We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great basic hotel, but experience was spoilt by petty theft” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Saratoga Springs

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holiday Inn Saratoga Springs
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in Saratoga Springs
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great basic hotel, but experience was spoilt by petty theft”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

Really great location, walking distance to everything, clean rooms with new bedding. Lovely bar downstairs, open hearth with real fire right outside the bar - nice touch. Decent indoor pool with piles of clean towels at all times of the day. A free 5-mile shuttle upon request came in handy when we needed to get to the railway station. On the downside: pretty shabby hallways and a really tiny swimming pool in the courtyard under constant scrutiny of those staying in the rooms with pool view. But I was really pissed when I realized that someone had been rummaging in my make-up bag and my half-used eyeshadow set and mascara went missing in action! I can't imagine someone in their right mind could be tempted by used make-up, but the cleaning staff member must have thought otherwise. I honestly felt too silly to report such petty theft to the hotel management, but probably should have. Luckily we didn't leave any valuables in the room, so beware should you choose to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kmagzoum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Saratoga Springs, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Dear kmagzoum,

Thank you for taking time to post your comments. It is nice to know that you liked our location and found our room accommodations comfortable. I regret the petty theft incident that happened during your stay. I understand the discomfort this caused and I want to assure you that this will be looked into.

Again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    192
    53
    24
    19
See reviews for
104
141
30
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

I stayed at this hotel while attending a conference. I was pleasantly surprised that the hotel was nestled in the quaint town of Saratoga Springs. Many restaurants, high end retail stores and a beautiful park were all within walking distance. One evening I returned to the hotel and the parking lot was full. Apparently sometimes people use their lot to avoid paying for parking in town. Because I was in a walking cast, I was not able to park far from the hotel. I went in and spoke to the desk attendant. She immediately assured me that there would be no problem getting me a space. She got on the radio and they moved one of the work trucks to allow me to use the parking space.

Room Tip: I had a room on the first floor. It was convenient to the pool and near the back of the hotel. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lonnie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Ohio
Level Contributor
98 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

We stayed at the Saratoga Springs HI for a quick getaway. The housekeeping staff were very friendly and helpful. They made us feel like welcome guests in their ‘home’. While there, the staff easily handled several wedding parties, a group of youth sports, and several families with dogs & children. We were especially grateful that the HI not only accepted our dog, but welcomed her to stay. The HI backs a city park, which is perfect for families with dogs. We think one of the other families with a dog did not ‘pick up’ while in the park, which is a shame. This lack of courtesy gives all dog owners a bum reputation.

We ate at the HI patio, and the food was good and reasonably priced. Get the Saratoga chips, and save them in fridge for the next day, they age wonderfully. Our room was ground level, poolside. Given the numerous events, the hotel was clean & overall quiet. We think the sink had a small leak, but was minor enough to not worry us.

HI, thanks for a very nice vacation!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lisaMfromHudson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Ridgeville, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

Hotel is most convenient for shopping and dining in Saratoga! The rooms were clean and comfortable although extremely small bathroom. We were on third floor and dealt with a great deal of noise from room above, after midnight, for 2 of the 3 nights. Lounge and outside dining was pleasant. Hotel staff seemed very friendly but not very efficient. The hotel was overpriced in my estimation for mid-May weekend booking.

Room Tip: Top floor is best bet to avoid overhead noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dshrelyea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berkeley
Level Contributor
76 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

I liked the layout and the pool. It is very conveniently located, near lots of restaurants. The staff is very attentive, although I was there when there was a big convention. They handled it well.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank konadog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

Clean room. bed comfortable. Bathroom remodeled but not totally with old door and molding, light switches and really low ceiling. slow drain in tub. Pets allowed in hotel. Had barking dog next door. Could hear people talking in next room. location of hotel was good for walking to dinner. Hotel staff nice. Booked through hotel and breakfast was not included in price. Free wifi was nice. Thought hotel was fine for weekend stay in Saratoga however alittle overpriced for the quality( in relation to what our group was paying at other Saratoga hotels, same days) $180/night non holiday weekend in May.

Room Tip: avoid 1st floor rooms. friend happier with her room on fourth floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NyLilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2012

A beautiful luxurious property in a convenient location.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BigDiDi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saratoga Springs hotels
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratoga Springs
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratog...
#2 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Gideon Putnam
The Gideon Putnam
#6 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,096 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pavilion Grand Hotel
Pavilion Grand Hotel
#4 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Saratoga
The Inn at Saratoga
#7 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
0.6 mi away
Saratoga Arms
Saratoga Arms
#1 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Saratoga Springs
Hilton Garden Inn Saratoga Sprin...
#9 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Saratoga Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Saratoga Springs

Property: Holiday Inn Saratoga Springs
Address: 232 Broadway, Rt. 9, Saratoga Springs, NY 12866-4253
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Saratoga Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#4 Business Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#9 Romantic Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#10 Family Hotel in Saratoga Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Saratoga Springs 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a video tour of our hotel. The Holiday Inn Hotel Saratoga Springs is a full service hotel & conference center located in the historic downtown district of Saratoga Springs, a short walk to shopping, great restaurants & entertaining nightspots. We are close to all major attractions and within walking distance to the historic Saratoga Race Course and the Canfield Casino, Saratoga Spring's most popular wedding venue. Bookmakers Restaurant and Lounge serves breakfast, lunch and dinner and offers American cuisine as well as light offerings. Breakfast buffets are available during the summer months, on Sundays & Holidays. Banquet and meeting accommodations are offered for groups of 10 to 800 people in 6 spacious rooms. The historic Congress Park adjoins to the hotel property... ask about a park side room. Our indoor pool and heated outdoor pool complex is a popular favorite for families and sunbathers. Keep fit in our 24-hour exercise facility. Free high-speed internet access and Wi-Fi is available in guest rooms, Bookmakers Restaurant, all meeting rooms and even the pool areas! Our 24-hour business service center is open for coping, faxing, internet use and all business needs! We offer free courtesy van service within 5 miles of the hotel to our convention center, area businesses & attractions and the Saratoga Amtrak/Bus Station. Enjoy seasonal dining on our Broadway patio complete with firepit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Saratoga Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Saratoga Springs Hotel Saratoga Springs
Saratoga Springs Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing