We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”
Review of Saratoga Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Saratoga Arms
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Saratoga Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
1 review
“Great place to stay!”
Reviewed October 17, 2011

My parents and I had a wonderful stay at the Saratoga Arms when we visited my son at Skidmore. Its a charming, unique place and everyone really makes you feel at home. The breakfasts are delicious too!

Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Shernaz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    521
    50
    9
    1
    6
See reviews for
76
335
16
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

Saratoga Arms is our only choice while visiting Saratoga Springs, NY. We have two children who attend Skidmore College, and we visit at least twice each year. Staying at Saratoga Arms is like coming home. The management, made up primarily by the Smith family, are focused on our comfort and satisfaction. Their professionalism, charm and wit combine with a resulting excellent experience. Our room is always fresh and immaculate, and its amenities are great--spa toiletries, luscious robes, blow dryer, thick fluffy towels, wonderful bedding and pillows, and a giant jetted tub. Breakfast, served each morning on linen table cloths, always includes a beautiful buffet, as well as delicious choices prepared by the hotel's chef. The hotel is located in one of the most beautiful buildings on Saratoga Spring's famous main drag, "Broadway." Architecturally, Saratoga Arm's massive front porch is a regular photo op for tourists. The gorgeous brick building is a point of pride for the city. We highly recommend Saratoga Arms!!! Thank you Smith family!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BAMP4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 13, 2011

My three sisters and I get away once a year for a weekend, and this year we chose the Saratoga Arms in Saratoga Springs. It exceeded our expectations by being charming, beautiful, and welcoming in every aspect. The staff treated us like family and the accommodations were perfect! We walked everywhere, used the front porch for a quick lunch between shopping trips, and enjoyed the wonderful breakfast. We'll be back!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank celticfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesboro
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 12, 2011

My adult daughter and I have just had a perfectly delightful stay at the Saratoga Arms. The hotel is charming and the two rooms we had were very comfortable and decorated so well. The added touch of Saratoga Waters was lovely. The location is perfect -- on the north end of Broadway, the main thoroughfare--and the staff was very accommodating and friendly. I am in Saratoga about once a year and plan to make the Saratoga Arms my hotel.

Room Tip: When you call or email the hotel, be specific about your preferences and the very accommodating staf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kherrmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Hope, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

Towards the end of our recent driving-trip, we arrived in Saratoga Springs, NY, a delightful small town where we planned to spend two nights. Having not pre-reserved accomodation, we chose to take the advice of our hotelier in New Hampshire, and try The Saratoga Arms. Since they had a room available for us, that proved to be excellent advice.
The owners, Kathleen and Noel, together with their daughter Amie and an engaging staff , run this 32-room Victorian 'Concierge Hotel' with smooth efficiency , and no shortage of humour!! Their Irish ancestry undoubtedly contributes to the fact that they are thrilled to join you, if invited, on the spacious wide verandah surrounding the front of the property, in order to provide suggestions to enhance your stay. If only we lived a little closer , we would be there more frequently to enjoy more laughs!!
Our room was extremely comfortable, and furnished with luxurious linens and accessories appropriate to the hotel's Victorian past. A bar of Irish Spring soap, prominently displayed by the shower in the lavishly appointed bathroom, was, undoubtedly a humorous 'tongue-in-cheek' reference to their Irish background. It was partnered with a luxurious range of bathroom amenities, sumptuous towels and beautiful, crystal glasses! We wondered how many guests noticed the Ralph Lauren logo on the base? Obviously, the owners realized that their location, in the heart of the restaurant and shopping area of this appealing town, warranted spending whatever might be deemed necessary, in order to enhance the stay of their guests. It certainly worked for us .
Noel is the chef for breakfast which is served until a very civilized 10.00am. We noticed some guests wandering in after that time, and, in true Irish fashion , they were greeted with a warm smile. Aside from the Continental Buffet, a varied full hot breakfast is included in the price of the room. This sumptuous fare should have fully satisfied us until dinner, but we were on vacation, so we had to be easily tempted by various 'goodies' offered at numerous locations on Broadway, the main shopping street that contains a vast number of quality merchants. For the same reason, the side-streets should not be ignored for a source of hidden treasures.
North Broadway is an area of sumptuous historic homes leading upto the grounds of highly respected Skidmore College. The roundtrip stroll along this area covers about one mile, and Kathleen will supply a fascinating outline of the history of each of the homes.
As we reluctantly prepared to leave, Kathleen presented us with some slices of delicious coffee-cake to ensure that we did not get hungry on the drive home. One does not expect such detailed attention from the owner of a 32-room hotel ! That is just the way that they operate. We had a delightful stay, and cannot wait to return. Thank you, so much.

Room Tip: Ample parking facilities are a major'plus'.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TRAVELHAPPY022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2011

Just stayed 3 nights at the Saratoga Arms. It was such a great experience. The hotel is unique in so many ways, the most important is the personal service. As guests, we lacked for nothing. Our room was so comfortable that we were tempted to crank up the A/C and turn on the fireplace - in September when the outdoor temperature was in the 80's! The amenities were top notch, including the bottles of Saratoga sparkling water in the room. Maybe the best part is the breakfast with the Smith family, what incredibly charming hosts. If you're spending time in Saratoga Springs, do it here.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank royaltaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2011

One of Fall's the best kept secrets is the Saratoga Arms Hotel in Saratoga Springs, NY! It's just a short and relaxing AMTRAC ride up the Hudson River from NYC (make sure you sit on the side of the train with the views of the river). I was greeted at Saratoga Arms with a fresh bowl of locally, family grown apples. The wide front porch had many comfortable places to relax, sit and read my Kindle or simply daydream and watch people walk on the main street.

Racing season is over and I could get a reservation to the town's best restaurants without a wait. The information book in the room provides the menus for the best restaurants and I was amazed that there were so many gourmet restaurants within walking distance. The Hotel actually serves an amazing and delicious old fashioned breakfast in the main dining room, but coffee was available earlier, which I desperately needed before my morning walk through Congress Park and up Union Avenue.

The rooms are beautifully and elegantly decorated, with every amenity you can possibly need or want -- including an optional TV screen in my vanity mirror! I scheduled a much needed massage in the Hotel's spa after my afternoon walk up North Broadway to see the exquisite old Mansions from a bygone era. The Hotel is well situated downtown and browsing in the shops and stopping for a cup of coffee or sampling a new shop's many olive oils and imported vinegars was a treat. These oils and vinegars are great Holiday presents to take home.

This small Concierge Hotel is family owned and operated, which translates to pampered care without ever feeling intruded upon. This is the best Hotel in a sweet, yet cosmopolitan town. Don't miss a stay in the Best Kept Secret in Saratoga Springs!

Room Tip: I stayed in the new addition, but I hear the entire hotel was remodel at the same time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhitneyCorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saratoga Springs hotels
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratoga Springs
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratog...
#2 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
816 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Gideon Putnam
The Gideon Putnam
#8 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
1,183 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pavilion Grand Hotel
Pavilion Grand Hotel
#5 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Saratoga Hilton
The Saratoga Hilton
#15 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
1,255 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Inn at Saratoga
The Inn at Saratoga
#6 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
417 reviews
1.6 mi away
Saratoga Casino Hotel
Saratoga Casino Hotel
#10 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saratoga Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saratoga Arms

Property: Saratoga Arms
Address: 497 Broadway, Saratoga Springs, NY 12866-2206
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Saratoga Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#1 Spa Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#1 Business Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#2 Family Hotel in Saratoga Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Saratoga Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an award winning Saratoga Springs luxury hotel located in the heart of beautiful downtown steps to the Thoroughbred Races, shopping, restaurants, and museums. Our Saratoga Springs bed & breakfast features 31 individually appointed rooms with fireplaces & whirlpool tubs, combining historic elegance and modern amenities. A delicious full breakfast, Wi-Fi & concierge service is included at our romantic Saratoga Springs lodging. Experience why the Saratoga Arms stand apart from all other hotels in Saratoga Springs, NY! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Saratoga Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saratoga Arms Hotel Saratoga Springs
Saratoga Arms Springs
Saratoga Arms Hotel Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing