We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Snobby and expensive”
Review of Forno Bistro

Forno Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Forno Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: VanDam
Description: Anchoring Saratoga's vibrant downtown Forno Bistro is a family-owned bistro that offers a variety of rustic, Tuscan-style food rooted in tradition. Our chef's use only the freshest seasonal ingredients to prepare dishes with respect to their flavors, appearance and aroma. The menu is sophisticated but approachable, expressing the sense of hearth and home that defines the Tuscan style of life. Forno Bistro's rustic, Tuscan-style food is hearty and unpretentious with sophisticated flavors rooted in tradition and always open to new interpretations and adaptations. Many of our dishes are greatly influenced by the use of the wood-fired oven: homemade pizzas, sauteed calamari, and wood-fired towers of vegetables. The oven is always the inspiration.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Snobby and expensive”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Although this restaurant is quite elegant with an great patio and interesting interior decor - the food AND the service are quite a disappointment.
The two pasta dishes we order came DROWNED in sauce, the calamari were lukewarm and rubbery, leaving a puddle of grease on the plate, and the "Heirloom & Watermelon" salad came out with no tomatoes and just three little scraps of watermelon. Come on, really? When we requested that some tomatoes be added - the server brought out a plate of sliced roma tomatoes! Really? When the heirlooms made an appearance they were in two big slabs on a separate plate.
Couldn't you take the salad in the back, slice the tomatoes and re-toss it?
For the price paid, the food was pretty terrible.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank irinalapin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    122
    58
    25
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“OK meal, would not return”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

My husband and I made a reservation for Saturday night here, we had to wait about 15 minutes for our table to be ready at the bar which was OK because the bartender was very nice and drinks were good. We ordered right away and when our appetizer came (calamari) it was horrible, we couldn't even eat it. It was so tough you could barely even chew it. Our server who was very nice felt bad and asked if we wanted another plate but we said no because we had lost our appetite. Our main dishes were good, my husband enjoyed his a lot more than I enjoyed mine. Dessert was OK. We were not blown away by any of the food and we don't think we would go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank calilove16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Rock, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ok, not sure I would return.”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

The atmosphere is nice, however, if you don't like loud crowds this is not for you, especially if you get stuck in the bar area. Although our waiter was pleasant he disappeared after our order was taken. He was spread thin with both inside and outside tables which is always a recipe for disaster. We tried to enlist the help of a busboy to get our waiters attention for a second round of drinks. The busboy told our waiter but the waiter continued to walk on by. Two of our parties four entrees arrived after the others, one by 10 minutes, the other by 15. The manager apologized for the second late entree and offered a free caprese salad. Even when we asked for the bill there was a delay, it was also evident that the waiter had no knowledge concerning the serving of the entrees, or maybe he just didn't care. In the end the cost is not justified, I'd rather avoid the poor service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancerap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adirondack
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Loved it”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Yes, you may have to wait to be seated, but enjoy the bar and relax! Food is amazing and the outdoor seating to a perfect way to enjoy Saratoga!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ADKPrincess1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Nice dinner.”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

My wife and I and our family enjoyed eating at Forno Bistro. The ambiance was great as we all ate out on the patio. It was a beautiful summer evening and the food was great.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Forno Bistro also viewed

 
Saratoga Springs, NY
 

Been to Forno Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing