We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbeatable location for old-school lodging”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Saratoga Downtowner Motel
Ranked #12 of 34 Hotels in Saratoga Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 1, 2012

We've stayed here twice, both times for the town's New Year's Eve "First Night" celebration. While other chain hotels are available at the edge of town, The Downtowner sits smack on Broadway, a block from the very center of town. It's older -- from perhaps the Fifties or Sixties -- but has been well-maintained. Our double was spacious and clean. One mattress was great, the other a bit older. Fridge. Staff very friendly and helpful. We didn't use the indoor pool during our visit, so no info on that. The location is its best feature...roll out the door and you're right near restaurants, Congress Park, etc.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the quieter rooms in the back. (Although the staff is very willing to make sure other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathleenSparta_nj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (426)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

377 - 383 of 426 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2011

The rooms were clean and the staff at the front desk was very friendly and helpful.

Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
1  Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2011

The staff was amazing! The location in downtown Saratoga was perfect for traveling both up and down the I87 to visit family and friends. We will definitely be staying there again!!!

Room Tip: If you like quiet, choose an inside room around the heated pool...no traffic from the street could b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2011

Nestled in the heart of downtown Saratoga Springs , lies this jewel waiting to be discovered.
Convient to shops , restaurants and nightlife , you are sure to find all you need nearby, to make your stay a positive experiance. You won't find luxurious amenities here. This hotel, which was built in the sixties , is not pretentous , nor does it strive to be. What you'll find is value. A good nights' sleep , in a clean room , at an affordable price.
The enclosed pool in the courtyard , is a focal point which adds to the charm of this historic structure. ( The Downtowner sits on the former site of the Warden , which burned down in the fifties and hosted some of Saratogas' most elite.)
The staff is helpful and accommodating. One nice young lady , I believe her name is Carolyn , went the extra mile in ordering my dinner for me , when I was "under the weather"
during Saratogas' Restaurant Week.
It is service and value such as this , which will make the Saratoga Downtowner , my choice while staying in Saratoga Springs.
ak47

Room Tip: The rooms on the front offer a good view of this cities steetlife. The rooms in back are quiter. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

This was our second stay & we came as a family for Thanksgiving. I think the location, cleanliness & price is how we rank the Downtowner. The pool was a soothing warmth, but didn't bring suits this time. Our loss. The staff is friendly & very accommodating. I especially appreciate the noise ordinance posted throughout. The atmosphere was very relaxing. As before, we look forward to returning again, as this is always a good experience for us.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mokrakurka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2011

We have stayed at the Downtowner three times over the last three years, and I have been very happy with my choice each time. It is quiet, clean and neat, not fancy or romantic; certainly a dependable place for an overnight stay. The front desk staff was very welcoming and accommodating, and even put the continental breakfast out earlier than usual to meet the needs of our team, who had to be up and out the door by 6am. A good value, and centrally located.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank islasofia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

I stayed at the downtowner on 11/9/11 for only one night. I'd say this motel is a hiden jewel of saratoga springs yet it's right in the heart of down town! The room was clean, comfortable and very quiet; I had a wonderful nights sleep. My only regret is that my stay was too short so I was not able to utilize their unique indoor pool. I would highly recommend the downtowner to everyone.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linda p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saratoga Springs hotels
0.4 mi away
The Inn at Saratoga
The Inn at Saratoga
#8 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
447 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Saratoga Hilton
The Saratoga Hilton
#15 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
63 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Saratoga Springs Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Saratoga Sp...
#4 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
1,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Saratoga Arms
Saratoga Arms
#2 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
632 reviews
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratoga Springs
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratog...
#3 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
920 reviews
2.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Saratoga Springs
Homewood Suites by Hilton Sarato...
#1 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saratoga Downtowner Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saratoga Downtowner Motel

Address: 413 Broadway, Saratoga Springs, NY 12866-2245
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Saratoga Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 34 Hotels in Saratoga Springs
Price Range: $73 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Saratoga Downtowner Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This place is temporarily closed due to renovation. It plans to reopen in the Spring of 2018. The Saratoga Downtowner is located in the heart of beautiful downtown Saratoga Springs, New York among wonderful shops, fine restaurants, and great nightlife. The property extends a friendly, personal, and relaxing atmosphere that only a family-owned and operated business can provide. The Downtowner's enclosed atrium, complete with lovely plants, creates a comfortable social area that surrounds a heated swimming pool. For your summertime pleasure, the atrium roof retracts to let the sun in! The Saratoga Downtowner takes great pride in providing clean, pleasant, and updated rooms, which have earned AAA approval for 35 years! Discover the convenience of being in the center of the city. Saratoga Downtowner's location and service set the property apart as the place to stay. Wake up and enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast or help yourself to coffee or tea anytime. The Saratoga Downtowner is a bit of a throw-back, adding great character to the place. The word "kitschy" is often used by the wonderful guests. The majority of rooms have direct access to the courtyard and indoor swimming pool. All rooms feature individually controlled heating and cooling, a full bath, and expanded cable television. The Saratoga Downtowner is a completely smoke-free property. Complimentary wireless internet is also available throughout the building. The Downtowner offers accommodations for all seasons in Saratoga Springs, a small city rich in history. Throughout the year, the Downtowner offers great deals and special events your family and friends will enjoy! The Downtowner's friendly, caring owner-management will help you plan whatever you'd like to see and do. Experience Saratoga Springs, New York lodging at the Downtowner, and see why so many visitors prefer the Saratoga Downtowner to any nearby Saratoga Springs hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Saratoga Downtowner Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saratoga Downtowner Hotel Saratoga Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing