We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ray needs to work on his customer relations skill”
Review of Lillian's Restaurant - CLOSED

Lillian's Restaurant
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Hartford, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Ray needs to work on his customer relations skill”
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Arrived on Sunday 7/7 for brunch..we were early but waited till 11am when Brunch started
We were seated promptly and drink orders were taken..I asked for decaf..waitress came back and said "We ran out"..my remark: "you just opened ..how can you be out?"
Eventually she came back with my decaf and asked for
Our order..I ordered an omelet which came with a choice of Scone or Muffin. I chose muffin, my companion ordered eggs Benedict.
After waiting several minutes back come waitress with "we have no muffins"..and someone put the wrong sauce on the eggs Benedict and they need to start over"
Companion says: "please send the manager over"
Where upon Ray appears with a large chip on his shoulder and blames everything on the waitress never once saying "I'm sorry"

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    65
    37
    20
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Amherst, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent drinks!”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Went here for cocktails prior to dinner. Service was great - cocktails were excellent. Plenty of alcohol being poured here!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

This restaurant came highly recommended and unfortunately was not impressed. Service was excellent but food was just average. My husband ordered the scallops and sirloin steak, the steak although cooked to perfection was very tough to the point you could not enjoy it. I was only going to order the crab cake appetizer but the waitress insisted I order it as a meal and then charged me $13 extra for a salad and rice addition. The crab cakes were more filling than crab meat. The only real enjoyment for this meal was the onion soup and the martini. We will definitely be back to Saratoga Springs but will not be coming back to this restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank familyfun2pa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Not great for Sunday brunch/lunch”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Went with my husband and daughters. Drawn in by the smiling hostess outside and pleasant, old-timely decor. Service was pleasant, but excruciatingly slow. Even though we were her only table, our waitress simply disappeared for what seemed like hours before finally showing up with our food. No apology nor mention of the loooong wait. My seafood platter of grilled fish, stuffed shrimp from the brunch specials was below average and a little off in flavor. Snow pea pods were limp and oily. My husband's grilled chicken sandwich was just OK. My daughter found a hair in her pasta. Check, please. We would not return.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delicious Breakfast”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Great Victorian atmosphere to enjoy while dining. Our party of 7 had a wonderful breakfast, each ordering something different from their menu. All felt the food was good and I had their French Toast that was absolutely delicious. It was covered with an almond sauce, fresh apples and done perfectly. Staff was friendly and I would certainly dine their again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lillian's Restaurant also viewed

Saratoga Springs, NY
 
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing