We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Saratoga Farmstead B&B
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Nice quiet comfotable rooms , short drive to town, easy to relax in old farmhouse with great porches and interesting grounds. The breakfasts were very tasty! and filling served in a large farmhouse kitchen. Friendly and professional hosts are full of info about the area.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (234)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 234 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2012

Usually when we visit Saratoga for the races we make it a day trip (up at 5 AM, drive from Syracuse, morning backstretch tour, full day of races, dinner, then long drive home). This year we decided to spend the evening and relax. We searched for a B&B and the Saratoga Farmstead immediately stood out for us based on their website.

We couldn't have chosen better. After a long day of races (including a 2 1/2 hour early morning drive) we were met on the front porch by Rosemary. The front porches and the grounds are beautiful and as you would expect it is a very large farmhouse. It is immaculate from the dining area to the "lounge" to our room. Our room was the Adirondack room. It was large and spacious, with a large bathroom. After heading out to our favorite Saratoga restaurant we arrived back at the B&B and had a very restful and peaceful evening.

We woke up to the smell of breakfast, which was one of the selling points from their website (awesome sample menu). Now this wasn't just coffee and danish and a few muffins, This was a full cooked breakfast, starting from the fruit plate with homegrown edible flowers as the garnish to the excellent omelette (spinach and cheese with mushrooms on the side). My wife is a vegetarian and a nice fresh salad was on the side because of this. Most of the items, if not all, were locally sourced. Rosemary was cooking and Mariana was serving and as they worked they kept up a lively discussion with all their patrons. Rosemary was even giving a cooking lesson to one of the younger guests. The breakfast room/kitchen was large and full of morning sunlight, a perfect farmhouse kitchen. After breakfast we relaxed on the deck under a perfect Saratoga morning (75 degrees and partly sunny) and rested up for our drive home.

Unlike some of the other B&Bs in the area the farm house is a few miles out of town. It was only a 10 minute drive from the track (and that was with after race traffic) and 5 to 10 minutes into the heart of Saratoga the morning we left. This was a big selling point for me as we were away from the hustle and bustle yet a short drive from the all the excitement and night life of Saratoga after the races.

In summary we now will change our routine summer day trip to Saratoga and make it an overnighter at the Saratoga Farmstead B&B. Only next time we'll plan well in advance to make sure that we can book a room, we were lucky to get one this time.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank svogels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

The care put into every single detail of this property was extremely impressive. The owners of the property clearly love what they do and have crafted a beautifully decorated property with impeccable hospitality.

The breakfast was farm to table and absolutely delicious. They put together a parlor with complimentary beverages that creates a very open and welcoming environment. I would recommend this B&B to anyone looking for a nice romantic weekend away.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carson_LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

A quick ride to downtown Saratoga, but with the feel of a real getaway. We had the big first floor bedroom and our own little porch where we watched a thunderstorm. Breakfast is superb and no need to eat again till dinner. A little fridge in the living room with snacks, beer, lemonade and wine. Such welcoming and interesting hosts (ask about trips to Italy!). We will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freddiejean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

This is not a review of the B&B due to the fact to the horrible communication between the booking company online and the Inn Keeper, as we were trying to select a date to stay we were told online that there was trouble with the server and needed to try again later. Although we got NO confirmation number we were still charged $400.00 for the room. During this time we decided on another accommodation. After placing a call to the Farmstead she denied the charges, denied that the billing company had anything to do with them and would not refund our money. Long story short after about 2 hours of calling both the Inn and online billing company we finally got a refund thanks to a nice woman at the billing company. I would never attempt to try and stay at the Saratoga Farmstead due to the extreme lack of communication and rude Innkeepers offering no solution.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Service
Thank Jayne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSaratogaFarmstead, Owner at Saratoga Farmstead B&B, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

Having both been educators. we take pride in our communication skills, Our dealings with ALL people is based on openness, helpfulness and common courtesy.

If you are reading this review, please realize that we tried our best under difficult circumstances to help and to please this reviewer but, as she notes, after 2 hours, we could not satisfy her demands for a refund as we had not charged her credit card.

From the first phone call, we gave her the contact information for the third party company who made the charges (incorrectly) to her credit card. Afterwards, this company did refund her money and communicate with her via email clearly stating that they, not us, were solely responsible for any and all errors on this transaction.

The very core of our personal and our business identities is to be honest, helpful and understanding of the needs of others. We truly did our best to help this reviewer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Rosemary and Mariana were gracious hosts who guided is to some perfect activities for our young son. The farmstead is beautiful - we especially enjoyed the porches. And breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kreb76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

My 7 year old daughter and I stayed at The Saratoga Farmstead B&B
and had a lovely visit.

The innkeepers were friendly, efficient, and went out of their way to make my daughter feel comfortable. They even let her help make breakfast!

It's just a short drive to downtown and area events and is set in a BEAUTIFUL location.

I would highly recommend staying at the The Saratoga Farmstead B&B

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saratoga Springs hotels
2.9 mi away
The Gideon Putnam
The Gideon Putnam
#9 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
1,218 reviews
2.1 mi away
Saratoga Arms
Saratoga Arms
#2 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
611 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Inn at Saratoga
The Inn at Saratoga
#8 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Saratoga Springs Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Saratoga Sp...
#5 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
1,495 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Saratoga Hilton
The Saratoga Hilton
#18 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
47 reviews
2.2 mi away
Pavilion Grand Hotel
Pavilion Grand Hotel
#6 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saratoga Farmstead B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saratoga Farmstead B&B

Address: 41 Locust Grove Rd, Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Saratoga Springs
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Saratoga Springs
Price Range: $148 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Saratoga Farmstead B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saratoga's only certified GREEN B&B is a lovingly restored 1860's farmhouse on 10 acres of gardens and meadows. Just 2 miles from downtown but A WORLD AWAY! Professional chef/innkeepers prepare delicious breakfasts catering to any and all dietary needs, using fresh local ingredients. We offer complimentary wine, locally brewed beers, other beverages and snacks. Guest rooms are beautifully decorated in a country chic style, with private bathrooms, ceiling fans and air conditioning. Public areas include parlor, decks, porches, picnic area, gardens and walking trails through wild meadows. Breakfast cooked to order is served each morning, with special attention to dietary restrictions. Call and book your getaway in this beautiful historic home in the country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Saratoga Farmstead B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing