We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As good as Italy” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Capriccio Saratoga - CLOSED

Capriccio Saratoga
Price range: $10 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: Capriccio Saratoga is located 1 1/2 half blocks from Broadway on the park. It is close to many public transit stops.
Description: Capriccio Saratoga, a family owned Neapolitan trattoria on Henry Street hailing from a long time Albany favorite, Cafe Capriccio, is a casually elegant twist on Southern Italian and Mediterranean cuisine. Featuring one of Saratoga’s only wood-fired pizza ovens; imported from Italy, Capriccio Saratoga offers authentic Neapolitan pizza according to the standards of the Associazione Verace Pizza Napoletana (VPN), representative and protector of traditional Neapolitan pizza ingredients and cooking techniques. Chef Franco Rua, trained by VPN, honors all methods and traditions associated with authentic Neapolitan pizza and cuisine. Open daily, Capriccio Saratoga offers fine Italian pizza, pasta and entrees, with a wide variety of worldly wines, hand crafted spirits and a local and regional craft beer selection.
Hingham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“As good as Italy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

I live in Boston and the North End is like Pizza Hut compared to this place. I've been to Italy and the food here is on par with much of the food I ate there. Simply put, this restaurant serves up some excellent Italian food.

The staff is friendly and efficient and the setting is very cozy. The prices are fairly reasonable for Saratoga Springs.

The pizza is excellent. The ingredients taste completely fresh and are top quality. The brick oven cooks the crust to perfection. This was the best Italian meal I've had since I was in Italy.

Highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bcoper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
murolo, Owner at Capriccio Saratoga, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are a small place but we really strive to offer authentic regional Italian cuisine that is based on the standards of classic Italian cooking. We are so happy to know that you enjoyed your meal with us and will continue to work hard to live up to you generous review. Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback. It means a lot to our chefs and to our floor staff who works so hard every day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    23
    14
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Schenectady, New York
Level Contributor
183 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“This is one of the five best restaurants in Saratoga”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

I lived here in town for a year, and this became one of my three go to places for daily excellence.

The squid in black ink is right out of Venice.. And the wood fired brick oven pizza is simply the best north of NYC that I've eaten. And I've eaten at thousands of restaurants. Ask them to bake it for 30 seconds extra. It's worth it.

The Nero is the wine to have by the glass. Deep,rich, delicious. In all, $30-$40 per head and worth it in every way.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Upperny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massapequa Park, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food, reasonable prices, and attentive wait staff.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

Cozy little resturant with an interesting menu that entices you to try something a little different, without going too far outside your comfort zone. The food was very good, prices are reasonable and the staff very friendly and attentive. I certainly have nothing against students working their way through college, however I just thought it was worth noting that the bartender and our waiter were service pros that made for a very pleasent night out on a busy weekend.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ateso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“good italian food-great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

stopped at capriccio's after the track......brick oven pizza a great prelude to the pasta all four of us ordered. Wait staff outstanding..worked like a team. manga

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jjquinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Chatham, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“A pricey but outstanding Italian restaurant, a delightful place to relax with friends after a day at the races.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

The service was friendly and the food--eggplant with 4 cheeses, scallops, veal, rabbit--was delicious. The wine list was short but reasonably priced.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Capriccio Saratoga also viewed

 
Saratoga Springs, NY
Saratoga Springs, NY
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing