We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great wait staff and good food”

Mangino's Ristorante
Ranked #101 of 247 Restaurants in Saratoga Springs
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Mechanicville, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great wait staff and good food”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

the wait staff was very good and the food was alsogood. The place needs a little work but was good overall. If you like shrimp get the shrimp Mangino it is really great. All the apps we ordered were very good. Clams on the half shell, clams casino, clams in broth and roaste red pepper and provolone. with the warm bread it was a overall good experiance

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    9
    10
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Myersville, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“OMGosh!”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Excellent food! Wow! Their bread is the BEST!!!! I had the veal sorrentino. The eggplant melted in my mouth! The staff was helpful and friendly.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Diana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“No reservations needed”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

It is a very cozy feel as you walk in b/c it is apparent that the whole family works here. The dated pictures were nice to look at; however, the whole building and patio needs an overhaul. The menu should be revamped as well; my boyfriend and I love bruschetta and they did not have it on the menu. The appetizers (antipasto and calamari) and desserts (tiramisu and cannoli) were not good, the house wine and bread was okay, but the flavored chick peas and our entrees were absolutely delicious! I got the chicken sorrentino which exceeded my expectations, my boyfriend's chicken parmesan was huge; too much cheese for my taste; he was in heaven though. There was only another couple in the restaurant and a bigger party on the patio; the food was out in no time. Our waitress was very sweet and attentive.

They really should gut the whole restaurant to refresh and update the property. There is a strong mildew odor and the wall a/c was not really blowing as cold air as it should be. The restroom is for both sexes and there is a handicap lift on the toilet seat; it made me feel very uncomfortable and the door could have been pushed open while it appeared to be shut and locked.

All and all, we left extremely full and pleasant. We will return, but will most likely skip the appetizers and desserts.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mason0411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't Waste Your Time or Money!”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

This was one of the worst experiences I've had dining out in years. We called several times to place a reservation, but no one ever answered, and we ended up having to drive there to place the reservation. The place smelled horrible as soon as we walked in. It looked like the place was about to crumble infront of us.Our waiter was clueless about the menu. The menu had spelling errors all over it. The salad was a lousy bowl of iceberg (see picture) and extremely dried out (no one at our table of ten even ate it). For a $30 meal I expect a decent salad. The food was pretty bad. Half the table got the salmon special, which was drowned in butter and horribly greasy. The chicken marsala was bland, tasteless, and had red peppers in it which was not stated on the menu (I can't eat peppers). The chicken in it tasted boiled. The $27 steak was mediocre but not worth that much money. The waiter offered us potato choices with the steak, stating the O'Brien potatoes were cooked with just onion. These too came out with both green and red pepper, another thing we couldn't eat. The potatoes were awful and something you would find at a cheap breakfast diner. The desserts were good. We left with a $360 bill and 10 unhappy people. To top off this awful experience two of us puked all night after eating here. I will never go back and advise you to do the same. What a waste of money.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Toga F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballston Spa, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Quality of Food = to Service Top Shelf!!”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Have eaten there over 30 years & last evening attended a Banquet there. EVERYTHING, the hot loafs of bread, the salad in a chilled plate, entrees of Prime Rib, Chicken Parm. or Poached Salmon with Sherry/Butter sauce, the comments were "Great meal"!! The waitstaff, though young, were one of the best teams we've ever seen!! Not a one missed a beat for more bread to assuring waters were kept fresh to plenty of coffee/tea & what a concept to have the meal from salad to dessert served at a perfect flow to keep ALL 49 patrons in party happy!! Great Job Mr. Mangino!!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Airflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mangino's Ristorante also viewed

 

Been to Mangino's Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing