We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Track Closed Yet Wanted to See”

Saratoga Race Course
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This famed 350-acre racetrack features thoroughbred horseracing during its six-week season from late July through early September. Though one of the sport's premier events, the races often take second place to people-watching.
New England
Level Contributor
170 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Track Closed Yet Wanted to See”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

The actual race track was closed because it is winter, yet I was able to go outside and watch horsed in 2-wheeled buggies trotting around the track. I expected the Grandstand to look more "Grand." It has a bland-look to it. I guess I have the Kentucky Derby-like stadium on my mind. It was worth seeing. Historic

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Woopiedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,383 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    991
    297
    62
    22
    11
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The "August" place to be!!!”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Oldest racetrack in the US. Travers Stakes is the oldest continuous sporting event in the US. Great atmosphere. Not tobe missed!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank upstatenyerpg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fun, Fun, Fun”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

I love track season in Saratoga. It's a great place to spend a few hours with the family. They make it very family friendly. Lots of food and fun things to do.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kristine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, CT
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Behind the scene tour of stables at Saratoga Track”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

There aren't any signs and no one seemed to know what we were talking about when my mother asked around about the free behind the scenes tour of the stables, but eventually we learned of the starting point right outside the main entrance at 7:00 a.m. A small trolley with about five cars pulls up and you trundle along to the stables where you can watch men and women washing the horses--world class athletes--down with water, soap, sponges and a special squeegee. The owner of several of the horses rode by and trainers and other people scrambled to talk with him or take direction. A large, sturdy tent village houses most of the support staff and the horses themselves spend as much as 23 hours a day in their stalls--a number that astounded and concerned me, but that's one reason why I liked the tour. They weren't hiding anything. The small demonstration on how they train the horses to learn how to handle the starting gate was fantastic--what an art! Nothing in my experience at the track beat watching the horses exercising in a light fog and then seeing the stables in all of their unvarnished glory. I have no interest in general in racing or horses and yet I loved this tour.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopewell Junction, New York
Level Contributor
119 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best track in the east”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Fun, fun, fun. It gets crowded on weekends so the best time to visit is during the week. Parking is free across the street from the track and just a short walk away. Best racing tip? Don't bet too much!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jim2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saratoga Race Course also viewed

 

Been to Saratoga Race Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing