We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A first class operation”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Saratoga Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Saratoga Arms
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels in Saratoga Springs
Certificate of Excellence
West Simsbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
105 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“A first class operation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

We did not get to stay at Saratoga Arms but I had to write about the wonderful staff at the hotel, so had to check off a few things that I honestly don't know about.. food, etc. Friends of ours who live in town highly recommended the hotel to us so I know it would have been wonderful.

We had reservations to stay at Saratoga Arms for our anniversary and also to celebrate my husband's 80th birthday. A week before our stay my husband ended up in the hospital with appendicitis, at 80 years old. The Saratoga Arms owners were so kind about their cancellation policy when I called with our problem. We look forward to trying again in the Spring. Thanks to the Saratoga Arms folks, I appreciate your kindness.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MimiSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    499
    49
    9
    1
    6
See reviews for
73
321
15
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

I used to stay at the Adelphi until I discovered this gem. A charming, impeccably-maintained country inn. The owners and staff go out of their way to make my stay a pleasure -- from making reservations (and recommendations) at local restaurants to providing interesting nuggets about Saratoga itself and my personal passion, horseracing.

I have seen how they welcome each guest personally at breakfast, deliciously cooked to order and served at your table, not to mention a buffet table laden with goodies. (Included in the price of your room)

They are kind enough to arrange to give me the same room every year (I call it My Room).
It's like my home away from home.

I would never stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bj K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

I am a long time fan of The Smith Family. They are professional inn-keepers and do a wonderful job keeping their guests happy. All their rooms are tastefully decorated, whether they be suites or smaller rooms. They have just thought of everything. Chef Noel prepares a sumptious breakfast every morning and my tummy is full as I go off to the races. Apres races, it is delightful to sit on the front porch with all the wicker and geraniums and meet with friends. I look forward to my return visit.

Room Tip: try not to face noisy Broadway
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adele r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod, MA
Level Contributor
175 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed in 2008 and it seems to have gotten shabby since then. In our $600/night room, (Traver's weekend) the bedspread and drapes seemed dated; the vanity mirror was rusted, the toilet seat wasn't on securely, the matress wasn't new or top quality, the pillows were uncomfortable, the covered porch wasn't swept. We enjoy Select Registry hotels and this isn't in the same league.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Davcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett2, General Manager at Saratoga Arms, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
This guest made an online booking for a king room at the racing season nightly rate of $469.00. Saratoga Arms is a small family run boutique hotel that prides itself on customer service and satisfaction. We believe it is appropriate to address each of the above issues:

-All of our room interiors are professionally designed with custom designer fabrics, quality linens and hand-benched furnishings -- combining a true Saratoga atmosphere with all the modern amenities of a concierge hotel.

-There is always someone on duty round the clock who is well trained to happily assist a guest for any request or issue.

-Toilet seats do occasionally come loose and a quick call to the desk would have remedied this immediately.

There are six Pacific Coast pillows -- a top of the line brand -- on every king size bed of various size fills and hypoallergenic. We also have a generous supply of extra pillows upon request.

-Our mattresses are premier quality Sealy Posturepedic Dynasty Plush mattresses, which are hospitality grade, and not available in stores. We have received so many compliments from guests that we’ve instituted a Mattress Purchase Program directly through the manufacturer and many guests have ordered them for their private residences.

-We missed the tiny rust spot on the vanity makeup mirror, for which we apologize and have since replaced.

-Our beautiful wrap-around porch is surrounded by large fabulous hanging baskets of impatiens. Housekeeping tends to the porch throughout the day, but if it is breezy, nature sometimes thwarts our best of efforts and a few petals may blow around a bit.

My family and our entire staff are grateful that so many of our first time and many repeat guests have taken time to extend their compliments on TripAdvisor. They continually recognize our Saratoga Arms Hotel as a highly rated, “uniquely top-notch,” and beautifully maintained boutique hotel. We proudly display the difficult to earn “Select Registry” designation and continually strive to offer superior guest experiences.

Amy Smith
Saratoga Arms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Illinois
Level Contributor
110 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed at the Saratoga Arms for a long weekend to see the races and enjoy the town. Highlights include: a very nice breakfast, a quiet and spacious room (at the back of the hotel,) and the easy proximity to the restaurants and fun of Saratoga Springs.
The issues are minimal---only 8 parking spots in a lot across the street; takes a little work to get your luggage into the hotel (use the side door.)
Be sure to request a room in the back of the hotel to avoid the road noise from Broadway.
The people at this hotel (from top to bottom) were unfailingly positive, helpful, and pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Media, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

We were lucky enough to have another hotel foul up our reservation that had been made 4 months earlier, and we found Saratoga Arms on very short notice. As such, we didn't have the opportunity to select one of the higher end rooms, but the room we stayed in was very clean and comfortable, and everything we needed. The location is perfect, right in the heart of downtown restaurants and shopping and easy to get to the race track. The staff was extremely pleasant and helpful. They made restaurant reservations for us, even at one restaurant that doesn't take reservations from the public. The pastries at breakfast are reason enough to stay here. The Saratoga Arms turned what started out as a stressful experience, into one of the best long weekend get-aways we've ever had.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edwin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

My daughter and I stayed at the Saratoga Arms while looking at Skidmore. We arrived after a long day.The hotel gave us a large,quiet room in the back. I asked the hotel to book a massage which was very relaxing-When we came down to leave for dinner the owner of the hotel offered to walk us to our restaurant - It was a very busy night as the horse races were starting the next day.
She was so kind and thoughtful-I have stayed at very nice hotels and the only place that had such wonderful service i can remember was the Cipriani Hotel in Venice.The next morning i was able to meet other family members that worked in the hotel-They were all helpful and welcoming.At breakfast everyone's wishes were met.I would return to the hotel in a heartbeat-it was clean,quiet,
served delicious food and had excellent service.

Room Tip: I liked our room in the back with a tiny balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlexandraB60713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saratoga Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Pavilion Grand Hotel
Pavilion Grand Hotel
#3 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratoga Springs
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratog...
#2 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Gideon Putnam
The Gideon Putnam
#6 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Inn at Saratoga
The Inn at Saratoga
#8 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
1.6 mi away
Saratoga Casino Hotel
Saratoga Casino Hotel
#15 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Saratoga Hilton
The Saratoga Hilton
#13 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saratoga Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saratoga Arms

Property: Saratoga Arms
Address: 497 Broadway, Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Saratoga Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#1 Business Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#2 Family Hotel in Saratoga Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Saratoga Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an award winning Saratoga Springs luxury hotel located in the heart of beautiful downtown steps to the Thoroughbred Races, shopping, restaurants, and museums. Our Saratoga Springs bed & breakfast features 31 individually appointed rooms with fireplaces & whirlpool tubs, combining historic elegance and modern amenities. A delicious full breakfast, Wi-Fi & concierge service is included at our romantic Saratoga Springs lodging. Experience why the Saratoga Arms stand apart from all other hotels in Saratoga Springs, NY! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Saratoga Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saratoga Arms Hotel Saratoga Springs
Saratoga Arms Springs
Saratoga Arms Hotel Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing