We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel with superb location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Saratoga Downtowner Motel
Ranked #10 of 34 Hotels in Saratoga Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 24, 2011

The Saratoga Downtowner was a great choice when visiting my sister in Saratoga Springs. We arrived a day late and the staff was very accomodating. The room was clean and looked out on the indoor pool. Breakfast was filling and varied for a continental breakfast. The hotel is located right in the middle of downtown. We walked to restaurants, coffee shops, and various cute stores in town.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olsmj08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (420)
There are newer reviews for Saratoga Downtowner Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

399 - 405 of 420 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2010

This is an average hotel. Fairly decent rate for Saratoga where nothing is inexpensive. The room was clean and a quite big. Four adults shared one room without feeling cramped. The staff is very helpful and had lots of great advice about where to eat and drink. The beds are hard and are made with a plastic mattress cover that makes a lot of noise when you move. I would recommend it because of the location. It is right in the middle of down town Saratoga (hence the name). Everything is within walking distance.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Betsaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2010

I have visited Saratoga for many years during track season, usually I attend the Hats Off to Saratoga weekend and for the Travers Stakes and I have always found the Saratoga Downtowner to be the best place to stay. The room rates for this motel are very reasonable and the proximity of this motel to all downtown restaurants, shops and nightlife is the best (within walking distance).

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DS25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2010

I stayed here for two weeks last year and it was head and shoulders above other hotels in the area. parking lot in front, walking distance easily to anywhere in downtown Saratoga -- it's in the middle so you can hit a restaurant, stop by the room and change shoes and grab your jacket and then visit a club. Awesome B&N bookstore is directly across the street, so is a fine cigar shop. I can't say enough good about this place. I travel 60% of the time for business and rate the Downtouner as a top experience for the past 20 years.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coldsurfer66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2010

After over 20 years of travel to Saratoga, this is the best hotel for value and location that I have found. It is right in the middle of downtown, minutes walking to widely varied shopping, restaurants, music venues, and civic center events.

The rooms are arranged around the central courtyard and indoor pool; you don't have to hike through long corridors in your bathing suit. Only once in my several stays here, I did hear noise in my room from children in the pool, and that was during the day when most people are not in their rooms anyway. Street noise is not noticeable at all, since the building is set back from the street, behind the parking lot. Hotel parking is supplemented by a large municipal lot directly behind the hotel.

I find the rooms comfortable, but not fancy. When making your reservation, let them know if you want a room with refrigerator. As an eco-conscious traveler, I appreciate the hotel's support of "green" practice - you choose whether you want to reuse linens. Other things I like are the free internet, and the continental breakfast.

The current owners are exceptionally friendly and helpful, giving personal attention to visitors' requests and needs. Do make your reservation as early as possible, since the value and convenience here mean many repeat visitors, and weekends can fill up early, especially during special events.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fran_HudsonValley_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2009

My family and I spent a day and night at the Saratoga Downtowner and concluded it was the loveliest motel we'd ever experienced. There is a bautiful indoor swimming pool, surrounded by tables and chairs, so guests congregate there ---building immediate, if temporary, senses of community. The facility is spotless, and it's right in the center of lovely Saratoga.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eaholly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2009

What a rip off, I know that it is track season in saratoga but the rooms were way overpriced. The ceilings had stains from leaks and the showers went from hot to cold without warning. The days were warm and the room's AC could not keep up with the temperatures. A terrible place to stay with excellent location. For that price, you should be staying in something that doesn't resememble a run down highway motel. Do some upgrades and then charge those prices, will not be returning to the Saratoga Downtowner.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abrett12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saratoga Springs hotels
0.3 mi away
The Saratoga Hilton
The Saratoga Hilton
#14 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
1,275 reviews
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratoga Springs
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratog...
#2 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
841 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Inn at Saratoga
The Inn at Saratoga
#7 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Gideon Putnam
The Gideon Putnam
#9 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
1,194 reviews
0.2 mi away
Saratoga Arms
Saratoga Arms
#1 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
593 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Saratoga Springs
Holiday Inn Saratoga Springs
#12 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saratoga Downtowner Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saratoga Downtowner Motel

Address: 413 Broadway, Saratoga Springs, NY 12866-2245
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Saratoga Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Saratoga Springs
Price Range: $85 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Saratoga Downtowner Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Saratoga Downtowner is located in the heart of beautiful downtown Saratoga Springs, New York among wonderful shops, fine restaurants, and great nightlife. The property extends a friendly, personal, and relaxing atmosphere that only a family-owned and operated business can provide. The Downtowner's enclosed Atrium, complete with lovely plants, creates a comfortable social area that surrounds a heated swimming pool. For your summertime pleasure, the Atrium roof retracts to let the sun in! The Saratoga Downtowner takes great pride in providing clean, pleasant, and updated rooms, which have earned AAA approval for 35 years! Discover the convenience of being in the center of the city. Saratoga Downtowner's location and service set the property apart as the place to stay. Wake up and enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast or help yourself to coffee or tea anytime. The Saratoga Downtowner is a bit of a throw-back, adding great character to the place. The word "kitchy" is often used by the wonderful guests. The majority of rooms have direct access to the courtyard and indoor swimming pool. All rooms feature individually controlled heating and cooling, a full bath, and expanded cable television. The Saratoga Downtowner is a completely smoke-free property. Complimentary wireless internet is also available throughout the building. The Downtowner offers accommodations for all seasons in Saratoga Springs, a small city rich in history. Throughout the year, the Downtowner offers great deals and special events your family and friends will enjoy! The Downtowner's friendly, caring owner-management will help you plan whatever you'd like to see and do. Experience Saratoga Springs, New York lodging at the Downtowner, and see why so many visitors prefer the Saratoga Downtowner to any nearby Saratoga Springs hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Saratoga Downtowner Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saratoga Downtowner Hotel Saratoga Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing