We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's a tired holiday inn.......”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Saratoga Springs
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in Saratoga Springs
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“It's a tired holiday inn.......”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

Saratoga is expensive so the HI was we thought a safe bet for our family. Well, it is slightly less expensive, but the step down in quality wasn't worth the savings. Rooms are VERY small, which is fine for 2 people but not good for 4. Bathroom was tiny. It's just an old hotel-- there's no way around it. Well located and staff was reasonably friendly. Breakfast was basic and what you would expect.

I'd pay more for a little more space.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FuerteUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Saratoga Springs, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear FuerteUSA,

Thank you for taking the time to relay your comments regarding our property during your recent stay. I'm delighted to know that you like our location and found our staff friendly. I am sorry we were not able to exceed or at least be at par with your expectation. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    196
    53
    24
    19
See reviews for
105
142
31
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

This Holiday Inn has a beautiful park "Congress" Park, right behind it, making it convenient to walk a dog.
But racing season which starts yeterday, July 20, gets a bit crowded and parking becomes a bit inconvenient, though the hotel has plenty of parking and if they run out, all you do is go to the front desk and they will make sure you get parked.
There are many very, very good restaurants, very nearby and down the Broadway strip. There are trendy shops, plenty of art, many museums, and the exciting horse races.
I experienced 98 degree heat and humidity this week and therefore could not do much with my very fury dog.

Room Tip: I was traveling with my dog so they gave me a ground floor room where they try to put all people wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ConanJana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

Stayed here overnight for a party that would be happening in the hotel. Very nice room, but small. No extra space for sure. Flat screen TV. nice. My girlfriend who was hosting the party got upgraded to a suite for free and it was huge. The reason I couldn't give it 5 stars is the parking is ridiculous. Not nearly enough spaces for the amount of people staying here. There were some spaces off limits because of red cones and when I asked about it my question was just ignored. (Later on the cones were removed and these spots filled)This seemed to be a trend. I later asked about the lack of air conditioning in the hallways to another employee and was also just ignored. They talked to me like I hadn't even asked the question. Air Conditioning also spotty in the party room. This is summer people, you have 100 people dancing, you need good A/C.
Restaurant was reasonably priced and the food was very good. Except for the dessert. My berry tart in the height of berry season was some frozen affair with frozen blueberries on it. Not appetizing. Food at the party was very mixed. Some good some horrible. Very nice employees. I wouldn't rush back but I also wouldn't say don't stay here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cyndy222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

My son and I spent the weekend of March 31st, 2012 here. Excellent on all fronts...from front-desk courtesy to cleanliness to local travel (free shuttle service within a few miles to and from, which was so helpful to us)...and then the fantastic pool. Talk about efficiency: Our room key would not allow us access to the pool...some computer glitch. We went to the front desk; the lovely lady there contacted a member of the maintenance staff; he not only let us into the pool, he adjusted our card so we would have no further problems. It's also in such a great location...walking to a great park (which is pretty much outside the hotel door) and on the main drag...I recommend this to all.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malamumingi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utica , NY
Level Contributor
94 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

A step down from my last stay. Had executive room on end of building and was disappointed in amenities. Advertised with better amenities but had the same tired 1960's soap that you wouldnt wash your pet with. Elevator wasnt working most of the busy afternoon I was there. Pool area is nice and so is the business room with all the items you need to do some busy work on computer. Meal at Bookmakers was decent, they are improving in that department. Very pricey for non-racing season. Go with cheaper if you find it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing pool (summertime)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KayDubya66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth Beach, New Jersey
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Pros - You cannot beat the location of this hotel, right on Broadway and easy walking distance to everything. Rear of hotel backs on to beautiful park. Hotel has free on site parking, easy check in. Rooms were clean, but just average. There is a free shuttle from the hotel that we used to get to SPAC for a concert which was very convenient. Cons - Requested a room on a higher floor away from elevators in hopes of cutting down noise problem. Still heard the conversation and baby crying quite clearly in the next room on the second night of our stay. Oh well....next time I'll bring ear plugs.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Debbie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

I experienced no problems really with the hotel, but the appearance of the rooms could be updated. I overheard (clearly) a conversation from another room through the bathroom airvent, so that was a bit sketchy. For a business stay of one night, no problems recommending. If I were to bring my family, I might find other lodging.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank THUNDARR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saratoga Springs hotels
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratoga Springs
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratog...
#2 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Gideon Putnam
The Gideon Putnam
#6 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,131 reviews
0.6 mi away
Saratoga Arms
Saratoga Arms
#1 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pavilion Grand Hotel
Pavilion Grand Hotel
#3 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Inn at Saratoga
The Inn at Saratoga
#7 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Saratoga Springs
Hilton Garden Inn Saratoga Sprin...
#9 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Saratoga Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Saratoga Springs

Property: Holiday Inn Saratoga Springs
Address: 232 Broadway, Rt. 9, Saratoga Springs, NY 12866-4253
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Saratoga Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#4 Green Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#9 Romantic Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#10 Family Hotel in Saratoga Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Saratoga Springs 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a video tour of our hotel. The Holiday Inn Hotel Saratoga Springs is a full service hotel & conference center located in the historic downtown district of Saratoga Springs, a short walk to shopping, great restaurants & entertaining nightspots. We are close to all major attractions and within walking distance to the historic Saratoga Race Course and the Canfield Casino, Saratoga Spring's most popular wedding venue. Bookmakers Restaurant and Lounge serves breakfast, lunch and dinner and offers American cuisine as well as light offerings. Breakfast buffets are available during the summer months, on Sundays & Holidays. Banquet and meeting accommodations are offered for groups of 10 to 800 people in 6 spacious rooms. The historic Congress Park adjoins to the hotel property... ask about a park side room. Our indoor pool and heated outdoor pool complex is a popular favorite for families and sunbathers. Keep fit in our 24-hour exercise facility. Free high-speed internet access and Wi-Fi is available in guest rooms, Bookmakers Restaurant, all meeting rooms and even the pool areas! Our 24-hour business service center is open for coping, faxing, internet use and all business needs! We offer free courtesy van service within 5 miles of the hotel to our convention center, area businesses & attractions and the Saratoga Amtrak/Bus Station. Enjoy seasonal dining on our Broadway patio complete with firepit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Saratoga Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Saratoga Springs Hotel Saratoga Springs
Saratoga Springs Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing