We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great get away weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Batcheller Mansion Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Hampton Bays, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great get away weekend”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Got back last weekend 1/12/13 this was a gift given to us by someone very special to me, arrived early, our room was ready, met by Dan the innkeeper and cook. He gave a fantastic tour of the mansion & a great history lesson. Rooms were all gorgeous, clean & each uniquely styled. Staff always available & accommodating. All restaurants & shops within very short walking distance, museum & park across the street. Full breakfast cooked to order by Dan, delicious (stuffed French toast a MUST, eggs in the hole my hubby's favorite). Fresh baked goods daily, all served on beautiful china. Coffee, tea & hot chocolate available all day. A wonderful experience. Will be back again. In fact, loved it so much booked 5 rooms together as a gift to our children early March!!

Room Tip: Larger rooms have candle lit fireplaces
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    29
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
28
173
6
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Staff gave us a tour and history of this property, because it was a quiet time when we were there, saw most all of the rooms and suites, and condition of this Inn is fantastic. Antiques, plush carpet, common areas outstanding. We stayed in the "Kate" which was just charming. We could walk to the down town and restaurant, so that was also a plus. The only negitive was that the regular chef was not present when we stayed, so breakfast was not so great. Apart from breakfast all was wonderful, so we would definitely return.

Room Tip: All rooms looks perfect to me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happytravels647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed in the "George" room overnight on our way back from further up in the Adirondacks. Huge room with a nice view of the park. We've stayed in many B&B's over the years and the architecture and woodwork in this one is truly outstanding. Beautiful public areas and and easy stroll to many restaurants just on the other side of the small park. We ate at Sperry's (excellent food and service!). Everyone at the inn was very personable and professional and Dan had several yummy suggestions or he will cook your breakfast to order. You can't go wrong here.

Room Tip: The larger/better rooms are on the second floor although there is one up on the third floor that his...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adventures0fAandL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown Heights, New York
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We arrived late Friday afternoon. Chelesea greeted us with a smile and great information on going downtow. We were Able to walk downtown which was a huge plus! The common areas of this inn are gorgeous! Our room, the Katherine was nice, the bed was sooooooo comfortable, the carpet plush,the lighting was a little better than Victorian. :). It was a big room with candles in the fireplace. Waking up and not having to rush to go down was a plus. breakfast by Dan can be ordered til 10 am. Dan is a fun host and a great cook. Saturday, I had stuffed blueberry frenchtoast! YUMMY! This morning I asked for a an egg scramble and gave him carte Blanche on what to out in it. It not only was delicious but beautiful! We will be back. Close to downtown; more rooms at the inn to check out and just a great place to rejuvenate!

Room Tip: There is not an elevator. Our room was hot, we asked for the heat to be turned down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janemc02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Early in Dec. I surprised my husband with an overnight stay at the Batcheller Mansion. Neither one of us has ever stayed there before but that will now change. The moment we walked in it became a magical experience.We were met by a woman who made us feel very welcomed. She made sure to tell us that this is our home for the evening and did everything to make us comfortable. The Mansion was decorated beautifully for Christmas and after having dinner in town my husband and I just wanted to go back and sit in the spacious library by the fire and look at some albums of the Mansion on display. We felt like we went back in time for an evening. My husband and I now plan to spend an evening every December in this beautiful home. We cannot say enough good things about this Mansion!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Kate which I understand is one of the most popular. Very large room with fireplace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

If you've ever wanted to spend a weekend in the Victorian Era, book a room at this beautiful B&B and experience a luxury home in the 1800's. We went mid-week in late November, and were just one of 3 couples there.
This B&B is one of the most beautiful we've ever visited, and it's decorated perfectly for Christmas. There is just nothing better than fresh cookies and coffee in front of the fireplace in the library, watching it snow. The Inn was perfect, with a very friendly staff, and is really beautiful to see with fresh snow trimming the entire home. The king size bed in the George room was very comfortable and we will definitely be back! Not to be forgotten is the town itself, with dozens of restaurants lining Broadway, only a couple of minutes away. A great getaway for a night or two exactly half way between Montreal and New York City.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lantirn01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northford, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed November 26, 2012

This was our first trip to Saratoga, and this B&B is a great place to stay. The rooms were absolutely beautiful. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was excellent, especially the blueberry stuffed french toast. We stayed in the Grant room, with the regulation sized pool table and large jacuzzi tub, and it was amazing. The bed was very comfortable, and the place was very quiet. Perfect choice for a romantic weekend getaway. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rickbren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saratoga Springs hotels
0.6 mi away
Saratoga Arms
Saratoga Arms
#1 of 33 in Saratoga Springs
581 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Gideon Putnam
The Gideon Putnam
#6 of 33 in Saratoga Springs
1,168 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Saratoga
The Inn at Saratoga
#7 of 33 in Saratoga Springs
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratoga Springs
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratog...
#2 of 33 in Saratoga Springs
796 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pavilion Grand Hotel
Pavilion Grand Hotel
#5 of 33 in Saratoga Springs
300 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Saratoga Hilton
The Saratoga Hilton
#14 of 33 in Saratoga Springs
1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Batcheller Mansion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Batcheller Mansion Inn

Property: Batcheller Mansion Inn
Address: 20 Circular St, Saratoga Springs, NY 12866-4203
Location: United States > New York > Saratoga Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Saratoga Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Batcheller Mansion Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Saratoga Springs on historic Congress Park, this magnificent inn represents old world sophisticated elegance with a new world attitude. One of America's great Victorian houses, the Batcheller Mansion Inn simply cannot compare to other Saratoga Inns. Built in 1873, this American architectural masterpiece is an elegant mixture of small hotel and living history museum with the intimate feel of a bed and breakfast. Intricately carved European woodwork, hand carved marble fireplaces, family relics on loan from museums, original 1800's Batcheller family furnishings, and spellbinding grandeur make this one of a kind Saratoga inn and living history museum a stately retreat. Throughout the past 137 years, some of Saratoga's grandest parties were staged here, hosting U.S. Presidents, European Royalty, Dignitaries and Hollywood Celebrities. Designed by Nicols and Halcott of Albany, NY in 1873, this High Victorian Gothic mansion exhibits influences from the French Renaissance, Italian, and Egyptian styles. The red and gray slate mansard roof is bifurcated by dormers, each accented by a huge clamshell arch. The ivory stucco facade is studded by a myriad of ornate bays and its conical tower, resembling a minaret, is right out of Arabian nights. That bit of exotica was the result of original owner George S. Batcheller. This Saratoga inn was selected as Inn of the Month in the April 1999 issue of Country Inns. The mansion has also been the subject of many architectural studies, and has been featured in many books and film throughout its history. The Batcheller Mansion was specifically cited as an inspiration by Kevin Cummings, Development Manager for Disney's Saratoga Springs Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Batcheller Mansion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Batcheller Mansion Hotel Saratoga Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing