We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a romantic rendezvous”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Batcheller Mansion Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Glens Falls, New York
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“a romantic rendezvous”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We live very close to the Batcheller Mansion Inn, driving past it all the time. It has been a dream to stay, so, on a very snowy night we were happy to have reservations for the George Room. What a beautiful, welcoming home. Our room exceeded our expectations, very large, clean and very well decorated and maintained. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom had a lovely tub. We enjoyed the candles in the fireplace and the snowy view of Congress Park. As we made our way down to breakfast the next morning, the inn keeper, Dan was very accommodating asking what we would like for breakfast, presenting us with some ideas of specialties he liked to make. We were treated to a tour of the mansion after breakfast and loved hearing all about the history and fun details surrounding past owners, architecture, etc. You can tell that Dan loves what he does and it was fun to hear the excitement that he has for the home! It is easy to see why, it is just a gem that we feel very blessed to have experienced first hand!

Room Tip: The George Room was amazing, we would stay there again!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RachaelLeigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    29
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
29
175
6
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga Springs, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We loved our stay at the Batcheller Mansion. Espeically the Grant Room with the big double jacuzzi and the wonderful breakfast to order. Great romantic getaway, though be forewarned: as it's an old building, the walls are rather thin.

Room Tip: Grant Room has a double jacuzzi. George room has a slightly small jacuzzi. Both have king beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Su C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Shokan, New York
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We truly love this place! From the minute you walk in, you feel like you've truly discovered something special. We stayed here last year and had a wonderful time. We generally like to stay in different places, so didn't make a reservation. When we arrived in Town, we just made the left and walked in! We had no desire to look elsewhere. The breakfast is really nice, great coffee and special touches. We'll be back I am sure. I highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: I would stay toward the back of the mansion so you don't hear traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peggywestshokan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We had an elopement ceremony in the parlor of this magnificent, classic Saratoga Springs location. Stayed in The Catherine suite which was lovely and spacious. We can't say enough for the superb personal service we received. If you're looking for an absolutely memorable experience in this wonderful upstate New York town, do not hesitate to make a reservation here.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank forhg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Richland, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

This B&B had a plethora of reasons to enjoy our stay. The history alone is worth a read, and it is duly emphasized via their numerous relics and decor present therein.

The staff were amazing, friendly, knowledgable, and professional. The choices of rooms were full of variety, and allowed for a return visit w/a totally different flavor. We stayed in President Grant's room, which had not only a very large oversized hot tub, but also a full length pool table~!~!

The breakfast and kitchen were intimate and engaging.

The location was directly next the the downtown park and main street, and allowed us to park and walk to that which we wished to visit further.

I would highly recommend this.

Room Tip: President Grants room on the third floor is highly worth the stairs~!~!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phish56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarsdale, New York
1 review
Reviewed February 16, 2014

This was by far the best Inn I have ever stayed at. I took my girlfriend here for Valentines Day and the staff did everything possible to make it as perfect as possible for us. The Inn is a perfect getaway couples of any ages. It gives off a character of being right at home while living in a luxurious mansion. I have told all of my friends to go out of their way to travel to Saratoga just to stay here.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We stayed here after our wedding, with friends and family, and had a beautiful stay. Such a warm welcome, delicious breakfast, and lovely charming place. We can't wait to return next year for our anniversary!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mlleway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saratoga Springs hotels
0.6 mi away
Saratoga Arms
Saratoga Arms
#1 of 33 in Saratoga Springs
584 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Gideon Putnam
The Gideon Putnam
#6 of 33 in Saratoga Springs
1,174 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Saratoga
The Inn at Saratoga
#8 of 33 in Saratoga Springs
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratoga Springs
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratog...
#2 of 33 in Saratoga Springs
801 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pavilion Grand Hotel
Pavilion Grand Hotel
#5 of 33 in Saratoga Springs
301 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Saratoga Hilton
The Saratoga Hilton
#14 of 33 in Saratoga Springs
1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Batcheller Mansion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Batcheller Mansion Inn

Property: Batcheller Mansion Inn
Address: 20 Circular St, Saratoga Springs, NY 12866-4203
Location: United States > New York > Saratoga Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Saratoga Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Batcheller Mansion Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Saratoga Springs on historic Congress Park, this magnificent inn represents old world sophisticated elegance with a new world attitude. One of America's great Victorian houses, the Batcheller Mansion Inn simply cannot compare to other Saratoga Inns. Built in 1873, this American architectural masterpiece is an elegant mixture of small hotel and living history museum with the intimate feel of a bed and breakfast. Intricately carved European woodwork, hand carved marble fireplaces, family relics on loan from museums, original 1800's Batcheller family furnishings, and spellbinding grandeur make this one of a kind Saratoga inn and living history museum a stately retreat. Throughout the past 137 years, some of Saratoga's grandest parties were staged here, hosting U.S. Presidents, European Royalty, Dignitaries and Hollywood Celebrities. Designed by Nicols and Halcott of Albany, NY in 1873, this High Victorian Gothic mansion exhibits influences from the French Renaissance, Italian, and Egyptian styles. The red and gray slate mansard roof is bifurcated by dormers, each accented by a huge clamshell arch. The ivory stucco facade is studded by a myriad of ornate bays and its conical tower, resembling a minaret, is right out of Arabian nights. That bit of exotica was the result of original owner George S. Batcheller. This Saratoga inn was selected as Inn of the Month in the April 1999 issue of Country Inns. The mansion has also been the subject of many architectural studies, and has been featured in many books and film throughout its history. The Batcheller Mansion was specifically cited as an inspiration by Kevin Cummings, Development Manager for Disney's Saratoga Springs Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Batcheller Mansion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Batcheller Mansion Hotel Saratoga Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing