We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay for Marriott Loyalist”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Saratoga Springs
Ranked #10 of 33 Hotels in Saratoga Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Franklin Square, New York
Level Contributor
69 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good stay for Marriott Loyalist”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

In summary, the hotel is slightly above average, rooms are spacious and clean, staff was friendly and the location is slightly off the beaten path.

There is a small pool my children liked and the breakfast buffet was adequate for $9.99.

The truth is there are many small inns and hotels right in the main strip of down. This hotel is several blocks out of the heart of town and thus there is a 10 minute walk. There is no shuttle into down either so you have to talk and you really dont want to take your car as parking is crazy, especially during peak times.

I stayed here because it is a Marriott and I am a platnium elite member.

If not for the pros of being a Marriott Loyalist, I would have stayed in the town.

Racetracks five minute drive away.

Its also a bit pricey, I paid over $200.00 per night in mid October.

All and all, you would not be dissapointed but be prepared to walk if you want to go to center of town.

Finally, this hotel seems to get a lot of wedding parties. No objections to this but the staff seemed swmaped with accomodations from the wedding parties and had little time to address the rest of the guests.

Nothing bad here, but truthfully nothing great!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    101
    37
    11
    11
See reviews for
87
107
15
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Stayed two nights for business in early October 2013.

Location. Short, pleasant walk (maybe 15 minutes) from center of Saratoga Springs. It is sanwiched in a bit between two roads but nothing objectionable. There is a Hilton and a Hampton Inn a little closer to the center of town.

Checkin-. Easy and professional.

Lobby. Updated but with darker wood than most typical Courtyards. The check in clerk appeared proud that they have resisted the Courtyard "standardization." Matter of tatse I suppose. Don't have the brighter colors you see in Courtyards now. It was generally fine.

Room. Again, the room was rather darker than typical Courtyards. Maybe it wasn't stadardized but it looked a bit tired. Pretty spacious though. Could have used a little more lighting. Did not have a power station with a lot of outlets on the desk. Desk chair comfortable though. Bathroom was again a bit on the tired side with grout around the tub that could have been replaced. Bed and TV were fine. Good number of channels. Shower had good water pressure. Little noise from the road but garbage collection (or something like that) at around 4 am was a little annoying.

Amenities. Work out room pretty small with only one stationary bike. Lot nicer to go jogging in the neighborhood (Skidmore college is very close by and fun jogging around it). Restaurant was pretty typical of Courtyards. Just got breakfast but pleased with that. Hotel is just a few steps away from The Old Bryan Inn. Recommed it for a drink or dinner (particularly their steak).

Staff. Quite helpful with directions, jogging tips. Raining heavily when I left and they were prompt to get me a shuttle into the center of town. Nightly cleaning was efficient and thourough.

Overall. Solid average score. I haven't stayed at the other hotels in the area but this certainly strikes me as a reasonable place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gate75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
112 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed overnight on a business trip. The room was designed to accommodate a wheelchair, so relatively speaking it was spacious. Strong wi-fi reception. Full range of toiletries provided. Very comfortable bed. Bar fridge without the overpriced snacks. Small pool (no laps here!) and fitness cente had the basics.
Overall, very pleased with the facilities and location.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank TorontoMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
91 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

This Courtyard should be called the JW Courtyard. JW is the Marriott's top of the line.We had the ceremony at the Museum of thoroughbred racing and the reception at the Courtyard. Both were magnificent. Guests who stayed at the Courtyard were extremely impressed with the staff and the rooms, including someone who spent 2 weeks before at the Four Seasons at $500. a night in Hawaii. Cara took care of the wedding reception arrangements and Gerry took care of the food. Gerry should have his own TV show. The food was fantastic.We had Filet Mignon , Alaskan wild Salmon, and Roasted Vegetable Wellington with a Goat Cheese Puff Pastry. The Creme Brulee Station was amazing.Our hats off to Cara and Gerry.The compliments we received from the guests were overwhelming. The reception was held in the Excelsior Springs room. All I can say, it was Fantastic.I am the father of the Bride.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NewYorkRayman46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed on the third floor overlooking the street. Very quiet. The only negative comment is that it would have been helpful if the bathroom was equipped with a rubber bath mat for the tub. Other than that the place and staff was great.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
three way tn
Level Contributor
156 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Clean, bright, cheerful and efficient property.
Stayed 12 nights in August and took advantage of most of what the hotel offered.
Clean pool, adequate workout room, large open area and patio, and a top notch staff.
We took advantage of the knowledge of the local area, suggestions where to eat and order food for delivery as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saratogajohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

The exterior and some elements of the lobby might be updated but the remainder of the hotel is dated. Keurig in the room was a nice surprise, the thick dust on it and the dirty mugs were not. A/C unit was also dirty. Welcome was far from warm. Bed was comfortable. Only reason this Courtyard is a category 6 is the lack of hotels in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LKHiggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saratoga Springs hotels
0.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratoga Springs
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratog...
#2 of 33 in Saratoga Springs
768 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Saratoga Hilton
The Saratoga Hilton
#14 of 33 in Saratoga Springs
1,218 reviews
0.5 mi away
Saratoga Arms
Saratoga Arms
#1 of 33 in Saratoga Springs
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Gideon Putnam
The Gideon Putnam
#6 of 33 in Saratoga Springs
1,155 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pavilion Grand Hotel
Pavilion Grand Hotel
#4 of 33 in Saratoga Springs
295 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Saratoga Springs
Holiday Inn Saratoga Springs
#11 of 33 in Saratoga Springs
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Saratoga Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Saratoga Springs

Property: Courtyard Saratoga Springs
Address: 11 Excelsior Ave, Saratoga Springs, NY 12866-2438 (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Saratoga Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#7 Family Hotel in Saratoga Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Saratoga Springs 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Courtyard Saratoga Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Hotel Saratoga Springs
Courtyard Hotel Saratoga Springs
Saratoga Springs Marriott
Saratoga Springs Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing