We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Union Gables - No need to stay anywhere else”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Union Gables Mansion Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Easton, CT
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Union Gables - No need to stay anywhere else”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

This beautifully renovated, historic mansion B & B, in the heart of Saratoga, is absolutely worth your stay. The rooms are quaint and comfortable and decorated with antiques. The innkeepers are friendly and willing to answer any and all questions. The breakfast superb. We loved it and will absolutely stay again. No need to look anywhere else (unless, of course, they are full!). Book early.

Room Tip: They are putting in a pool this spring!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    25
    10
    4
    4
See reviews for
48
184
10
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amherst, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Spent a weekend in early April this year.... which was perfect in that town was not too crowded, the weather lovely and gratefully rooms available at this beautiful, comfortable and very friendly B&B. Tom and Barbara (who are the owners, inn keepers, caretakers, creators and staff!) are very welcoming in a way that is sincere, light hearted and friendly- immediately making you feel comfortable in this gorgeous mansion. Tom has been lovingly restoring this inn so that it feels both special and comfortable- the level of detail is really impressive. We LOVED our rooms- stayed in the Emily one night and the Linda the following which allowed us to experience different spaces within this massive house.

Waking up on Sunday morning in an octagonal room in a huge king sized 4 poster bed, with three of the original weighted windows open to the cross breezes, the propane fire place keeping the room just the right temp looking at all the period perfect details of the woodwork, the furnishings and knowing that a wonderful, freshly prepared breakfast awaited us downstairs was one of those perfect moments in life. And yes, you can sit in bed at night and have romantic and cozy fire burning in your own fireplace in your room- which can be turned down or off without even leaving your bed!

The price was more than fair for the quality of the service, rooms and amenities, which included freshly baked chocolate chip cookies in the entry foyer in the afternoon, help yourself white or red wine in the living room in the evening (there were 2 more massive fire places lit to plop yourself down in front of in any one of the many comfortable seating areas) and a buffet breakfast with custom made omelettes or pancakes to order.

I heard you can even bring your friendly pet.... though I think this is a wonderful place to get away from your friendly pets, and kids and life... even if just for a night or two.

We will definitely go back.... and definitely recommend that if you are in the Saratoga Springs area that you make the Union Gables your destination point. Tell them Robin and Peter sent you!

Room Tip: We stayed in two rooms, the Linda and the Emily- and both were fantastic. You can see on their websi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobinJ1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin Square, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We rented the carriage house at Union Gables for our honeymoon - what a fabulous experience! The entire mansion, the gardens and the grounds are gorgeous and meticulously maintained. The carriage house was newly and beautifully renovated and was perfect! Gourmet, homemade breakfast every morning was delivered to our place. We dined on a charming, private patio. The location is ideal as it is right in between the track and Broadway.

Accommodations were very clean and updated yet the historical value of the venue was not compromised during the renovation. The owners were beyond gracious and congenial!

We could not write enough great things about Union Gables and we feel confident in recommending this bead and breakfast to anyone! It is truly an amazing place!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I loved absolutely everything about this property.

I came to Saratoga Springs for a weekend with my boyfriend and we rented the Henry Suite which is just behind the main house in separate space. We had a long drive up on a Friday evening so I let the owners know we wouldn't be arriving until late and they gave me instructions on retrieving our keys. The B&B was extremely easy to find, and the room was breathtaking - literally! I turned on the lights in the suite and gasped. It's so big and open and *beautifully* furnished. The suite has a full kitchen, a washer and dryer and a huge soft bed with electric outlets on both sides, perfect for overnight phone charging!

Breakfast was simple but delicious. I had coffee, fruit and some eggs. We sat by the fireplace and ate before we went out for the day. We came home to the suite with a bottle of wine and grabbed board games out of the main house. Never heard a peep in our room at night. In fact, I rarely saw the other guests despite overhearing they were fully booked. It felt like we were there alone.

Totally hassle free check-in and check-out, very helpful owners, and the icing on the cake is that it is a very well kept property. It was such a special weekend, I'd love to return.

Room Tip: Henry Suite is secluded and very spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LastYearsLessons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, New York
1 review
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We are parents of a toddler and wanted a weekend away to relax. We found the Union Gables comfortable, quiet and welcoming. Inn-keepers were friendly, breakfast was delicious and we loved the remote-controlled fireplace in our room. We were only a few blocks from downtown Saratoga with all of its amazing restaurants and shops. We would highly recommend it to anyone looking to get away and hope to some back and stay again in the future.

Room Tip: Really enjoyed the use of the remote-controlled fireplace in our room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piermont, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed March 5, 2013

My fiance was in Saratoga for a Conference and we tacked on an extra [Saturday] night at this wonderful bed and breakfast. Our first trip to Saratoga Springs, but surely not our last and Union Gables will certainly be our first pick! The location is perfect and within walking distance to anything Saratoga can offer, fabulous downtown dining to shopping to dog parks! And it's pet friendly! (There are select rooms that do not allow for pets so be sure to check out the room description). We stayed in Bill and I would definitely recommend it. Comfy bed, warm and cozy fireplace, and very clean. We enjoyed a glass of complimentary wine that was offered downstairs, while out on the room's private balcony. Tom was incredibly knowledgeable and seems to be passionate about Saratoga. Between the fresh baked cookies we came home to in the evening or the cooked to order breakfast, the hosts of the house love what they do and it shows! Definitely recommend and will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BondGirl2Be
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, MA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I agree with the other comments here about the gracious atmosphere, the delightful home-made cookies, and the great location. However, there were a few "off notes" during our stay, specifically: there was no turn-down service, which to me feels so unwelcoming--as though I'd come to stay at a great aunt's home and she'd forgotten she had visitors. There was a coffee maker in the room, but no coffee. Lastly, the tap water had a decidedly sulphur taste and, while it might be medicinally beneficial, it is not to everyone's taste. A complimentary bottle of Saratoga water would have been a nice touch.

We paid close to $300 for our room, and for this price I would expect a bit more hospitality.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara W, Owner at Union Gables Mansion Inn, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thank you for writing and we appreciate your comments very much. We take every comment to heart and make an effort to provide excellence. First, it is true that we do not offer a 'Turn down service'. In the beginning of running the Inn, we would provide 'Turn down service' and an extreme majority expressed that their privacy was invaded. We will take it under consideration that we will provide this service upon a guest’s request.

Upon everyone’s arrival at check-in, we explain that we have coffee available in the main lobby from 7:00 am until 11:00 am. We are also looking into having coffee available 24 hours a day. Upon a guest’s request, we supply coffee for the coffee makers. However, because of your comment, we will begin to supply coffee in Suites with coffee makers.

We have filtered water, which we explain at check in, is in our main lobby. Our key entry main lobby is open to guests 24 hours a day. In our efforts to be a green Inn, we installed the filtration system to reduce our footprint by not having glass and plastic bottles that need to be recycled. Our tap water is supplied by the Town of Saratoga Springs.

Again, thank you for your comments because your experience here is important to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saratoga Springs hotels
1.7 mi away
The Gideon Putnam
The Gideon Putnam
#8 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
1,183 reviews
0.5 mi away
Saratoga Arms
Saratoga Arms
#1 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
587 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Inn at Saratoga
The Inn at Saratoga
#6 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratoga Springs
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratog...
#2 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
816 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Saratoga Hilton
The Saratoga Hilton
#15 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
1,255 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pavilion Grand Hotel
Pavilion Grand Hotel
#5 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Union Gables Mansion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Union Gables Mansion Inn

Property: Union Gables Mansion Inn
Address: 55 Union Avenue, Saratoga Springs, NY 12866-4331
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Saratoga Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Saratoga Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Union Gables Mansion Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Proudly voted 'Best of the Saratoga Region' for the past six years in a row. Beautifully preserved, romantic hidden gem of the past from the Victorian era with modern comforts of gas fireplaces, heated outdoor swimming pool, complimentary wireless internet, high definition cable television on 43 inch flat screen televisions, and luxurious robes and amenities. Spacious guestrooms with king beds, hardwood floors, antiques and fireplaces. Guests at Union Gables enjoy a freshly prepared breakfast each morning, and complimentary wine, appetizers and cookies each evening. Enjoy the spacious front porch and one acre of gardens with sitting areas and fountains. Located two blocks from Congress Park, just an eight minute stroll to Downtown Saratoga Springs and one block to the Historic Saratoga Racecourse on Union Avenue. Some pet friendly rooms available, and Suites with kitchens, living rooms, and multiple bedrooms for longer term stays. Inquire about our sister property of Suites at the Alexander House for Track rentals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Union Gables Mansion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Union Gables Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing