We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend in Saratoga”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Saratoga Downtowner Motel
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Saratoga Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Denville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Weekend in Saratoga”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

The Downtowner is in the heart of the town and walking distance to all the shops and restaurants. The room was fine and clean. Although you will hardly be in the room since there is so much to do in Saratoga! Fun weekend!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carocarlson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    158
    46
    23
    14
See reviews for
94
135
34
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Utica , NY
Level Contributor
94 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Worn out dollar store pillows, (2 pillows in whole room). Bed kind of had a mattress but was very cheap and hard. Room with 1 double bed is so small 2 people cant watch TV at the same time unless youre in bed. 147 dollars is robbery for this room. I would have still complained for 79.00. If it wasn't Saratoga I wouldn't have felt safe in this room. Threats about not smoking (I booked a non smoking room because I don't wanna smoke) and losing keys and how much money they'll take from you for this or that . On and on. Come on!! Tub was clean but it gave me flashbacks to being an infant in some scary bathroom in 1967!! Literally the colors (and age) of the decor!!!!Parking is a little scary if you don't know what youre doing. Staff fakes friendly very well and coffee in lobby was delicious!!

Room Tip: Do not stay in 1 double bedded room, it will ruin your trip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KayDubya66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greifswald, Germany
1 review
Reviewed May 27, 2014

The Downtowner is a great place to be if you care for good conversations, very friendly staff and just overwhelmingly welcoming owners, that are not (only) in the business for the money but for the people they meet. We stayed for three nights and especially enjoyed talking to the owners, but also the comfy bed, the small pool and the moring pastries. The room was spacious and clean, the pool water is being checked three times a day, and the breakfast is delicious, with a choice of pastries and tea, as well as coffee, orange juice and fruit. The only drawback might be the cracking noice of the roof during the day, though you hardly hear it in your room.
The staff is quick to solve problems you might have. Also, the owners know a lot about Saratoga and can give good adivse on what to do or where to eat. The hotel is in the middle of the town, thus everything is in walking distance. Furthermore they try to make it an environmentally friendly place, with solar panels on the roof, recycling, a towel and soap program and more things I don't remember. I'd love to come again.

Green Features: The owners are concerned about the environment and try to improve their hotels eco-friendlyness by having solar panels on the roof, recycling and participating in the towel and the soap program.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 7kruemel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rensselaer, New York
Level Contributor
82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2014

This place is okay for an overnight stay. Prices are reasonable for the area and the location is great. Rooms could use updating, free breakfast but a small selection. Small inside swimming pool. Parking is tight and the overflow parking is in a municipal lot after hrs only. No hair dryers in the rooms. Have to ask for them. Staff was nice and friendly.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back tend to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sassiemama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Rustico, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed May 15, 2014

The Downtowner is in a choice spot in walkable town of Saratoga Springs. Their prices are reasonable all year round. The owners and staff are so interested in making your stay as enjoyable as you wish. They have a lovely setup - with a pool in the middle of the 2 floors of rooms. Delicious morning treats are included In your stay. The balcony allows for great people watching and friend gatherings. We look forward to staying here again on my next visit to Saratoga Springs. Patty & Susan

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patty L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

We checked a number of our favorite hotels, only to find the prices higher than we like. Then discovered the Saratoga Downtowner, but thought it might be a mess? NO, to our surprise it was a great bargain and completely met our needs. The location is in the midst of the downtown. We sat on the deck outside our room, watching the people and having a sip of wine. Lighting in the room is good and the place is clean. The staff, from owner to all staff were very hospitable and helpful. Not elegant, but comfortable, with plain furnishings.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank upnorthDPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
1 review
Reviewed April 25, 2014

I have stayed at the Saratoga Downtowner numerous times. The location is wonderful, the actual epicenter of Saratoga Springs’ vibrant business district, with convenient parking and in easy walking distance to the best restaurants. The cheerful staff and indoor atrium make my stays there a real pleasure.
TomTomBill

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomTomBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saratoga Springs hotels
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratoga Springs
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratog...
#2 of 33 in Saratoga Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
0.2 mi away
Saratoga Arms
Saratoga Arms
#1 of 33 in Saratoga Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Inn at Saratoga
The Inn at Saratoga
#8 of 33 in Saratoga Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pavilion Grand Hotel
Pavilion Grand Hotel
#4 of 33 in Saratoga Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Saratoga Springs
Holiday Inn Saratoga Springs
#10 of 33 in Saratoga Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Gideon Putnam
The Gideon Putnam
#6 of 33 in Saratoga Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saratoga Downtowner Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saratoga Downtowner Motel

Property: Saratoga Downtowner Motel
Address: 413 Broadway, Saratoga Springs, NY 12866-2245
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Saratoga Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#9 Family Hotel in Saratoga Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Saratoga Downtowner Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Saratoga Downtowner is located in the heart of beautiful downtown Saratoga Springs, New York among wonderful shops, fine restaurants, and great nightlife. The property extends a friendly, personal, and relaxing atmosphere that only a family-owned and operated business can provide. The Downtowner's enclosed Atrium, complete with lovely plants, creates a comfortable social area that surrounds a heated swimming pool. For your summertime pleasure, the Atrium roof retracts to let the sun in! The Saratoga Downtowner takes great pride in providing clean, pleasant, and updated rooms, which have earned AAA approval for 35 years! Discover the convenience of being in the center of the city. Saratoga Downtowner's location and service set the property apart as the place to stay. Wake up and enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast or help yourself to coffee or tea anytime. The Saratoga Downtowner is a bit of a throw-back, adding great character to the place. The word "kitchy" is often used by the wonderful guests. The majority of rooms have direct access to the courtyard and indoor swimming pool. All rooms feature individually controlled heating and cooling, a full bath, and expanded cable television. The Saratoga Downtowner is a completely smoke-free property. Complimentary wireless internet is also available throughout the building. The Downtowner offers accommodations for all seasons in Saratoga Springs, a small city rich in history. Throughout the year, the Downtowner offers great deals and special events your family and friends will enjoy! The Downtowner's friendly, caring owner-management will help you plan whatever you'd like to see and do. Experience Saratoga Springs, New York lodging at the Downtowner, and see why so many visitors prefer the Saratoga Downtowner to any nearby Saratoga Springs hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Saratoga Downtowner Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saratoga Downtowner Hotel Saratoga Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing