We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection”

Sperry's Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Sperry's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Clifton Park, New York
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfection”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

There is no prompting me to write another review after dining at Sperry's on Sunday. This is something I want to do.

Chef Miller and his staff are just extraordinary people. The flavor of the foods are fresh and enticing, all cooked superbly- from the fish to the steaks, from the appetizers to the desserts. You want more even though you may be full. My husband is still raving about the jambalaya.

The staff, we had Patrick this time, are so professional and have great personalities. My mom's 85th birthday, with a party of seven, was top notch. She has a history of being displeased with restaurants after going out, but not here. "Diner-mom" actually loves the meals at this fine dining restaurant and asked that we take her here. Not one complaint. She did not want cake but creme brûlée. They wrote happy 85th birthday in Belgian chocolate on her plate, added a candle and garnished the brûlée with a flower. Just beautiful.

Thanks so much to all.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbieC139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaratogaSperrys, Guest Relations Manager at Sperry's Restaurant, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you for you kind comments. We are honored that your Mom requested her 85th birthday celebration be held at Sperry's and are glad that everyone thoroughly enjoyed themselves. Many more happy returns!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    335
    120
    45
    34
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Oyster Bay, New York
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great service, great meal”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Tony was our waiter. He was very attentive. Unique menu items..all were delicious. Steaks cooked to perfection.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaratogaSperrys, Guest Relations Manager at Sperry's Restaurant, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you for your review. The menu, designed by Master Chef Dale Miller, offers both signature and distinctive dishes and we are glad you enjoyed your meal. We will pass on your compliments to Tony.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ambitious but not great”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Sperrys is close to being a fine restaurant .....but the popovers were not super fresh (as a popover must be,) the sole and risotto were under seasoned, and the Brussel sprouts were oily. Pleasant but disappointing.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pam11225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Massachusetts, United States
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Luxurious dining experience”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stumbled upon Sperry's by accident on our way to another spot for dinner. And boy are we glad we did. The pale cinammon colored wall and arched doorway draw you into to a private oasis. The back patio has a medium sized tent decked out like the best wedding you've ever been to - ruched dark cranberry fabric on the ceiling with 2 large crystal chandelliers, white fairy light are strew from tree to tree amidst green potted palms. There are also tables sest by the outdoor bar...(they have an indoor restaurant as well). Our waiter, Rocco, was professional, attentive but not over bearing and was knowledgable about the menu and wine list. There is a strong support staff who clear tables and refill water. We started with a fresh from the oven pop over and whipped butter - free for everyone. My husband and I tend to eat smaller quantities so we prefer to order an appetizer and 1 entree. We wound up ordering a side of potato gnocchi (very tasty but would have been amazing with more parmesean cheese), the artichoke fritter app with aioli - mouth watering and chicken and andouille jambalaya. This was a new food for us and we were NOT disappointed. The chicken was all white meat and tender. The sausage was cooked perfectly as was the rice. And the spice???? Something to write home about! All in all we were overjoyed that we had dinner at Sperry's and look forward to going back. Worth the price. Extensive wine list.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaratogaSperrys, Guest Relations Manager at Sperry's Restaurant, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you for the time you took to write such a lovely and detailed review. We take great pride in providing an exceptional dining experience for each of our customers and are very glad to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your visit. We hope to see you again the next time you visit the Saratoga area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Sperry's Continues to Please”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Sperry's has been a Saratoga institution since the 1930s, and deservedly so. My husband and I had dinner there during a recent visit to Saratoga, and were extremely pleased with all aspects of the meal. The service was friendly, well trained and very efficient. While another reviewer found the menu to be limited, we did not think so. My husband had the brook trout and I had the wasabi shrimp. Each dish was ample, artfully presented and delicious. The wine list included a Hermann J. Wiemer riesling from the Finger Lakes region, which we found to be a perfect accompaniment. The only drawback was the "signature" cheese popover served prior to the meal; ours were very dry and tasteless. Perhaps they had been in a heated oven too long. The restaurant also ran out of the vanilla creme brule I ordered for dessert. This was a disappointment, especially coming so early in the evening, but perhaps it was for the best; I certainly didn't need the additional calories! All in all, we had a delightful meal, in a consistently good restaurant, in a wonderful town. We will definitely return!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaratogaSperrys, Guest Relations Manager at Sperry's Restaurant, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
We are happy that you selected Sperry's during your recent visit and glad to hear that you enjoyed yourselves. We apologize that we were not able to serve you the vanila creme brule and hope you will stop in again for those "additional calories."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sperry's Restaurant also viewed

 
Saratoga Springs, NY
Saratoga Springs, NY
 

Been to Sperry's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing