We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decor Nice but Terrible Location and Very Rigid, Unfriendly Management” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Saratoga Springs

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Courtyard Saratoga Springs
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Saratoga Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Decor Nice but Terrible Location and Very Rigid, Unfriendly Management”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2008

First the positive: It's a very nice looking hotel on the inside. The rooms are adequate and the decor is attractive. However, they squeezed this hotel into a narrow strip of land sandwiched between a highway and a main road and you would never imagine they could have fit a hotel here. There is NOTHING else near this hotel except the roads and you have to walk along an isolated stretch of road before you get to an area that feels populated. The staff was OK but I had three occasions to ask a manager for something and each manager was unfriendly, uncooperative and a bit rude. At one point I asked a manager who was standing behind the front desk if someone could arrange for the car service they promoted to pick us up at the hotel at a certain time. She handed me a phone number and told me I could call them myself. I had to go up to my room to call the car service. NOT very good service at all. Yet, the staff themselves seemed nice, but also did not go out of their way to accommodate any requests. It seems like the attitude from the top down is VERY rigid. It just did not feel like a Marriott property because they acted like they were doing us a favor by allowing us to stay at their hotel.

You would be much better off staying at a hotel that is not isolated from EVERYTHING and where the management does not foster such a frosty atmosphere towards their guests.

  • Liked — The Decor was nice
  • Disliked — Rigid unfriendly managers and terrible location
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DJC62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    95
    37
    11
    11
See reviews for
84
105
15
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2008

I was forced to stay here over the Memorial Day Weekend, since my previous Hotel could not accommodate me. I would have to say that as soon as I entered the Hotel, I was pleasantly surprised; the Hotel is new and very quiet. If you do not mind having to drive to Broadway, then I would recommend this Hotel. In the future they are building a restaurant called Shula's which will make this place an even bigger attraction.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Location - had to drive into town
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank djscrubba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
100 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2008

I stayed at the Courtyard for a meeting. Here's what I liked:
-it's a Marriott so the beds are really comfortable
- the rooms were pleasantly decorated
- the building was only five stories so you can take the stairs
-it was an easy 10 min. walk to downtown Saratoga Springs
-the lobby was great for visiting and talking as it had a bar and fireplace
-it is a beautiful area with sidewalks and a park nearby

Here are some areas that need improvement:
- there is no gift shop- just a small area next to check-in with a few essentials- you are 10 min. walk to downtown if you need something that involves clothing
-the restaurant has limited service
-they do not have room service but you can get things delivered from an inn next door
-the exercise room is small and only open 6am-11 pm
-you have to fly in to Albany and the cab fare is between 55-70 dollars

  • Liked — FREE wireless internet throughout the entire hotel
  • Disliked — limited restaurant hours
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank polarspeech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
willingboro,nj
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2008

I stayed at this hotel for 5 days business along with approximately 60 others. Twenty of our cars were keyed (scratched)! Some were more severe than others! This had been going on since Monday but the hotel chose not to warn the guest nor set up more security. They are not accepting any responsibility for it whatsoever! I would surely question whether I would stay at this hotel again!

  • Liked — the bed
  • Disliked — security in parking lot
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Dianne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2008

This is a good hotel with the expected quality of this chain. The lobby is attractive, well-appointed, though not huge. The room double room I rented (?a superior) was clean, pleasant, and had a very large bathroom. The sports facilities were small but adequate. The room was quiet, except that if the window was open, the AC unit from next door could be heard.

Overall, we have a very pleasant experience - nothing surprising but nothing disappointing. This hotel is not on the main road, so it is a 10 min walk to Broadway, perhaps an inconvenience, but also a plus because of the quiet setting. For those visiting Skidmore College, it is very nearby, which is helpful.

  • Liked — Quiet, clean, minor luxuries
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank UChicago74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York State
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2008

The Courtyard Marriott is just as the others described it, very large rooms , comfortable beds, large bathroom. Free, large and delicious cookies upon check-in and very friendly staff. Coffee and tea , free all day. Swimming pool is small, but adequate for children and parents during the quiet month of April. Staff brought fresh towels to the pool while we were using it. Courtyard is located away from the downtown (5 minutes, but is accessible by walking) and is close to several chain restaurants and a mall as well as easy access on and off I-87. Would stay there again.

  • Liked — Clean and large rooms.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank fingerlakes33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cold Spring, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2008

What the Courtyard is: big, clean, new, contemporary with all of the amenities you would expect in a Courtyard. Saratoga has a few classic old hotels in the middle of the downtown - Courtyard is not one of those. Though it is on Broadway - it is a few long blocks from the center of town. The staff was fantastic, the rooms large, the beds had pillowtop mattresses, the hotel has a pool, the rooms have wired and wireless internet, and the lobby has a few computers with printers in case you need to print anything. The lobby also has free coffee and tea all day. We ate the hotel buffet breakfast which had everything you could ask for. We would stay again - though I would love to spend a night in one of the grand old hotels.

  • Liked — The amenites
  • Disliked — The location
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank surferwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saratoga Springs hotels
0.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratoga Springs
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratog...
#2 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pavilion Grand Hotel
Pavilion Grand Hotel
#3 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Saratoga Springs
Holiday Inn Saratoga Springs
#10 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Saratoga Arms
Saratoga Arms
#1 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Saratoga Springs
Hilton Garden Inn Saratoga Sprin...
#9 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Gideon Putnam
The Gideon Putnam
#6 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Saratoga Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Saratoga Springs

Property: Courtyard Saratoga Springs
Address: 11 Excelsior Ave, Saratoga Springs, NY 12866-2438 (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Saratoga Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#7 Family Hotel in Saratoga Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Saratoga Springs 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Courtyard Saratoga Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Hotel Saratoga Springs
Courtyard Hotel Saratoga Springs
Saratoga Springs Courtyard
Saratoga Springs Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing