We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely and very comfortable beds”
Review of Saratoga Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Saratoga Arms
Ranked #1 of 33 Hotels in Saratoga Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Lovely and very comfortable beds”
Reviewed February 23, 2008

I wrote this review shortly after our stay at the Saratoga Arms last August, during racing season and am sorry for the delay in submitting it.

The hotel has the feel of a large private home or upscale boarding house, which is what it was (although maybe not upscale) before it was renovated and turned into a hotel a few years ago. Lots of attention to detail and many nice touches (like the blue-bottled seltzer water). The bed was like heaven, and I slept soundly every night. Breakfast was served in an elegant dining room, where the walls were lined with President Grant memorabilia and tables were set with white cloth napkins and tablecloths. Selection was not large, but the food was delicious and more than adequate.

The race course is about a mile away, a pleasant walk through residential Saratoga Springs on a nice day. Broadway, with its many shops and great restaurants, is right outside the door.

I don’t know whether or not the fact that the room didn’t have food storage capacity (no refrigerator or microwave) is a negative. We did bring food in one evening from a grocery store after spending the day at the Saratoga Battlefield and Lake George and could have used both, but I’m from a generation that never expected half the conveniences hotels provide these days. We could hear the people above us walking across the floor and flushing the toilet, but I chalked that up to being a part of the “boarding house” experience; it was infrequent and didn’t disturb us.

There was one definite negative, though. We never knew whether we would get one of the hotel’s eight designated parking spots upon returning to the hotel. We usually ended up on the side street, which had no-time-limit public parking, but on a couple of occasions we had to park illegally in a reserved spot and then watch out our window for something to open up. I suppose during racing season parking is difficult everywhere in Saratoga Springs, but for what we paid we really did expect a place to park.

We had a pleasant stay, but this is a very pricey place during racing season, and when we go to Saratoga Springs again it would be a toss-up as to whether we’d stay at the Saratoga Arms or at one of the bed-and-breakfasts even closer to the race track.

  • Liked — The comfortable room and bed
  • Disliked — The poor parking facilities
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Leonharda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    503
    49
    9
    1
    6
See reviews for
73
324
16
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doylestown
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2008

We attended a Dance Weekend in Saratoga Springs and just needed a place to sleep... were we ever surprised when we discovered this wonderful Inn. First the visual when we walked in was like we stepped back in time. The furnishings were exquisite in every detail. We were greeted by a friendly, helpful staff.
The room was a nice size, larger than most and also well furnished. The bed was comfortable, the room was clean, quality robes were provided.
The Inn has a small workout room and two massage therapists. I received the best massage by a well qualified person. It saved the weekend for me since I overdid the dancing.
And then to top it off, they served a delicious breakfast. Staying at the Saratoga Arms was more fun than the entire dance festivities!!!

  • Liked — I felt they could not do enough for us...they even went out and bought a new coffee maker for our room
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeggieDancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2007

we stayed at the Saratoga Arms over New Years Eve of 2007 and found this Inn to be a very pleasant establishment. The owners are there always making helpful suggestions. The room was large, very clean and well appointed. The breakfast was very good and nicely served. The location is perfect if you just want to stroll around town.
i would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who needs to be in the area.

  • Liked — the owner
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kyamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburyport, MA
1 review
Reviewed December 12, 2007

We recently stayed at the Saratoga Arms for one Saturday last September, while in town for a wedding and had a very pleasant stay. The staff was wonderful -- everyone was attentive, helpful, and warm. The decor was clean, beautiful, and elegant without being overly frilly foo-foo like so many of the other hotels and b&b's in the area. Our room was in the back in a new section of the hotel. Our room was spacious and well-appointed, and the beds were very, very comfortable. We had asked for a room in the back hoping that that it would be quiet, and quiet it was! The breakfast they served us was a REAL breakfast -- eggs and potatoes made-to-order and a buffet of other goodies. I'm a very picky eater, and I can tell you, it was delicious! They also have muffins and coffee available at the front for a snack when you need it. I loved having coffee out on the front porch and watching the passers-by. And it was fun to be able to step out the door and be in the middle of all the downtown shops and restaurants. If I return to Saratoga Springs, I know this is where I want to stay!!

  • Liked — Attractive, clean, comfortable, and great location!
  • Disliked — Two-night stay requirement. We waited until the last minute to make reservation, because we were only going to be in town 1 day.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueSurfNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
1 review
Reviewed October 23, 2007

I recently hosted a conference at the Saratoga Arms with some 15 attendees from across the country.

The Saratoga Arms is a beautiful bed and breakfast in the heart of downtown Saratoga. The charm and appeal of the hotel is further exemplified by the hotel staff. They truly make you feel as if they are working for you and are always available and thinking ahead about what you will need next. Any problems that arose were taken care of quickly and in a professional manner. Each attendee walked away raving about the bed and breakfast and what downtown Saratoga has to offer.

I highly recommend the hotel for a small conference or an individual stay. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Trenan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2007

I stayed at the Saratoga Arms Hotel in June while looking at colleges
with my daughter. We had a huge room, a really nice bathroom, great linens and pillows.....it was all good.

The only thing I can say that put a damper on our visit was we arrived around 7:30 in the evening and there was a woman on duty who was a bit of a "space case". It took us quite a while to check in as she was running around, answering the phone, getting the wrong key for our room etc. etc. And, like that wasn't enough, she gave us a terrible recommendation for dinner that night. If we hadn't had to deal with her, I think the stay would have been pretty much flawless.
This hotel has a breakfast offered each morning which in our opinion was sort of heavy and a bit old fashioned....I think they offered eggs, bacon, bread etc. etc. the morning we were there. We would have
been much happier with some choice of berries, yogurt , maybe a bagel, but they only offer one breakfast each morning so we just had melon and coffee.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetogoonvacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sayreville, NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2007

We recently stayed at the Saratoga Arms for the third time in a year. "Kudos" to this lovely property and its staff for always providing a consistently excellent experience for us. Accommodations are superb, the tastefully appointed rooms are immaculate, the property is maintained flawlessly, the staff is warm and friendly, and always ready to offer guidance with getting around the town. Kathleen and Amy are marvelous. I wouldn't miss the opportunity to stay at this outstanding property and spend some quality time in Saratoga Springs. The city offers an enormous array of things to do from strolling along the avenue exploring the quaint shops ... to visiting the Racino ... to dancing at the new discoteque "Vapors". Perfect vacation or getaway.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank readytogo78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saratoga Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Pavilion Grand Hotel
Pavilion Grand Hotel
#4 of 33 in Saratoga Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratoga Springs
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratog...
#2 of 33 in Saratoga Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Gideon Putnam
The Gideon Putnam
#6 of 33 in Saratoga Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Inn at Saratoga
The Inn at Saratoga
#8 of 33 in Saratoga Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
1.6 mi away
Saratoga Casino Hotel
Saratoga Casino Hotel
#15 of 33 in Saratoga Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Saratoga Hilton
The Saratoga Hilton
#13 of 33 in Saratoga Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saratoga Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saratoga Arms

Property: Saratoga Arms
Address: 497 Broadway, Saratoga Springs, NY 12866-2206
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Saratoga Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#1 Spa Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#2 Family Hotel in Saratoga Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Saratoga Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an award winning Saratoga Springs luxury hotel located in the heart of beautiful downtown steps to the Thoroughbred Races, shopping, restaurants, and museums. Our Saratoga Springs bed & breakfast features 31 individually appointed rooms with fireplaces & whirlpool tubs, combining historic elegance and modern amenities. A delicious full breakfast, Wi-Fi & concierge service is included at our romantic Saratoga Springs lodging. Experience why the Saratoga Arms stand apart from all other hotels in Saratoga Springs, NY! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Saratoga Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saratoga Arms Hotel Saratoga Springs
Saratoga Arms Springs
Saratoga Arms Hotel Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing