We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing dinner from Chef Brian Bowden of Javier's”
Review of Javier's Nuevo Latin Cuisine - CLOSED

Javier's Nuevo Latin Cuisine
Cuisines: Latin
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing dinner from Chef Brian Bowden of Javier's”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Perfect balance of flavors and interesting combinations. All the courses were cooked to perfection. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone who likes original items. Everyone in our group loved their meal. First class restaurant.!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    10
    4
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Niskayuna, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Upscale restaurant with sophisticated crowd. The service was impeccable and comparable to that in a very high end Manhattan restaurant. Food/menu was creative and absolutely outstanding.
All 4 in our party were raving about our dinners. Cheese bread is to die for. Can't wait to return.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Javier’s is one of the best fine dining restaurants in Saratoga Springs. The atmosphere inside is perfect and the service is top shelf. The food is excellent and reasonably priced. My favorite item on the menu is the duck, but there are many other gems as well. For starters the oysters are incredible.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marta t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, NY
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in Saratoga Springs”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Saratoga's first truly good restaurant. Everything was spectacular except the panna cotta - it wasn't even panna cotta, it tasted like sugary frosting. Surprised they are getting away with that one, but everything else was unique and delicious

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank SpaFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Unimpressed”
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

This was my second visit to Javiers, the first visit was for lunch not long after they had opened, the service was very good and the food superb. So after raving about it to my husband for months we decided to spend our wedding anniversary there in September. This time it was a far different experience. Firstly the young girl who was on the front desk was quite abrupt and unwelcoming. The signature bread that I had loved the first time was stodgy and undercooked, I wanted the mussels on the menu as an appetizer only to be told later that the menu had been changed and it was now little neck clams. I opted for them instead only to be unable to eat them because the broth was so bitter. The server who was stood at the bar talking to the bar man could see that I was unhappy with the dish but didn't feel it was necessary to come over and ask what the problem was. When he eventually came to remove our plates and I told him what the problem was (he didn't ask) there was no apology or an offer of another dish. Instead after we had eaten our dessert he said he'd take that off the bill instead of the appetizer which was half the price. If this is how they're going to treat customers then I can't see them staying open long. It is supposed to be a fine dining restaurant which is shown in the high prices, but it certainly isn't shown in the quality of the food or the service. We will not be returning.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Javier's Nuevo Latin Cuisine also viewed

 
Saratoga Springs, NY
Saratoga Springs, NY
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing