We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible food, way too expensive”

Limoncello Ristorante
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
113 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Terrible food, way too expensive”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

My girlfriend and I spent the weekend in Saratoga and had dinner at Limoncello hoping for a nice date. The first thing we noticed was that the service was very intrusive. My veal with wallnuts was overcooked and not tender - the vegetables overcooked and the mashed potatoes (what italian restaurant serves mashed potatoes!)...were uneatable. My girlfriend had Lobster ravioli with scallops. The ravioli were undercooked - and clearly not freshly made and the sauce was very fishy and really unappetizing. We had the Parmasan Eggplant to begin and it was ok - although the portion was tiny.

Everything was served way too fast and the waiters kept interrupting us.

When the bill came we both had to do a double take - it was about twice of what we expected for the kind of food we had - the unmarked specials were clearly more expensive than the rest of the items on the menu, and for what we had it was way, way overpriced.

There seems to be great restaurants in Saratoga, this was not one of them.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LavenderLemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    306
    85
    43
    25
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wilton, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Was missing something...”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

I am from one of the old school Italian neighborhoods of Chicago where grandma cooks in the back of the kitchen and her sons, daughters, and grandchildren keep the front of the house - so I get really excited when i get to go to an Italian restaurant I've yet to try. But Limoncello was way too expensive for what we were served. Plus, my group wasn't too crazy with the limited menu selection. The setting was too bourgeois for our liking and I've never set foot back in there. I do wish them the best of luck though - the service was great!

Helpful?
Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Limoncello, a touch of Italia in Saratoga”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We visited Saratoga for a nice Saturday evening date night, bar-hopping and ending up with our reservation at Limoncello Ristorante. We had been there in the summer (track season in full bloom) and enjoyed the atmosphere at an outdoor table for alfresco dining. I loved the bar, a cozy warm spot where they feature their own Limoncello. Our host was warm and welcoming, and when we complimented him on the carbonara (it was as good as any that we had in Italy), he told us he was from Roma; aha...no wonder!! The food was outstanding, service fantastic in the hectic atmosphere, the ambience is Tuscan, and we will definitely be back!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank girlsingr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorhees, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Nice Place”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

The food and atmosphere are good. The service was excellent. This is a nice place to have a good basic Italian meal at a reasonable price

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
106 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Menu was very limited and highly priced. Wait staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Food was okay but certainly not worth what it cost.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Limoncello Ristorante also viewed

Saratoga Springs, NY
 
Saratoga Springs, NY
 

Been to Limoncello Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing