We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Summer place to go!”
Review of PJ's BAR-B-QSA

PJ's BAR-B-QSA
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating
Description: The PJ's BAR-B-QSA story begins in the mid-1960s, when Carolyn and PJ became high school sweethearts in their hometown near Buffalo, NY. They married, graduated together from college and became elementary school teachers. They began a small catering business out of their home and spent their summer vacations doing barbeques and county fairs. Eventually, they bought and operated a seasonal barbeque restaurant, while continuing to teach. They finally stopped teaching to devote their full attention to operating PJ's BAR-B-Q. Over the years, PJ, Carolyn, and their son Johnny added the country's regional barbeque favorites to their menu. They went on several barbeque road trips to make sure they were authentically representing these regional favorites. PJ's BAR-B-QSA now operates year-round, featuring barbeque from Coast to Coast. If you'd like to experience America's time-honored regional barbeque favorites without traveling across the country, you can take "A Taste Tour of American Barbeque" right here at PJ's BAR-B-QSA. Happy Trails!
Level Contributor
74 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Summer place to go!”
Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

I live in Albany and I think nothing of a drive here for great BBQ! My wife and I have come here for years and have never been disappointed. Service is quick and friendly. Wish I had the reciepe for the BBQ chicken for the winter months!! Nice family atmosphere. There are not many good Drive-Ins around anymore and I am glad this one is still here and doing well!

Helpful?
Thank K9gsd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJ B, Owner at PJ's BAR-B-QSA, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you so much, K9gsd1. We're so happy to hear you and your wife enjoy our barbeque and that you make the drive from Albany for it! We're open all year now, so you can have our chicken all winter too! We appreciate your business over the years and look forward to serving you again soon. – PJ Davis and family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    64
    27
    26
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga Springs, New York, United States
Level Contributor
88 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“If you love BBQ ...”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

... you must stop here. It has BBQ styles from around the country: North Carolina pulled pork, Texas brisket, ribs, chicken, etc. Even salmon. Recently remodeled and now open year-round, you order from a posted menu when you enter and await your number to be called. Seating is indoors, in a tent or in the open. Servings are generous, prices reasonable. Very informal. We can attest that the brisket and chicken are excellent. I heard another patron say "the best pork I've ever had" as he was leaving. On weekends, at least in summer, there is a low-wattage oldies radio station broadcasting from the premises. It may be that you have to really appreciate BBQ in the various regional traditions. One note: the BBQ beans side was too spicy for me.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wally E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at PJ's BAR-B-QSA, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thank you so much, Wally. We're glad to hear you enjoyed our brisket and chicken! We love hearing that our customers share our enthusiasm for great barbeque and enjoy trying the different regional styles. We appreciate your business and look forward to serving you again soon. -- PJ Davis and family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate New York
Level Contributor
102 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Really disappointing”
Reviewed June 23, 2012

My husband and I went expecting good barbeque and were sorely disappointed. His ribs were fatty and tough. My chicken was dry. The curly fries were barely cooked, not brown or crispy. His mac salad had nothing but macaroni and mayo, no peppers, celery or anything else. The coleslaw was only decent, nothing special. On top of all that, the iced teas/lemonades were very watered down with barely any flavor Don't waster your time or money. There's so many other good barbeque places out there. Try Otis and Oliver's if you want excellent ribs. They're the best. Also, believe it or not, Ruby Tuesdays has great ribs as well. I'll be surprised if this place stays in business.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank minandmick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at PJ's BAR-B-QSA, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Thank you for your input, minandmick. We appreciate all feedback as a way of learning from our customers. We value your business and hope you will reconsider joining us again. – PJ Davis and family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ct
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Bit of the good, Bit of the bad.”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Been to many places that do the 'Q'. N to S. BAR-B-QSA is a neat concept, but the product falls flat in both its' pedigree and its' presentation. Two sides picked, both were almost throwaway. The main course of Q; mediocre, and not even barely warm. Meh. Moderately overpriced and service was subpar. Whatever real Q that was here has departed the building, I'm afraid; and taken the magic that other reviewers mentioned before with it.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank weekndflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at PJ's BAR-B-QSA, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
We appreciate your input, weekndflyer. Thank you for your feedback, as we value learning from our customers. We appreciate your business and hope you will join us in the future. – PJ Davis and family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kittery Point, Maine
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Really yummy place to go. I was in the area for 2 weeks and was able to sample a variety of items off the menu. The staff are pretty cool and helpful with selections.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank lboogie757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at PJ's BAR-B-QSA, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Thanks so much, lboogie757! We love hearing that our customers share our enthusiasm for great barbeque, and we're glad you were able to join us during your two weeks in the area. Thank you for visiting, and we look forward to seeing you again the next time you pass through town. Be sure to mention your review when you're here — we'd love to thank you in person! – PJ Davis and family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed PJ's BAR-B-QSA also viewed

 
Saratoga Springs, NY
Saratoga Springs, NY
 

Been to PJ's BAR-B-QSA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing