We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Restaurant”

Sperry's Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Sperry's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice Restaurant”
Reviewed August 8, 2014

Had a business dinner at Sperry's on night. We sat outside beneath a tent. The dining area was average but the food was quite good. It would be worth returning to see if there might be a more cozy dining area.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    326
    114
    44
    33
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
irvington, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Winner at the SPA”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

I love a restaurant that when you arrive your table is waiting.If you plan on visiting Saratoga during the racing season and want a great meal with outstanding service Sperry's is the place. Just down the street from all the hoopla is Sperry's. Manhattan prices but well worth it. Best Caesar salad ever plus a huge choice of starters. Attentive staff for a Friday night in season. A winner for sure!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charles K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Enjoyable outdoor atmosphere and good food”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

My group had a wonderful evening at Sperry's during a one night stay in Saratoga Springs in summer during the racing season. We were able to secure reservations a day in advance online without a problem. We arrived earlier than our reservation and went to the outdoor bar for a cocktail where we found a very convivial and happy crowd. The bar waitress was very attentive, the martinis were icy cold, and we found seating for myself, husband, and 80-year-old father-in-law. Although there was a live band playing next door, the music level was not so loud that we could not hear each other, especially considering we had an older man who wears hearing aides. We enjoyed the outdoor area so much we switched our reservation from inside and found a corner table outside and had a delightful evening. The beef carpaccio appetizer was delicious - I just wish there had been more on the plate! The crab cake appetizer was baseball-sized (entree sized!) and mostly crab meat with very little filler and a spicy remoulade-type sauce (ask for extra). The sea bass was good, not great, and the Delmonico steak was flavorful and huge. Sides were okay. The wine list had a good selection and was moderately priced. The inside of the restaurant looked charming - especially the front room and bar. All in all everyone in our party had a wonderful evening outside and would definitely recommend it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FoodAficianado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WI
Level Contributor
231 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Excellent simple American food.”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Sperry's is the place you want in Saratoga Springs if you want a beautifully cooked steak. The food is simple yet well done and the service excellent on every level. I suggest asking to be in the front room, as I found the back room not as romantic or comfortable as the main room is. Make sure to book ahead as this place is popular.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank lesmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointed. Would not recommend.”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

We were looking forward to an evening at Sperry's based on it's reputation that must have been acquired from past years. A party of 6, we were seated outside which we thought, at first, would be lovely, however the table was located right next to what must be another restaurant/club and the music and 'vibe' from that other place made it difficult to have a conversation at our own table. The service was terrible. Slow. Our drink order took 30 minutes to arrive. The signature popovers that were highlighted needed to be asked for. My meal, a Chilean Sea Bass in an Asian inspired broth was bland. There were plenty of servers to fill our water glasses and clear empty plates - but our waiter could be seen chatting with other customers. He was not attentive to our table. We cannot recommend Sperry's based on our experience. And would not recommend Sperry's for it's hit or miss food and service.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank JacketRequired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sperry's Restaurant also viewed

 
Saratoga Springs, NY
Saratoga Springs, NY
 

Been to Sperry's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing