We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All the greens that are worth buying and bread too.”

Saratoga Farmer's Market
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Get some of the finest locally-grown fruits and vegetables at this open-air market operating each Saturday during the summer season.
Schenectady, New York
Level Contributor
183 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“All the greens that are worth buying and bread too.”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

It is every Wednesday at 2Pm and Saturday morning under the permanent shelter on High Rock, just beyond the public parking lot. They have a lot of useful vegetables, cheese and bread. They also have dessert venders.

Everybody goes here.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Upperny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    8
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Good Market for Fresh Produce”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We love open markets! Everywhere we go, if there is a chance to go to a Farmers Market/Weekend Market we will be there.

The weekend market in Saratoga was nice and festive. Since we just had a huge breakfast at Elizabeth's, food was not really on our mind. Nonetheless, the assortment of colors and food (almost) made us hungry again. Berries are so hard to come by in the Philippines so I hoarded blueberries, blackberries, etc. which we ate together with greek yoghurt from another stall. We also bought some cheese -- soft goat cheese and aged hard cheese (i forgot which one specifically). Last stop is some whole wheat bread. The cheese were good, although, I think for cheese the best source would still be Putnam Market (their midnight aged goat cheese gouda is unbelievable!). Regarding the bread, ugh, it was one of the worst bread we had! Extremely crumbly and doesn't even slice properly. I forget the place where we got the bread but it was one of those stall after the shed (if you're coming from the city center).

The farmers market is interesting with all sort of things. But if you missed it, it's not so bad. You can always go to Putnam Market for the essentials.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank estvanguardia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great start to a Saturday”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

There is plenty to see. There is a great variety of produce, baked goods, plants, and crafts. Dogs are allowed. I filled two bags with vegetables. Many of the booths are under sheds so you are not under the hot sun. Parking is easy because it ia next to the public lot.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank da h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballston Spa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“I can't believe I haven't been there before and I can't wait to go back”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

I am local to Saratoga Springs and a friend and I went to the farmer's market 2 weeks ago. Love love love is what I have to say. The variety of produce, meats, cheeses, baked goods and flowers is fantastic. Bring an insulated cooler with you as I don't think you will be able to resist buying everything in sight. To tide me over, I bought a pie-cookie which is basically pie crust with fruit filling just like I used to make with my grandma when she was making full size pies. I also bought strawberries(forgot what a real strawberry tastes like-so good), fresh greens which were delicious, zucchini, artesan crackers and goat cheese. If I had thought to bring a bag, I would have purchased more items-the produce was that good. This place is dog and kid friendly and I will be back frequently. If you have a Wednesday or a Saturday morning free, go check this out. You cannot be disappointed.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank MFORT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, NY
Level Contributor
293 reviews
107 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Something for everyone!”
Reviewed June 19, 2012

The Saratoga Farmer's Market has grown over the past 10 years by leaps and bounds. For those who live close by it is a gathering place to meet friends as well as purchase great quality fruits, veges, plants, flowers, pottery, honey, yogurt, eggs, milk, fish, meet, soap, wine and bakery goods. Even if you are only visiting,,,,a great spot to grab a little nosh and a jug of maple syrup for your ride home. Enjoy!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kirsten D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saratoga Farmer's Market also viewed

 
Saratoga Springs, NY
Saratoga Springs, NY
 

Been to Saratoga Farmer's Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing