We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Phenomenal!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 15 Church Restaurant

15 Church Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $36
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
198 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Phenomenal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014

From the moment you enter, you know this is a cut above. The staff is exceptional, well-trained, knowledgable and passionate about the chef's creations. It turns out that passion is well placed. The decor is more chic than you expect in this town, and the service is more akin to what you'd expect in a place hat had already earned its Michelin stars. The sea bass was some of the best we ever had. The scallion pancakes had a mix of two creative and delicious sauces and the carpaccio with truffle emulsion was so delicious, my husband insisted on ordering his own, as a second appetizer, after tasting mine. They have an interesting list of wines by the glass, and the desserts are as creative as the rest of our dinner. The bill arrived with house made salted caramel filled chocolate. The meal cost far less than we expected. What a delicious experience.

Hint: the are only 15 tables and even the seats at the bar require a reservation, so plan ahead. Having said that we arrived without a reservation during the busiest weekend of the season, and the staff did everything they could to accommodate us. The crispy oysters with fois gras are a must and you can't miss with the s'mores dessert.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LolaLeeLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    319
    65
    24
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
208 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Fantastic new place, a must do!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2014

Just opened earlier this year. The service was impeccable, it is obvious they are well trained. We had early reservations, and within an half an hour, it was packed. The food was innovative and extremely well prepared. Drinks were mixed nicely, and the cocktail menu had very interesting items. This place is definitely a keeper! No outdoor seating yet, but the patio is under construction, and will be ready for next year.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeGSyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just DON'T”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2014

We arrived a little early waiting for our other guest to join us. We ordered a bottle of wine and some "crispy" oysters. We noticed the layout it appears that every table is close to the kitchen traffic and noise (wide open door, clanking of dishes). We counted in one minute 30 movements along our table. Like eating along the high way. No music their system was broken. The "crispy" oyster came "nuked to hell" to the table in less than two minutes, nothing crispy within 4 miles. When I addressed the owner about the oysters and the traffic by our table, his comment was "that's how we roll" and walked away. We didn't finish our first glass of the bottle of wine we ordered and within 2 minutes of our encounter with the owner our waitress came to our table with the check!!!! In other words, get out. The only reason this rating got a 1 is because there are no negatives. I have lived and dined on 4 continents, never encountered this poor service. We went to Max London's on Broadway much better choice.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
8 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very nice execution!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

This is a very cool new restaurant...the atmosphere reminded me of a private club. The staff was great and the food was innovative. Many of the restaurants in Saratoga wind down early during racing season. This establishment was still lively at 10:30-11PM. People were congregating at the bar, others were eating by themselves and there were larger parties in the back which made for a nice atmosphere. Our party of three were walk-ins at 10 pm on a Friday and we were warmly welcomed. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank momtobook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Really beautiful dinner, wonderful atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014

We enjoyed a wonderful dinner after a day at the racetrack. Spectacular sashimi appetizer - shared by the table. Wonderful steak, scallop entrees.

Splashes of brilliance on every plate - i.e., cauliflower puree and rainbow swiss chard. Everyone in our party had a wonderful dinner. The servers were professional yet very warm and friendly. In party, we had a woman server who we all agreed had a spectacular personality - very genuine.

You need a reservation. Will say that despite a reservation, the seating was at the back of the restaurant, near kitchen - next time I would ask for something more in the front.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Redcap48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 15 Church Restaurant also viewed

Saratoga Springs, NY
 
Saratoga Springs, NY
 

Been to 15 Church Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing