We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Place to Stay in Saratoga Springs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Batcheller Mansion Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 16, 2012

This was my second stay at the Batcheller Mansion Inn and I look forward to staying in each of their themed rooms! The two I stayed in (The Maria Pia Room and The Kate Batcheller Room)i were beautifully appointed with wonderful ambiance. The staff at the Inn are superlative, extremely friendly, attentive and gracious. The complementary breakfast was excellent with a variety of choices from homemade scones to fresh fruits, assorted pastries, pancakes, eggs, etc.

I felt like I was in a Victorian dream world in every one of the public rooms filled with antiques. At night, when all is quiet, it's as if the Batchellers are still there in every room.

I had the pleasure in December of staying there and for a holiday party they hosted. It was superlative. There aren't enough stars to rate how wonderful my experiences have been at the Batcheller Mansion Inn.

Room Tip: Check out their website for pictures and descriptions of each room and then choose the one that best...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JSWFayetteville_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (280)
There are newer reviews for Batcheller Mansion Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

226 - 232 of 280 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2012

I had never stayed at a bed and breakfast until the Batcheller Mansion so any others I stay in will have a very high standard to meet! From the beautiful woodwork trim in the house itself to the furnishings and tapestries, this is a wonderfully gorgeous property! The chef prepared a magnificent breakfast including the infamous "eggs in the hole" (which he told me how to make and we've had them several times since our stay) and stuffed french toast. The history of the place is so intriguing and the artifacts that the Batcheller family collected in their world travels have been saved over the years and are on display in the mansion. The price was a little high, even for the "off season" of horse racing (totalling almost $240 for one night) but for a special occasion (and the wonderful breakfast), it was well worth it! I would definitely recommend this property for a special experience!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jodiluvsthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

I have stayed in Saratoga Springs numerous time and have lodged at various hotels. None. Not one was as unique or as special as Batcheller Mansion Inn. From the second you you notice the building, your mind begins to imagine what it must be like within. Walking through the front door, you immediately know you have found an amazingly wonderful Inn. Every detail, from decorations to furnishings, make you feel special, as if you were back in time, and most delighted to be there. The guest rooms are elegant and stately with luxurious beds, and the abundant rooms give a sense of freedom from the outside world. And if you like a special meal to start your day, it will be personally prepared for you. It's a great stay.

Room Tip: Look on the website and choose one to your taste.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Journeyman55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

We stayed here while visiting family in Saratoga Springs, and enjoyed the ambiance. Very quiet, so not for those seeking a party atmosphere. Our room was quirky (could have used two bedside lamps--but that is ALWAYS my complaint), and I'm not sure we mastered the heating unit, but the mansion was well maintained and the breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

My husband & I were in town to visit our son at Skidmore. We indulged in a night at the Batcheller! Stayed in the Grant Room - the in-room billiards table and the double-sized jacuzzi were terrific enhancements! Enjoyed the mansion's ambience and history; appreciated the staff's friendliness. They assisted us last minute in changing a dinner reservation for two to a reservation for three during peak dining time on a busy weekend. Breakfast was a treat!! Convenient walking location. Highly recommend the Batcheller!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayJayJanette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2012

Beautiful rooms , friendly staff and a wonderful breakfast. We would recommend this Inn.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric12302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

We are locals who take "backyard vacations" at Batcheller Mansion twice a year; once with friends from Boston and once alone. The fact that we have had this tradition going for 3 years is itself a recommendation. We've stayed at perhaps a dozen B&Bs from Virginia to Hawaii and Batcheller Mansion is at the top of our list. The property is architecturally unique having been built to order by George Batchellor in the 1870s. Dan, the innkeeper, and his team will gladly show you around and explain the history of the house and the Batchellor family. They all do seem to love their jobs and the house and that makes for a warm and comfortable visit.

Over several visits, we and our friends have stayed in most of the rooms. Each is fabulous from the smaller rooms to the Grant, which has a full sized pool table. You will find luxurious bedding, pillows, and lots of fluffy towels in all rooms. The common rooms are welcoming and far from a "hands off the antiques" attitude we have experienced at some B&Bs, here the house is meant to be enjoyed. There is even a piano with a sign on it inviting those with the skill to play. The entire house is spotlessly clean (thanks to Michael) and perfectly maintained with period details and modern conveniences. A minor issue reported at breakfast was being addressed before we even finished our meal.

Ah, breakfast! Scones are light, not too sweet, and subtly flavored based on season and presumably Dan's whim. Blueberries are a frequent addition to the scone batter but we enjoyed pineapple coconut on our last visit. Don't miss Dan's blueberry stuffed French Toast: the filling is creamy and the blueberry flavor comes through but the stuffing does not overwhelm. His hot mulled apple cider is a perfect accompaniment. My husband prefers an omelet with everything. Again, Dan hits the mark. All flavors are clear and present but nothing is over the top.

In fact, that is the best way to sum up Batcheller Mansion: subtle elegance that whispers perfection so that you notice nothing but the fabulous relaxing time you are having.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JGLMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saratoga Springs hotels
0.6 mi away
Saratoga Arms
Saratoga Arms
#1 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
594 reviews
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratoga Springs
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratog...
#2 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
841 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Saratoga
The Inn at Saratoga
#7 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Gideon Putnam
The Gideon Putnam
#9 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
1,195 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pavilion Grand Hotel
Pavilion Grand Hotel
#6 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
309 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Saratoga Hilton
The Saratoga Hilton
#14 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Batcheller Mansion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Batcheller Mansion Inn

Address: 20 Circular St, Saratoga Springs, NY 12866-4203
Location: United States > New York > Saratoga Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Saratoga Springs
Price Range: $167 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Batcheller Mansion Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Saratoga Springs on historic Congress Park, this magnificent inn represents old world sophisticated elegance with a new world attitude. One of America's great Victorian houses, the Batcheller Mansion Inn simply cannot compare to other Saratoga Inns. Built in 1873, this American architectural masterpiece is an elegant mixture of small hotel and living history museum with the intimate feel of a bed and breakfast. Intricately carved European woodwork, hand carved marble fireplaces, family relics on loan from museums, original 1800's Batcheller family furnishings, and spellbinding grandeur make this one of a kind Saratoga inn and living history museum a stately retreat. Throughout the past 137 years, some of Saratoga's grandest parties were staged here, hosting U.S. Presidents, European Royalty, Dignitaries and Hollywood Celebrities. Designed by Nicols and Halcott of Albany, NY in 1873, this High Victorian Gothic mansion exhibits influences from the French Renaissance, Italian, and Egyptian styles. The red and gray slate mansard roof is bifurcated by dormers, each accented by a huge clamshell arch. The ivory stucco facade is studded by a myriad of ornate bays and its conical tower, resembling a minaret, is right out of Arabian nights. That bit of exotica was the result of original owner George S. Batcheller. This Saratoga inn was selected as Inn of the Month in the April 1999 issue of Country Inns. The mansion has also been the subject of many architectural studies, and has been featured in many books and film throughout its history. The Batcheller Mansion was specifically cited as an inspiration by Kevin Cummings, Development Manager for Disney's Saratoga Springs Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Batcheller Mansion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Batcheller Mansion Hotel Saratoga Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing