We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect paella!”
Review of Boca Bistro

Boca Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Boca Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Bar, Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Division Ave
Description: Its a new restaurant which opened on June 12, 2012
Level Contributor
54 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Perfect paella!”
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

What a great night. Bottle if wine, amazing tapas app and a HUGE skillet of paella. $22 for the paella. Said it served 2, could have served 4-6. Awesome! Great happy hour specials too!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KB92012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    140
    30
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
128 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Different - Very Good”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We visited last night. We ordered a salad to split along with several tapas. My husband ordered one of the special entrees.

FOOD:
The food is Spanish food. If you like plain food, this is not the restaurant for you. We enjoy trying different foods. All of food was well presented and served hot. We started out enjoying a bowl of tasty olives in oil that we dipped our bread in.

ENSALADA QUESO DE CABRA: Boston Bibb, toasted pine nuts, roasted shallot, fig, bruleed goat cheese, quince vinaigrette. This salad was excellent, it was probably one of the best salads that I have ever had.

HUEVOS FRITOS CON CHORIZO Y PATATAS: Contimpalitos chorizo confit, fried potato, fried egg, aioli. This was good.


GAMBAS AL AJILLO: Shrimp, garlic, lemon, extra virgin olive oil. This was good, but nothing special.

Special Tapa: Grilled bread with a pulled pork. WONDERFUL!

Special Entree: Seared scallops - good.

ATMOSPHERE: I have to agree with other reviewers about the noise level. It is loud. I had to laugh about the reference by another reviewer to a cross between "the Housewives of Saratoga and the Jersey Shore - with their husbands in tow."

SERVICE: Our server provided excellent service. He assisted us with choices from the menu. He helped me with the choices in consideration of my allergy to tree nuts.

We enjoyed our visit to Boca Bistro and would return again. However, our favorite DZ restaurant is still Chianti.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rexford, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I will use the word "awesome" for our recent evening dining experience. I had the "eggplant fries" and their Salmon special. Wonderful choices. Most delicious Salmon I have ever had. My hubby was equally satisfied with his 3 choices from the Tapas Menu. We were sitting in the window 2 person seating and it was a bit cold but that didn't dampen the taste and plating of the food.
We will definetly be retuning here

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MoTroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich NY
Level Contributor
60 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Spainish food in SARATOGA?”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Great happy hour, Tapas and tasty apps were all we needed to make a nice inexpensive diner. Try the shrimp and Mussels. And I cant wait to go back and try the Pia

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mike_Yahwak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nobleboro, Maine
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great place but bring ear plugs or megaphone?”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We visited Boca on a recommendation of a Saratoga Springs resident. We were intrigued by the menu and were not disappointed. All of our dishes were top notch. In terms of food, this place is clearly a step above, for example, Forno Bistro. We look forward to returning on a future visit to Skidmore. Great location, great food, great atmosphere (with one exception).

A couple words of caution. Our waiter, while pleasant, was a bit inattentive. Though, that was nothing horrible.

The one concern about recommending the place is the noise level. After a party was seated at the long table in the middle of the room (think: Housewives of (some combination of) Saratoga Springs and the Jersey shore with their husbands in tow), the decibel level reached an uncomfortable level. It was very difficult to hear individuals in our party talk.

Don't get me wrong. We enjoy restaurants with a certain "buzz." Boca, however, that evening was simply too loud.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dr m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boca Bistro also viewed

Saratoga Springs, NY
 
Saratoga Springs, NY
Saratoga Springs, NY
 

Been to Boca Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing