreal hotels I've ever stayed in. It is located in the most divine area, in charming downtown Saratoga Springs, near all the enchanting restaurants, shops, and boutiques. The hotel itself, through a back picturesque staircase, leads to the esthetical Congress Park, which is not only a beautiful place for a stroll and to take in the scenery, but even has a carrousel for children, that makes you feel like you're back in a different century. Both my parents, my husband, and my Children, loved the park, so it's great for all ages. There is so much to do within walking distance of the hotel, without ever taking your car out of the garage. There is even a children's museum nearby. The hotel itself is very charming and chic. We found everything to be clean, tidy, and the staff very friendly and accommodating at all times, no matter what the issue. There was never once that we had a question or demand that was not fulfilled within seconds, whether with the cleaning staff, the front desk, the restaurant, I have to say, they treated us with silk gloves, and we've never even been here before. The outdoor grounds leading to the pool is beautiful. Nice gardens and flowers, very picturesque. We swam in both the indoor and outdoor pools and they were both enjoyable. We took lots of photos at the entrance of the hotel and the path leading to the pool, all very pretty. It's a small place that makes you feel very at home. We used the business center to do some work and everything was perfect. Our favorite part of the hotel was the fireplace outside. After dusk, we all came outside fresh after dinner and showers, and sat around the warm, inviting, glowing, dancing, entrancing fire. It was so calming and dreamlike. We simply loved it! The woman at the restaurant was so nice to us, she came to the fireplace to let us know about some stuff to explore nearby. We also took evening walks and found Saratoga Springs to be the most chic, charming place! :)

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank gabby g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy F, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Saratoga Springs, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Thank you for your wonderful words about our hotel and our city. We are very proud of them both. I am so happy to hear of your experience and can't wait to share your comments with our staff. We hope you will make our hotel a regular retreat!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2014

My wife and I made our first trip to Saratoga Springs to take in the history and the racing at Saratoga. The Holiday Inn is located within an easy walk to shops, restuarant,bars etc. They have a shuttle that takes you around town and to the race track. The hotel has been around a while but the rooms are clean and the beds very comfortable. The outdoor swimming pool is not huge but it was just fine for relaxing in after a day at the track. Prices are high during racing season but the location, friendly staff and service will have us returning for an annual visit.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ntby4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy F, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Saratoga Springs, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. I am so happy you enjoyed your stay and hope you make Saratoga and the Holiday Inn a regular vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saratoga Springs hotels
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratoga Springs
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratog...
#3 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
863 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Saratoga Hilton
The Saratoga Hilton
#17 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
35 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Saratoga Springs
Hilton Garden Inn Saratoga Sprin...
#7 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Inn at Saratoga
The Inn at Saratoga
#8 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
432 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Gideon Putnam
The Gideon Putnam
#9 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
1,205 reviews
0.6 mi away
Saratoga Arms
Saratoga Arms
#2 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Saratoga Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Saratoga Springs

Address: 232 Broadway, Rt. 9, Saratoga Springs, NY 12866-4253
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Saratoga Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#4 Business Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#9 Romantic Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#10 Family Hotel in Saratoga Springs
Price Range: $145 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Saratoga Springs 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a video tour of our hotel. The Holiday Inn Hotel Saratoga Springs is a full service hotel & conference center located in the historic downtown district of Saratoga Springs, a short walk to shopping, great restaurants & entertaining nightspots. We are close to all major attractions and within walking distance to the historic Saratoga Race Course and the Canfield Casino, Saratoga Spring's most popular wedding venue. Bookmakers Restaurant and Lounge serves breakfast, lunch and dinner and offers American cuisine as well as light offerings. Breakfast buffets are available during the summer months, on Sundays & Holidays. Banquet and meeting accommodations are offered for groups of 10 to 800 people in 6 spacious rooms. The historic Congress Park adjoins to the hotel property... ask about a park side room. Our indoor pool and heated outdoor pool complex is a popular favorite for families and sunbathers. Keep fit in our 24-hour exercise facility. Free high-speed internet access and Wi-Fi is available in guest rooms, Bookmakers Restaurant, all meeting rooms and even the pool areas! Our 24-hour business service center is open for coping, faxing, internet use and all business needs! We offer free courtesy van service within 5 miles of the hotel to our convention center, area businesses & attractions and the Saratoga Amtrak/Bus Station. Enjoy seasonal dining on our Broadway patio complete with firepit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Saratoga Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Saratoga Springs Hotel Saratoga Springs
Saratoga Springs Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing