We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I would have rather slept outside with the bugs” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Top Hill Motel

Top Hill Motel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Top Hill Motel
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in Saratoga Springs
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I would have rather slept outside with the bugs”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

My friends and I were attending a concert at the Saratoga performing arts center and we thought it be a good idea to stay the night so we didn't have to make the 2 hour trip back home after the concert. All the hotels near the venue were either booked or too expensive for the night. I came across top hill for its location being only a mile from the venue. The women was of indian descent and seemed nice but very soft spoken and shady. When we got into the room there were bugs everywhere and I am not talking 2 or 3 but rather a lot and they were all over the walls and who knows about the bed bugs on the beds as well. The room looked run down and for a motel of only 14 rooms you would think they would have kept it nice and clean, I mean how hard is it to upkeep 14 rooms for crying out loud. Anyway after killing a lot of bugs and seeing boogers on the walls it made me and my friends terrified to even go to sleep in a place like this. I rather have just slept in my car. also keep in mind they gave us 2 towels for 4 people staying in the room and there was 2 bugs on the towels!!! It was just absolutely disgusting and the women said that we needed to take pictures or have the manager see the bugs but you could tell she didn't care. I don't know they are even allowed to do buisness charging 145 a night. If your looking to crash the night and don't care about sleeping with bed bugs and other flying bugs on the walls then this is the place for you but I highly suggest being severely intoxicated because you won't feel them eating away at your skin all night long. Best western is located across the street Im surprised they haven't put them out of buisness yet but spend the extra money and stay there you won't be disappointed plus you get a breakfast and clean sheets and towels!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lamborghinimercy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    8
    9
    2
    8
See reviews for
7
13
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2011

I stayed at the motel at the end of the summer. The rooms, though small, are just large enough. The room was clean. The best thing about the motel was that it was right across from the entrance from SPAC and conveniently located for both tracks. As for a room further from the highway for more quiet (#14 is the best).

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SkierDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keyport, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2011

This is our 2nd time there, was there a couple of years ago, we stayed 4 nights there and everything was awesome, yea i brought my own pillow(which i always do) we ate at PJ's bbq chicken next door, it was a relaxing time, good price for comfort, and we slept great and not far from the track, I highly reccommend staying there the managers are wonderful

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank vodkagail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

We stayed here two nights and were quite satisfied with the room. While on the
small side, it had everything we needed - working A/C, comfortable beds, fridge
and microwave. The shower was very small but worked great - hot water and
great pressure. We agree that the pillows and towels leave much to be desired
but it is well worth the price value of the room. Front office staff very helpful with
questions, really convenient to Racino and the Racetrack. Clean well kept out
door pool and right next door to a great BBQ place. Will definitely stay here
again !

Room Tip: Medium size room is quite small - check into larger size room if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TedsWife15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranston, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2011

located less than 15 minutes to downtown.clean rooms and great value.owners treat you great.left my own pillow behind at checkout and they went out of their way to return it to my home 2 states away.look forward to returning this summer.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tomf80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2010

Bring your own pillow and towel for comfort sake. Walking distance to SPAC for concerts was nice. We travelled with a group of friends for a concert and since the weather was amazing only used the room for sleeping. The pool didnt appear to be heated but since it was scorching hot out it was fine. Not the worst hotel ever, but definetly not the best. I would stay again just for the convenient location.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bogoone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfort, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2010

Second time staying here. The rooms are adequate for their purpose, SLEEPING! TV, Microwave, Mini-fridge in the rooms. Very close to Racino, Dining, SPAC, and Down Town Shopping. If you are expecting the "Plaza Hotel" for under $75 a night, you are the one with the problem! Enjoyed our stay here for the second year in a row. Coffee in the office in the AM. The only things we found to need a change are the pillows, and maybe some contrasting color on the moldings. The pillows need to be up-dated and extras left in the room. A little contrasting color would break up the clean white walls and ceiling. Will we stay again??? Heck Yea!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 06VTXRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saratoga Springs
1.4 mi away
Roosevelt Inn & Suites
Roosevelt Inn & Suites
#17 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Saratoga Springs
BEST WESTERN Plus Saratoga Sprin...
#18 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Saratoga Springs
Hilton Garden Inn Saratoga Sprin...
#9 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Residence Inn Saratoga Springs
Residence Inn Saratoga Springs
#16 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
5.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Saratoga Malta
2.1 mi away
The Springs Motel
The Springs Motel
#7 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Top Hill Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Top Hill Motel

Property: Top Hill Motel
Address: 3290 South Broadway, Rt. 9, Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
Location: United States > New York > Saratoga Springs
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in Saratoga Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Top Hill Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Top Hill Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Hill Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing